Skip to main content

Vladimir Nabokov: Home

Vladimir Vladimirovich Nabokov (Russian: Влади́мир Влади́мирович Набо́ков) ; 22 April [O.S. 10 April] 1899c – 2 July 1977) was a multilingual Russian novelist and short story writer.

"They Are Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful!": Lolita in PUL

Lolita (the 1955 Putnam edition)(F) PS3527.A15 L655 1955

Lolita (the first edition, published by Olympia Press) (RARE BOOKS) 2008-1337N

The Annotated Lolita, edited by Alfred Appel, Jr. (F) PS3527.A15 L6 1991

Лолита (перевод Набокова) (F) PS3527.A15 L617 1967

An English-Russian Dictionary of Nabokov's Lolita, ed. A. Nakhimovsky and S. Paperno (F) PS3527.A15 L634 1982

Keys to Lolita, by Carl R. Proffer (F) AS36.B56 A334 no. 64

Lolita (Nabokov's original screenplay for the Stanley Kubrick film) (F) PN1997.L66 1997 

Lolita (the shooting script for the Stanley Kubrick film) From American Film Scripts Online

Lolita (DVD of the Stanley Kubrick film starring James Mason) (HRC VIDEO LIBRARY) DVD 1295

Lolita (DVD of the Adrian Lyne film starring Jeremy Irons) (HRC VIDEO LIBRARY) DVD 5592

NABOKOV ON LOLITA: The Portable Nabokov (F) PG3476.N3 A2 1971

MAURICE GIRODIAS ON LOLITA: L'affaire Lolita: defense de l'ecrivain (RARE BOOKS) 2008-1584N

Nabokov Journals

The Nabokovian.  Lawrence, Kan.: Vladimir Nabokov Society, 1984-  (F) PS3527.A15 Z87

Formerly known as the Vladimir Nabokov Research Newsletter, this is the oldest Nabokov periodical, published by the International Vladimir Nabokov Society.  PUL's print holdings cover the first issue to the present.  Issues for the last year are housed in the Periodicals Reading Room on A Floor.

Nabokov studies.  Davidson, N. C.: Davidson College, 1994-  (Available via Project Muse Premium Collection.)

Annual published by the International Vladimir Nabokov Society and Davidson College.  Electronic version covers first to latest issue (2007/2008).

Nabokovskii vestnik.  St. Petersburg: Dom, 1998-  (F) PG3476.N3 Z4585

Publication of the Nabokov Museum in St. Petersburg.  PUL's print holdings cover the second issue (1998) to 2000.

Krymskii nabokovskii nauchnyi sbornik.  Simferopol': Krymskii arkhiv, 2001-  (F) PG3476.N3 Z4584

Journal of the Crimean Centre for Research in the Humanities, the V. I. Vernadskii National University, and the Crimean Society of Russian Culture.  PUL's print holdings cover the first issue to 2011.

Nabokov online journal NOJ = Nabokovskii onlainovyi zhurnal NOZH.  Halifax, NS: Dalhousie University Electronic Text Centre, 2007-  (Available via free eJournals.)

E-journal of Nabokov studies.  Articles in English, Russian, French, and German appear; journal itself may be accessed in English or in Russian, although not every article appears in both languages.  Electronic version covers first issue to the present.

And, of course, you can find journal articles on Nabokov and his work in many of the resources listed on the Journal Articles page of the Russian and Eurasian Studies LibGuide or the Bibliographies and Indexes page of the Resources for Research in American, English, French, and Italian Literature LibGuide.


This guide is maintained by Thomas Keenan, Slavic Librarian.  Text on the site created by Liladhar Pendse and Catherine Oliver.

The Real Life of Vladimir Nabokov


Conclusive evidence.  New York: Harper, 1951.  (F) PG3476.N3 Z476 1951

First edition of Nabokov's first memoir, an original work in English.

Drugie berega.  New York: Izd-vo im. Chekhova, 1954.  (F) PG3476.N3 Z517 1954

First edition of Nabokov's revised Russian-language version of his memoir.

Speak, memory: an autobiography revisited.  New York: Putnam, 1966.  (F) PG3476.N3 Z476 1966

First edition of the greatly enlarged English re-translation of Drugie berega.


