Admin Sign In 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias 

Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/irdictionaries  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Dictionaries

Kushner, Michael G., Virginia L. Briggs, Michael J. Schinabeck
Employee benefits desk encyclopedia :
an annotated compendium of frequently used terms.

Washington, D.C.: Bureau of National Affairs, Inc., 1996
(IR) HD4928.N6 B745 1996

Dictionary of occupational titles.
4th ed. + supplements.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office. 1991.
Occupational definitions listed in Occupational Group Arrangement (OGA).
(DOCS Ref.) L37.2:Oc1/2/991/v.1-2

Doherty, Robert E.
Industrial and labor relations terms: a glossary.
5th ed. Ithaca, NY: ILR Press, 1989. 36 pp. (ILR bulletin; 44)
(IR) HD4839.D6 1989

O*NET Dictionary of Occupational Titles.
4th ed. JIST Works, Inc. Indianapolis, IN : 2007.
(IR) HB2595 .O16 and (DOCS) L37.25a: Ocl/Dictio

Roberts, Harold S.
Roberts' dictionary of industrial relations.
4th ed. Washington, D.C.: Bureau of National Affairs, 1994. 874pp.
(IR) HD4839.R612 1994

Shafritz, Jay M.
The Facts on File dictionary of personnel management and labor relations.
2d ed. 1985. 534pp.
(IR) HF5549.A23 S52 1985

 

Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of strikes in American history.
Edited by Aaron Brenner, Benjamin Day, and Immanuel Ness. 
Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 2009
(SXF) HD5324.E39 2009

Labor unions.
Edited by Gary M. Fink.
Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1977. 520pp. (Greenwood encyclopedia of American institutions; 1)
(IR) HD6508.L234
Contains historical sketches of more than 200 national unions and labor federations that have been part of the American labor movement.

Occupational outlook handbook.
Annual
(DOCS Ref.) L2.3/4:(yr) 1998/99-2000/01 (CD-ROM)
Describes 250 occupations in detail.

Professional careers sourcebook.
Detroit, MI : Gale Research.
(IR) HF5382.5.U5 P764 (2nd ed. 1992+)
(SXF) HF5382.5.U5 P764 (current issues)

 

Biographical Dictionaries

America's labor leaders.
Edited by Philip L. Quaglieri.
Lexington, MA: Lexington Books, 1989. 292pp.
(F) HD8073.A1 A47 1989

The American labor who's who
Edited by Solon De Leon, Irma C. Hayssen, Grace Poole
New York: Hanford Press, 1925. 374pp.
(ReCAP) HD8073.A1 A5

Biographical dictionary of American labor.
Edited by Gary M. Fink. Rev. ed.
Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1984. 767pp.
(DR) HD8073.A1 B56 1984
Brief sketches of 734 men and women who had a significant impact on American labor.

Labor leaders in America.
Edited by Melvyn Dubofsky and Warren Van Tine.
Urbana, IL: University of Illinois Press, 1987. 396pp.
(IR) HD8073.A1L33 1987.
Extensive biographical essays about fifteen American labor leaders.

LERA ... membership directory / Labor and Employment Relations Association
(Continues: Membership directory of the Industrial Relations Research Association).
Champaign, IL: Labor and Employment Relations Association, 2006.
(SXF) HD6958.5 .I53

Membership directory of the Industrial Relations Research Association.
(Continued by: LERA ... membership directory / Labor and Employment Relations Association).
Madison, WI: Industrial Relations Research Association, 1979-2002.
(IR) HD4802 .I66

Who's who in labor.
NY: Arno Press, 1976. 807pp.
(IR) HD8073.A1W5
Brief information about thousands of people active in the labor movement at that time. Includes discussion of AFL-CIO and other federations, directory of national unions and employee associations, government offices, labor studies centers, glossary of lab or terms, bibliography of labor periodicals, index to biographies by organization.

Who’s who in labor; the authorized biographies of the men and women who lead labor in the United States and Canada and of those who deal with labor.
Edited by Marion Dickerman, Ruth Taylor
New York: The Dryden press [1946]. 807 pp.
(F) HD3073.A1W6
Includes "a glossary of labor terminology...a chronology of labor legislation, a directory of the labor press, a list of educational directors [and] a list of the international labor unions."

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageIndustrial Relations Library
Contact Info:
Office A-8-J-2 Firestone Library
Telephone 609-258-4043
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait