Skip to main content

Canadian history

Starting points

Canada: A Reader’s Guide Searchable version of a print bibliography published in 2000.

Canadian Research Index 1982+
Index to Canadian federal, provincial, & territorial documents. The collections for Statistics (1988-1995), Social Sciences (1996-2012) and Telecommunications (1996-2000) are available on Microfiche (Cabinet 42). For free, recent federal level Canadian documents, search the Statistics Canada Catalog.

Canadian Foreign Relations Index 1945-2005
Electronic version of the Bibliography of Works on Canadian Foreign Relations. Covers Canada’s foreign relations, defense, economic relations, foreign aid, international law, and environmental concerns. Electronic version of the Bibliography of Works on Canadian Foreign Relations. Covers Canada’s foreign relations, defense, economic relations, foreign aid, international law, and environmental concerns.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)
Includes current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles, all with a Canadian focus. Full text is available within these areas

Canadian history: Reference

Dictionary of Canadian Biography
Call Number: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone F1005 .D49

Canadian history : a reader’s guide.
Call Number: Firestone Z1382 .C362 1994
Publication Date: Toronto ; Buffalo : University of Toronto Press, c1994.
v. 1. Beginnings to Confederation / edited by M. Brook Taylor -- v. 2. Confederation to the present

Historical atlas of Canada.
Call Number: Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Oversize G1116.S1 H57q
Publication Date: Toronto ; Buffalo : University of Toronto Press, 1987-1990.
v. 1. From the beginning to 1800 / R. Cole Harris, editor ; Geoffrey J. Matthews, cartographer/designer -- v. 2. The land transformed, 1800-1891 -- v. 3. Addressing the twentieth century 1891-1961 / Donald Kerr, Deryck W. Holdsworth [editors]

Historical statistics of Canada.
Call Number: RECAP Oversize HA745 .H57 1983q
Publication Date: [Ottawa] : Statistics Canada, c1983.

Historical dictionary of Canada (2nd ed.)
Call Number: Firestone Library: Non Circulating F1026 .G69 2011
Publication Date: Lanham : Scarecrow Press, 2011

Librarian

Alain St. Pierre
Contact:
1-6F.4
Firestone Library
Princeton, NJ 08544
(609) 258-2964