Skip to main content

Sports Resource Guide

A guide to sources for sports research at Princeton University.

General Sport Sources

Sport Discus
(online) 1830-
Covering sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and other sport-related topics, this database is international in scope, making it a standard resource for academic sports research.  In addition to journal articles, SPORT Discus also indexes dissertations and books.

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive
(online) 1800-1900
Includes a module on sports and leisure.

Draayer, I., et al., eds.
Sport Bibliography
8 vols. Ottawa: Sport Information Resource Centre, 1981-1982.
Location: RECAP
Call Number:   Z7511 .xS68

International Sport: A Bibliography
London and Portland, Ore.: F. Cass, 2003-.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number:  GV571 .I65
Current supplements to the monograph International Sport: A Bibliography, 1995-1999.

Shoebridge, Michele, ed.
Information Sources in Sport and Leisure.
London and New York: Bowker-Saur, 1991
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: Z7511 .S48 1991

 

Background Sources



Allen, Mary Beth.
Sports, Exercise, and Fitness: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources.
Westport, Conn.: Libraries Unlimited, 2005.
Location: Firestone (F) 
Call Number:  GV704.A55 2005
Annoted bibliography on specific sports, the Olympics, and fitness activities.

Ambast, Ravi, U.C. Gupta, J.P. Sharma, Narendra Kumar, and K.C. Shekar, eds.
Sports Encyclopaedia.
New Delhi, India: Khel Sahitya Kendra, 2007.
Location: RECAP
Call Number: GV567.S667 2007
Volume 1 includes track and field, badminton, basketball, cricket, and cycling. Volume 2 includes hockey, diving, swimming, skating, and pole vaulting. Volume 3 includes soccer, volleyball, table tennis, tennis, and wicket-keeping.

Arlott, John, ed.
The Oxford Companion to World Sports and Games
London and New York: Oxford University Press, 1975.
Location: RECAP
Call Number:  GV207 .O93
An illustrated dictionary of sport, excluding hunting, fishing, and board and table games, this resource is concerned primarily with those sports-and their participating athletes-that are televised, although ancient sports that were significant to the development of modern sports are also included.  Many of the entries also include a short bibliography.

Bartlett, Roger, Chris Gratton, and Christer G. Rolf.
Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies.
Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2010.
Location: GV567 .E483 2010
Call Number: Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2010.
Focuses on the academic study of sport.

Booth, Douglas Booth & Holly Thorpe, editors.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Extreme Sports
Great Barrington, Mass. : Berkshire Pub. Group, c2007.
Includes Adventure racing, Ballooning, Barrel jumping, BASE jumping, Big wave contests, BMX (Bicycle motocross), Body and extreme sport, Bouldering, Buildering, Bungee jumping, Cave diving, Caving, Climbing, Extreme ironing, Free diving, Gladiator competitions, Hang gliding, Ice yachting, Iditarod, In-line skating/rollerblading, Jet skiing, Jousting, Kite surfing, Long distance racing and pedestrianism, Motocross, Motor vehicle sports, Mountain bike racing, Open water swimming, Outrigger canoe racing, Pankration, Parkour, Professional wrestling, Rock climbing, Round-the-world yacht racing, Scuba diving, Skateboarding, Ski jumping, Skiing, Skyjumping, Skydiving/skysurfing, Snowboarding, Surfing, Triathlon, Ultimate fighting, Ultramarathon, Vine jumping, Wakeboarding, Wakeskating, Waterskiing, Whitewater kayaking and canoeing, Windsurfing, Wing walking, X games, biographies, locales, and other impacts of the sports.

Cross, Gary S., editor in chief
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America
Farmington Hills, MI : Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004.
Entries not limited to subjects like gardening and football but also include less obvious topics such as smoking, senior leisure lifestyles and beauty culture. Each brief entry includes a bibliography.

Deardorff, Donald L., II.
Sports: A Reference Guide and Critical Commentary, 1980-1999.
Westport, Conn. and London: Greenwood Press, 2000.
Location: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR)
Call Number: GV704 .D42 2000
An excellent source on sport history, this purpose of this resource is to introduce the researcher to the issues and theories of sport scholarship.  The focus is primarily American competitive sport and includes essays such as "Sport and American history," "Sports: Business and Law," and "Sport and Gender." Each essay is followed by an extensive bibliography and a list of relevant sport periodicals.

Franck, Irene M. & David M. Brownstone
Famous First Facts About Sports.
New York: H.W. Wilson, 2001.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV571 .F73 2001

Hickok, Ralph.
The Encyclopedia of North American Sports History.
2nd. ed. New York: Facts on File, 2002.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV567 .H518 2002

Higgs, Robert J.
Sports: A Reference Guide.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1996.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV704 .H53 1982
A guide to sources on sport history, this purpose of this resource is to introduce the researcher to the issues and theories of sport scholarship.  The focus is primarily American competitive sport, although the author does discuss foreign influences and uses foreign sports as a point of comparison.  Sports: A Reference Guide and Critical Commentary, 1980-1999.(cited above) is an updated edition of this guide.

Levinson, David & Karen Christensen, eds.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport.
Great Barrington, Mass.: Berkshire, 2016.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the culture, history, and business of sports around the world. The third edition brings the study of sports into the 21st century by integrating Berkshire's past work on women's sports and extreme sports into a complete sporting library. Includes over 300 updated and new articles on sports management and marketing, branding, sponsorship, sporting goods, and technology.

Levinson, David & Karen Christensen, eds.
Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1996.
Location:  Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV567 .E56 1996
The stated purpose of this three-volume encyclopedia was to assemble information about the history of sport and its role as a societal institution from ancient to present time.  All entries are signed and include rather long bibliographies.

Malcolm, Dominic
Sage Dictionary of Sports Studies.
Los Angeles, Calif.: Sage, 2008.
Examines the sociological aspects of sports.

Menke, Frank Grant
The Encyclopedia of Sports.
4th ed.Edited by Roger Treat. South Brunswick, N.J.: A.S. Barnes, 1969.
Location: RECAP
Call Number: GV11 .M4 1969 Surprisingly comprehensive, this encyclopedia focuses on both competitive and blood sports, like angling and hunting.  It also includes information on amateur and collegiate men's and women's athletics, in addition to men's professional sports.

Rooney, John F. Jr. and Richard Pillsbury.
Atlas of American Sport.
New York: Macmillan Pub., Co., 1992.
Location: RECAP
Call Number: G1202.E63 R6 1992f

Sagert, Kelly Boyer. Encyclopedia of Extreme Sports  
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2009.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number:  GV749.7 .S24 2009
Includes Adventure racing, Alpine scrambling, Artificial wall climbing, Barefoot water skiing, BASE (Building/Antenna tower/SPAN/Earth jumping), BMX (Bicycle motocross), Boomerang throwing, Bungee jumping, Canoeing and kayaking, Caving, Free runninng, Extreme golf, Gravity games, Hang gliding, High-wire act/Tightrope walking, Hotter'N Hell Hundred: Century bicycle racing, Ice climbing, Ice yachting, In-line skating, Ironman triathalon, Kite surfing, Land yachting, Lava shielding, Motocross, Mountain biking, Parkour, Pogo jumping, Roller derby, Sandboarding, Skateboarding, Ski jumping, Skiing, Skyjumping, Skydiving, Skysurfing, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling, Urban climbing, Video games, Wakeboarding, Weekend warriors, Wheelchair extreme sports, Windsurfing, X games, Yoga surfing, biographies, and other impacts of the sports.

Sports Factfinder
Edinburgh: Chambers, 2005.
Location:  Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number:  GV567.F33 2005
Each entry provides a description of the sport's origin, main features, rules, and major results.
 

ESPN

Virtual Library of Sport

Scholarly Sports Sites

Dmoz open directory project

National Sporting Goods Association

SportQuest

 

Directories and Almanacs

The Blue Book of College Athletics for Senior, Junior & Community Colleges.
Montgomery, Ala.: Athletic Publishing Co., 1991-.
Location:  General/Humanities Reference Collection, Trustees Reading Room (DR)Call Number:  GV741 .B53 (current issue; older RECAP)
A directory of college athletic administrators and varsity men's and women's coaches at American colleges and universities.

The ...ESPN Information Please Sports Almanac
Boston, Mass.: Information Please LLC; New York: Hyperion ESPN Books, 1997-.
Location: General/Humanities Reference Collection, Trustees Reading Room (DR)Call Number: GV741 .I58 (current issue)
Although focused primarily on men's professional baseball, basketball, football, and baseball, this almanac also includes statistical information for collegiate men's football, basketball, hockey and other minor sports, like auto racing, tennis, golf, soccer; women's professional basketball; women's collegiate basketball and minor sports; and for the Olympics.  There are also obituaries.

Gelbert, Doug.
Sports Halls of Fame: A Directory of Over 100 Sports Museums in the United States
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 1992.
Location: Firestone Library Call Number: Z7514.M66 J66 1992

The National Directory of College Athletics. Men's ed.
Amarillo, Tex.: R. Franks Pub. Ranch, 1976/1977-.
Location: General/Humanities Reference Collection, Trustees Reading Room (DR) Call Number: GV561 .xN322
A directory of men's college athletics, this resources includes such information as a historical list of national championship winners in varsity sports for Division I, II, and III colleges and universities; a list of the varsity sports currently played at Division I, II, and III colleges and universities; and addresses of various colleges sports organizations and conferences.The National Directory of College Athletics. Women's ed.Amarillo, Tex.: R. Franks Pub. Ranch, 1976/1977-.Location: General/Humanities Reference Collection, Trustees Reading Room (DR)Call Number: GV439 .N35A directory of women's college athletics, this resources includes such information as a historical list of national championship winners in varsity sports for Division I, II, and III colleges and universities; a list of the varsity sports currently played at Division I, II, and III colleges and universities; and addresses of various colleges sports organizations and conferences.

Sports Market Place.Princeton, N.J.: Sportsguide, 1984-.
Location: General/Humanities Reference Collection, Trustees Reading Room (DR) Call Number: HD9992.U5 S666 (current issue)

Statistics

Gaschnitz, K. Michael.
Statistical encyclopedia of North American professional sports : all major league teams and major non-team events year by year, 1876 through 2006
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., 2007
Location:Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) Call Number:   GV581 .G37 2008

The ... ESPN Information Please Sports Almanac.
Boston, Mass.: Information Please LLC; New York: Hyperion ESPN Books, 1997-.
Location: General/Humanities Reference Collection/Trustees Reading Room (DR)Call Number: GV741 .I58 (current issue; older in Firestone)
Although focused primarily on men's professional baseball, basketball, football, and baseball, this almanac also includes statistical information for collegiate men's football, basketball, hockey and other minor sports, like auto racing, tennis, golf, soccer; women's professional basketball; women's collegiate basketball and minor sports; and for the Olympics.  There are also obituaries.NCAA Student-Athlete Experiences Data ArchiveLocation: OnlineSports injury data -- National Center for Catastrophic Sport Injury ResearchLocation: OnlineFor the best listing of statistics resources, use the individual sport page first. If the sport does not have an individual page, try the following list: Sports Statistics on the Web