Skip to main content

Behavioral Sciences Research Guide

This research guide will assist you with finding scholarly resources in psychology and neuroscience.

Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports® offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions.

Citation Searching

PsycINFO has included cited references appearing in journal articles, books, and book chapters. Although comprehensive coverage of cited references began in 2001, references appear in some records for earlier years, and APA will continue to add retrospective coverage. This cited reference data enables the "Find Similar" and "Find Citing Articles" functions.

Web of Science is the most complete and comprehensive citation tracking database with coverage from 1900 to the present. It provides thorough coverage of ~5900 major journals. Includes cited author searching. Abstracts, keywords, and additional subject categories are included and searchable from 1991+. Video Tutorial

Scopus Provides International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences and social sciences; provides citation tracking from 1996 to the present. Interactive Tutorial

Google Scholar provides access to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Although it is not as standardized, thorough, or reliable as BIOSIS, Web of Science and other literature databases, Google Scholar has a simple interface that many find convenient and easy to use.

Google Scholar

Key Databases

The list below is a small subset of the databases on the Articles and Databases page on the library's website. For a full list of databases relevant to your research, see the Psychology Subject List.

To get the full-text of an article (or Interlibrary Services options if Princeton doesn't have the full-text), click the Find it@PUL button displayed in each database.

PsycINFO (1800s+)
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology resources. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Contains all full text from PsycARTICLES database.

Web of Science (ISI) (1900+)
Web of Science ® provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases.  Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.

PubMed (1948+)
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
 
International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+
 
Articles+ is a search engine that provides a single starting point to find and access many of the PUL's resources — including books, ebooks, scholarly journals and articles, newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, videos, maps, manuscripts, music scores, digitized items, and more.

Google Scholar 

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals.
 
PsycEXTRA, a gray literature database, is a companion to PsycINFO. It contains a wide variety of important information in psychology, behavioral science, and health. Most of the content was written for professionals and disseminated outside of peer-reviewed journals. Documents include newsletters, magazines, newspapers, technical and annual reports, government reports, consumer brochures, and more. PsycEXTRA is different from PsycINFO in its coverage, and also in its format, because it includes abstracts and citations plus full text for a major portion of the records. There is no coverage overlap with PsycINFO.
 
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory provides information on all types of periodicals, including pricing, subscription and distribution details as well as publisher and editor contacts. Links to URLs and e-mail addresses given when available. Includes periodical reviews from Magazines for Libraries and Library Journal.

General Search Tips

Boolean Operators

Many catalogs and databases allow the user to put a search string together using the boolean operators AND, OR, or NOT.

  • AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, stereotyping AND prejudice finds articles that contain both terms.
  • OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, stereotyping OR prejudice finds results that contain either term.
  • NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, stereotyping NOT prejudice finds results that contain the term stereotyping but not the term prejudice.

Truncation

In many catalogs and databases, truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *.  

For example, type behav* to find the words behave, behavior, behaviour, behavioral, behaviorism, etc..

Behavioral Sciences Librarian

Portal Manager

Featured Resource

Journal of Visualized Experiments

Behavior Section

JoVE Behavior documents observational and experimental techniques that seek to understand human and animal behavior. Work in this field includes analysis of genetic causes and physiological responses to internal or external stimuli as well as the implicated brain regions.

Neuroscience Section 

JoVE Neuroscience is a multidisciplinary section devoted to investigations of the structure, function, physiology, and pathophysiology of the brain and nervous system. Included methodologies range from molecular and cellular level studies to full central and peripheral neural systems. Potential treatment platforms and surgical techniques for neurological diseases and disorders are also presented in this section.