Architecture LibraryEast Asian LibraryEngineering LibraryFurth Plasma Physics LibraryHumanities Resource Center (Video Library)Lewis Science LibraryMarquand Library of Art and ArchaeologyMendel Music LibraryMudd Manuscript LibraryStokes LibraryReCAP Library
Getting to Know FirestoneMain Floor Services and CollectionsLower Floor Services and CollectionsRare Books and Special Collections
This is the "Getting Started: Library Essentials" page of the "Guide to the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to the Library  

Guide to the Library
Last Updated: Nov 29, 2012 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/libraryguide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Getting Started: Library Essentials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Bring Your University ID

A valid Princeton University ID (PU ID) or visitor access card is required at all times to enter Firestone Library and the Marquand Library of Art and Archaeology.

Several other campus libraries require a valid PU ID during evenings and weekends.

Campus guests should review the Library Access Policy and call the Access Office at 609-258-5737 well in advance of their visit.

 

Activate Your Barcode

Your PU ID card serves as your library card, allowing you to take books from the library and make use of all library services.

You may need to activate the barcode on your ID before you can take books out from the Library.

Stop by the Circulation Desk and ask a staff member if you need assistance. 

 

Explore the Library Home Page

Your gateway to information begins with the Library web site. As you begin to explore, note links to practical information, such as hours, circulation procedures, and descriptions of the various libraries and collections that are all part of the University Library. Follow the links under Books, Articles, More to explore the great variety of materials available to Princeton users.

Experiment with SearchIt@PUL, the Library's beta search interface and discover a wide variety of research information from the Main Catalog, our various article databases, and our digital collection repositories.

Library Home Page Need Help? Ask a Librarian

 

VISIT A LIBRARY HELP DESK
No appointment needed.

CHAT
Contact a librarian at libchatpul

SMS/TEXT
Text 246246 and start your message with libchatpul

E-MAIL
Send a message to refdesk@princeton.edu

PHONE
Contact the Library Information Desk 
at 609-258-4820

 

Register Your Wireless Device

Wireless access is available throughout the various campus libraries. To connect, Princeton ID holders with wireless laptops or mobile devices must first register their equipment in the university's Host Database.

Visitor Wireless Service provides short-term Internet connectivity to wireless devices brought by visitors to Princeton University. It provides service to a device for up to seven days within a calendar month.

Several campus libraries also have laptops that you may borrow for in-building use. Ask at Firestone Circulation/Reserves, or at Lewis, Engineering, Marquand, or Stokes libraries.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip