Skip to main content

Africa: primary sources

19th century

Correspondence of the Secretary of the Navy relating to African colonization, 1819-1844 [microform]
Microfilm 09664
2 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms CD3026.A52
Consists mainly of copies of letters sent by the Secretary of the Navy to agents of the United States stationed on the northwest coast of Africa for the purpose of receiving blacks freed by the capture of slave ships, and letters and reports received by the Secretary of the Navy from these agents.

Records of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior relating to the suppression of the African slave trade and Negro colonization, 1854-1872 [microform]
Microfilm 09663
10 reels
Printed guide: none
M160; From record group 48, General records of the Dept. of the Interior., National Archives. See
<a data-cke-saved-href="Correspondence of the Secretary of the Navy relating to African colonization, 1819-1844 [microform] Microfilm 09664 2 reels Printed guide: Firestone Microforms CD3026.A52 Consists mainly of copies of letters sent by the Secretary of the Navy to agents of the United States stationed on the northwest coast of Africa for the purpose of receiving blacks freed by the capture of slave ships, and letters and reports received by the Secretary of the Navy from these agents. Records of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior relating to the suppression of the African slave trade and Negro colonization, 1854-1872 [microform] Microfilm 09663 10 reels Printed guide: none M160; From record group 48, General records of the Dept. of the Interior., National Archives. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/048.html

Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1918 Archives Unbound

"This series consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States’ diplomatic post in Liberia. The topics covered by these records include all aspects of relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people."


 

U.S. records on European colonial powers

In Archives Unbound

European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930  "This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and problems along the Moroccan-Algerian border. Source Note: Record Group 59, Records of the U.S. State Department, Central Classified Files, Class 800, France, 1910-1929. Includes content only for French colonial possessions in Africa, including country codes: 51r, 51s, 51t, 51u, 51v, 51w, 51x. N.B. Formerly part of National Archives microfilm publication M560, reels 154-162."

European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939 "Italian colonial aspirations and policies mimicked those of other European countries during the modern period. Italian colonial policy during the period 1930-1939 was shaped more by Fascism. Fascist tenets related to governance and social policy was used in the administration and treatment of the African population in Libya, Eritrea, Somalia, and Italian East Africa. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples. Source Note: Record Group 59, Records of the U.S. State Department, Central Classified Files, Class 800, Italy, 1930-1939. Includes content only for Italian colonial possessions in Africa, including country codes: 65a, 65b, 65c, 65d. N.B. Formerly part of National Archives microfilm publication M1423, reels 29-33."

European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929 "This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and the industrialization and economic exploitation of Portugal’s African colonies. Source Note: Record Group 59, Records of the U.S. State Department, Central Classified Files, Class 800, Portugal, 1910-1929. Includes content only for Portuguese colonial possessions in Africa, including country codes: 53h, 53i, 53k, 53m, 53n, 53p, 53q. N.B. Formerly part of National Archives microfilm publication M705, reels 25-34."

European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies to League of Nations Mandates in Africa 1910-1929

"German colonial aspirations in Africa ended with the end of the First World War. British and French Army forces seized German colonies in Africa and British naval forces occupied the German port facilities. The Treaty of Versailles legitimized and officially mandated the former German colonies to British and French colonial authorities. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples."  Record Group 59, Records of the U.S. State Department, Central Classified Files, Class 800, Germany, 1910-1929. Includes content only for German colonial possessions in Africa, including country codes: 62p, 62q, 62r, 62s.

