Skip to main content

Sports Resource Guide

A guide to sources for sports research at Princeton University.

Women in Sports

Women Climbing: 200 Years of Achievement.
Seattle : Mountaineers ; London : A & C Black, 1990.
Location: RECAP
Call Number: GV199.9 .B57 1990

Bolin, Anne and Jane Granskog.
Athletic Intruders: Ethnographic Research on Women, Culture and Exercise.
Albany: State University of New York Press, 2003.
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: GV439 .A84 2003

Christensen, Karen, Allen Guttmann, and Gertrud Pfister, eds.
International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports.
New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV709 .I58 2000 The intention of this illustrated three-volume encyclopedia was to remedy a perceived lack of scholarly reference sources dedicated to or even including women athletes. The encyclopedia includes entries on a variety of topics, including biographies of significant international female sport figures, various organizations dedicated to promoting women in sports, the role of women's sports in society, and health issues affecting women who participate in sports. An extensive bibliography follows each entry.

Cohen, Greta L., ed.
Women in Sport: Issues and Controversies.
Newbury Park: Sage Publications, 1993.
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: GV709.19.U6 W65 1993

A to Z of American Women in Sports.
New York: Facts on File, 2002.
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: GV697.A1 E28 2002

Heaphy, Leslie A. and Mel Anthony May.
Encyclopedia of Women and Baseball.
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2006.
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: GV880.7.E63 2006

Women in Sports: The Complete Book on the World's Greatest Female Athletes.
Santa Monica, Calif.: General Pub. Group, 1997.
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: GV697.A1 L35 1997

Lenskyj, Helen.
Women, Sport and Physical Activity: Research and Bibliography.
Ottawa(?): Government of Canada, Fitness and Amateur Sport, 1991.
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: GV709 .L47 1991

Markel, Robert, Nancy Brooks, and Susan Markel.
For the Record: Women in Sports.
New York: World Almanac Publications, 1985.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV697.A1 M318 1985
Although somewhat outdated, this book is nevertheless useful for identifying pioneer female sport figures. It is arranged according to sport, each section containing biographical entries for those women outstanding in their sport and lists of medal winners in the Olympics and other major competitions.

Mitchell, Nicole and Lisa A. Ennis
Encyclopedia of Title IX and sports
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2007.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV709.18.U6 M58 2007

National Collegiate Athletic Association
Gender Equity Report (formerly Gender Equity Study)
Indianapolis, IN: NCAA, 1997+
Location: Online
     On Publications page, search for "equity."

Oglesby, Carole A., et al., eds.
Encyclopedia of Women and Sport in America.
Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1998.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV709 .E53 1998
Although mostly composed of biographical entries, this one volume encyclopedia also includes information on such topics as women's sport psychology, history, physical education, and sporting events.

Remley, Mary L.
Women in Sports: An Annotated Bibliography and Resource Guide, 1900-1990.
Boston: G. K. Hall, 1991. Location: RECAP
Call Number: Z7963.S6 R45 1991

Sherrow, Victoria.
Encyclopedia of Women and Sports.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1996.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV709 .S44 1996

Shoebridge, Michele.
Women in Sport A Select Bibliography.
London and New York: Mansell, 1987.
Location: RECAP
Call Number: Z7963.S6 S56 1987

Smith, Malissa. 
History of women's boxing.
Lanham, Maryland : Rowman & Littlefield, 2014.
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: GV1136.3 .S55 2014

Sparhawk, Ruth M., et al.
American Women in Sport, 1887-1987: A 100-Year Chronology.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1989.
Location: RECAP
Call Number: GV583 .A64 1989

Sports Illustrated Women
New York: Time, 2001-2002.
Location: ONLINE
Call Number:

Women's Sports and Fitness.
Palo Alto, Calif.: Women's Sports Publications, 1984-2000.
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: GV709 .W581
Also Online from 1993-  .

Woolum, Janet.
Outstanding Women Athletes: Who They Are and How They Influenced Sports in America.
Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1998, 2nd. ed.
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: GV697.A1 W69 1998

Women's Sports Foundation (Title IX information and reports)

Equity in Athletics
Provides customized reports for public inquiries relating to equity in athletics data for 2001+. The data are drawn from the OPE Equity in Athletics Disclosure Website database. Consists of athletics data that are submitted annually as required by the Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act by all co-educational postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs) and that have an intercollegiate athletics program.

American Women's Baseball League

National Women's Baseball Hall of Fame

Women's International Baseball Association

FIFA.com Women's Soccer

Women's National Basketball Association

Women's Basketball Hall of Fame

Ladies Professional Golf Association

NCAA Women's Soccer Statistics

NCAA Women's Basketball Statistics

Feminist Majority Foundation

Scholarly Sport Sites

dmoz Open Directory Project

Intercollegiate Tennis Association/Women's Hall of Fame

Black Women in Sports

Rivals.com Includes recruiting for NCAA women's basketball (men's and women's), and NCAA baseball.