Vladimir Nabokov: selected letters, 1940-1977.  Eds. Dmitri Nabokov and Matthew J. Bruccoli.  San Diego: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1989.  (F) PG3476.N3 Z48 1989

Perepiska s sestroi.  Ann Arbor, Mich.: Ardis, 1984.  (F) PG3476.N3 Z494 1984

Dear Bunny, Dear Volodya: the Nabokov-Wilson letters, 1940-1971.  Ed. Simon Karlinsky.  Berkeley, Calif.; London: The University of California Press, 2001.  (F) PG3476.N3 Z548 2001


Vladimir Nabokov: a documentary volume.  Dictionary of literary biography 369.  Detroit, Mich.: Gale, 2013.  (RCPPA) PG3476.N3 Z915 2013


Nosik, Boris.  Mir i dar Nabokova: pervaia russkaia biografiia pisatelia.  M.: Penaty, 1995.  (F) PG3476.N3 Z796 1995

Field, Andrew.  VN: the life and art of Vladimir Nabokov.  New York: Crown, 1986.  (F) PG3476.N3 Z66 1986

Boyd, Brian.  Vladimir Nabokov: the Russian years.  London: Chatto & Windus, 1990.  (F) PG3476.N3 Z59 1990b

Boyd, Brian.  Vladimir Nabokov: the American years.  Princeton, N. J.: Princeton University Press, 1991.  (F) PS3527.A15 Z646 1991

Schiff, Stacey.  Vera (Mrs. Vladimir Nabokov).  New York: Random House, 1999.  (F) PG3476.N3 Z8626 1999 


Juliar, Michael.  Vladimir Nabokov: a descriptive bibliography.  New York: Garland Pub., 1986.  (F) Z8608.6.J84 1986

Bibliography of all works published by Vladimir Nabokov in Russian, English, and French, including appearances in anthologies, appearances in periodicals, translations of his works, pre-publication copies, Braille and audio editions, theatrical and film adaptations, interviews, ephemera, and pirated editions.  Accompanying images of the dust-jackets, title pages, copyright pages, and colophons of particularly important editions.  Includes an un-annotated bibliography of books about Nabokov, a chronology of his literary publications, a summary of Nabokov's self-translations and translations of others, and a chronology of Lolita.  Transliteration system used is Shaw's System II, which differs from LC in that the i kratkoe is rendered as j and the hard sign (tverdyi znak) is ignored.  Index included.

Schuman, Samuel.  Vladimir Nabokov: a reference guide.  Boston, Mass.: G. K. Hall & Co., 1979.  (F) Z8608.6 S34

Annotated bibliography of (primarily English-language) publications with content about Nabokov, including books, scholarly articles, pieces from the popular press, and doctoral dissertations, arranged by year.  Bibliography ends with publications from July 1977, the month of his death.  Annotations are detailed and descriptive rather than evaluative.  Bibliography is prefaced by an alphabetical and chronological list of Nabokov's own publications.  Appended are annotated bibliographies of reviews of the two films of Nabokov's work (Stanley Kubrick's Lolita and Tony Richardson's Laughter in the Dark) and an un-annotated bibliography of Russian-language articles on Nabokov published in the emigre press.  Includes an index (the final appendix of Russian-language pieces is not included in the index).  In English; the Russian alphabet is transliterated according to an unspecified system (not LC). 

"Izgnanniki, skital'tsy i poety!": biobibliograficheskii spravochnik.  Simferopol': Krymskii arkhiv, 2004.

Bio-bibliographies of Vladimir Vladimirovich Nabokov, Vladimir Dmitrievich Nabokov, Ivan Sergeevich Shmelev, and Arkadii Timofeevich Averchenko, focused exclusively on their connections with Crimea.  The section on V. V. Nabokov includes a short essay about Nabokov's time in Crimea, a chronology of the work he created during that period, and a bibliography of works about Nabokov, primarily those which focus on or mention his time in Crimea.

Nabokov on the Web

Subject Guide

Thomas Keenan
Firestone 1-6H-2

(609) 258-3592

Nabokov and Nabokoviana in the PUL Rare Books and Manuscripts Collection

  • Vladimir Nabokov's copy of Pushkin's Poeziia (M.; L.: Gos. izd-vo khudozh. lit-ry, 1949) with his own English- and Russian-language annotations.
  • Call number: Oversize PS3527.A15 Z464 1949q

  • Vladimir Nabokov's copy of Sochineniia Aleksandra Pushkina: iubileinoe izdanie Pushkinskago komiteta (Berlin: Speer & Schmidt, 1937) with his own English- and Russian-language annotations.
  • Call number: PS3527.A15 Z463

  • Vladimir Nabokov's copy of Tiutchev's Stikhotvoreniia (Berlin: Knigoizd-vo "Slovo," 1921) with his own English- and Russian-language annotations.
  • Call number: PS3527.A15 Z462

  • First edition of Lolita, as published in Paris in 1955 by Olympia Press.
  • Call number: 2008-1337N

  • Patrick J. Kearney collection on the Olympia Press, 1960-2001. Archival material from the files of the original publisher of Lolita.
  • Call number: C1262

Nabokov RSS Feed