20th century

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Ethiopia (Abyssinia), 1910-29 [microform]
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See
http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of Liberia, 1910-29
Firestone Microforms 1838.922
34 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms CD3026.A52
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See
http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between Liberia and other states, including the United States, 1919-1929 [microform]
1838.922.2
1 reel
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms CD3026.A52
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See
http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 05132
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms D839.3.G84
Pt. 13. Africa, 1941-1961 (11 reels). Comprises reports prepared by the Office of Strategic Services and the Dept. of State to inform U.S. policy. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/documents/academic/upa_cis/
11279_OSSStateRptsAfrica19411961.pdf

CIA research reports [microform]: Part [7] Africa, 1946-1976
Microfilm 01861
3 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms D839.3.C52
Comprises reports and memos prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency to inform U.S. policy. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/documents/academic/upa_cis/
3349_CIAResRptsAfrica.pdf

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. British Africa , 1955-1959 [microform]: internal affairs
Microfilm 08034
39 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DT30 .C664 1991
Records from the U.S. Dept. of State, Record Group 59, decimal numbers 745, 745B-X, 845, 845B-X, 945 and 945B-X and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 645, 645B-X, 611.45 and 611.45B-X, which comprise correspondence and reports relating to South Africa, Rhodesia, Nigeria, Kenya, and other countries of British Africa. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/documents/academic/upa_cis/
3352_BrAfricaIntForAffs19551959.pdf

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. South Africa . Internal affairs and foreign affairs [microform]
Microfilm 05590
37 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DT770 .L47
Records from the U.S. Dept. of State, Record Group 59, [pt.1] 1945-1949, internal affairs, decimal number 848A and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 748A and 711.48A (14 reels) -- [pt.2] 1950-1954, internal affairs, decimal numbers 745A, 845A and 945A, and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 645A and 611.45A (23 reels). These records comprise correspondence and reports. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/documents/academic/upa_cis/
11278_CFSouthAficaIntForAffs1950-1954.pdf

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. South Africa, 1955-1959 [microform] : internal affairs
MICROFILM 10579
14 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DT1938 .C664
Records from the U.S. Dept. of State, Record Group 59, decimal numbers 745A, 845A, and 945A, which comprise correspondence and reports. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/documents/academic/upa_cis/
3357_SouthAfricaIntForAffs1955-1959.pdf

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. South Africa, 1960-January 1963 [microform]: internal affairs
Microfilm 11685
17 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DT1938 .C663 2000
Decimal numbers 745A, 770X, 845A, 870X, 945A, and 970X, and foreign affairs decimal numbers 645A, 670X, 611.45A, and 611.70X. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/documents/academic/upa_cis/3361_CFSoAfr60-63IntFor.pdf

John F. Kennedy national security files, 1961-1963: Africa History Vault
Replaces RECAP Microfilm 06408 and RECAP Microfilm 11967. This collection comprises documents on U.S. foreign policy and international relations from the John F. Kennedy Library, including correspondence and reports.

Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files, 1963-1969: Africa History Vault
Replaces Microfilm 06394 and RECAP Microfilm 11969
This collection comprises documents on U.S. foreign policy and international relations from the Lyndon B. Johnson Library, including correspondence and reports.

Richard M. Nixon national security files, 1969-1974: Africa History Vault
Replaces MICROFILM 11969. This collection comprises documents on U.S. foreign policy and international relations from the Library, including correspondence and reports.

South Africa [microform]: the making of U.S. policy, 1962-1989
Microfiche 1818
439 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E183.8.S6 S687
This collection documents U.S. policy related to South Africa, using declassified documents from the Dept. of State and other U.S. government agencies. See http://nsarchive.chadwyck.com/collections/SAintro.jsp for an introduction to the digital edition of this collection, which is a part of the Digital National Security Archive.

Africa, special studies, 1962-1980 [microform]
Microfilm 05574
7 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DT30.5.K47.
This collection comprises studies prepared by a variety of government and non-governmental organizations to inform U.S. policy making. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=751

Africa, special studies, 1980-1985 supplement [microform]
Microfilm 06409
11 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DT30.5 .K47 Suppl.1
See above.

Africa, special studies, 1985-1988, supplement [microform]
Microfilm 10223
10 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DT30.5 .K472
See above.

Africa, special studies, 1989-1991, supplement [microform]
Microfilm 10224
10 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DT30.5 .K473
See above.

Africa, special studies, 1992-1994, supplement [microform]
Microfilm 10533
10 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DT30.5 .K474
See above.

Librarian

Alain St. Pierre
Contact:
1-6F.4
Firestone Library
Princeton, NJ 08544
(609) 258-2964