In addition to the major sources, also use these specialized sources. For tax rates, start with University of Michigan's World Tax Database.
| Publisher | Source | Description |
| IMF | Government Finance Statistics | Includes data on each country's central government's revenue, expenditure, lending minus repayments, financing, and debt. The full run from 1972+ is found in Sage Data . Due to major breaks in methodology, the data is divided into 2 sets. Data can also be found through the IMF site. Documentation can be found in Government Finance Statistics Manual |
| IMF | World Revenue Longitudinal Database | 1990+. Compilation of government tax and non-tax revenues from the IMF's Government Finance Statistics and World Economic Outlook and drawing on the OECD Revenue Statistics and Revenue Statistics in Latin America and the Caribbean. |
| UNU-WIDER | UNU-WIDER Government Revenue Database |
1980+. Aims to present a complete picture of government revenue and tax trends over time and allows for analysis at the country, regional or cross-country level. Where possible, figures are expressed both inclusive and exclusive of natural resource revenues, which helps to overcome a major obstacle to cross-country comparisons in existing data sources. |
| OECD | National Accounts | 1950+. Long term time series of national accounts statistics. |
| OECD | Tax Statistics | 1965+. Long term time series of detailed and internationally comparable tax data for the OECD member countries. |
| OECD/ECLAC | Revenue Statistics in Latin America and the Caribbean | 1990+. Internationally comparable data on tax levels and tax structures for a selection of Latin American and Caribbean (LAC) countries. |
| World Bank | International Debt Statistics | Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 forward, for most reporting countries, and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2030. |
| World Bank and IMF | Public Sector Debt Statistics | Detailed quarterly public sector debt data of selected developing/emerging market countries. |
| IMF | Historical Public Debt Database | Database on gross government debt-to-GDP ratios, covering nearly the entire IMF membership (174 countries) and spanning an exceptionally long time period (earliest 1692). Constructed by bringing together a number of other datasets and information from original sources. For the most recent years, the data are linked to the IMF World Economic Outlook (WEO) database to facilitate regular updates. |
| Canadian Tax Foundation | Finances of the Nation (many title changes) | Tax data for Canada at the federal, provincial, and local government level. HJ790.F562 Finances of the Nation (1995+); HJ793 .C16 The National Finances (1954-1994); HJ790.F562 Finances of the Nation (1995+); HJ9350 .C3 Provincial and municipal finances (1971-1991); HJ9350.C16 Provincial Finances (1963-1969) ; HJ9350.L6 Local Finance (1959-1970) |
