Skip to main content

Princetoniana Collection: Princetoniana Collection Home

A guide the Princetoniana Collection; a set of books, periodicals, and other printed sources pertaining to Princeton University history at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library.

The Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library

65 Olden Street
Princeton, NJ 08544
T: 609.258.6345
F: 609.258.3385

Mon. to Fri., 9 AM to 4:45 PM

Summer: Mon. to Fri., 8:45 AM to 4:15 PM


Housed at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, the Princetoniana Collection is a set of over 1000 books, manuscripts, pamphlets, papers, and other collected materials relating to Princeton University. Nearly every aspect of the University's life from the time of its founding to the modern era is represented to some degree in the Princetoniana Collection. In conjunction with the Mudd Library's archival collections, the Princetoniana Collection is an indispensable resource for any researcher studying the students, alumni, faculty, or administration of Princeton University.

The purpose of this collection guide is to familiarize the researcher with the resources available in the Princetoniana Collection. As the Mudd Library is a closed-stack library, the type of visual browsing which facilitates the use of other book collections is not possible with the P Collection. Therefore this document has been prepared in hopes of making the collection’s content and organization more clear to researchers of all levels. While the collection’s size and sometimes complex arrangement scheme makes it nearly impossible to illustrate every single item within it, efforts have been made to group describe the major groups within the collection, and then list these groups according to the research topics to which they are relevant. Please use the tabs above to navigate the guide. Note that many individual items can be found in more than one topical group.

All titles within the Princetoniana Collection have been assigned a call number (identified by the P or PRIN prefix) and can be found in the Library's main catalog. Since the Mudd Library is a closed-stack library wherein materials must be paged to the researcher, these call numbers are essential for obtaining items. It is worth noting that copies of many of the most frequently used titles such as the Nassau Herald, the Bric-A-Brac, the General Catalogue, and the Princeton Alumni Weekly are easily accessible in the Library's reference room.

Additional information regarding the collections of the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library and conducting research can be found at Specific questions regarding the Princetoniana Collection, or other University Archives collections can be addressed via e-mail to