Skip to main content

Native American history

Starting points

Bibliography of Native North Americans
The most important index to current scholarly work in this field. Citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and government documents.

Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas. Volume 1: North America. Edited by Bruce G. Trigger, Wilcomb E. Washburn. Cambridge, England ; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996.
Firestone E77 .N62 1996
Note: there are also volumes for Mesoamerica (F1219 .M67 2000) and South America (F2229 .S687 1999).

A companion to American Indian history [electronic resource]. Edited by Philip Deloria & Neal Salisbury. Oxford : Blackwell, 2004.

Guide to records in the National Archives of the United States relating to American Indians. Compiled by Edward E. Hill. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981 [i.e. 1982] Rare Books: Western Americana Collection (WA) Z1209.2.U5 H54 1982
A thorough description of primary sources for Native American history in the National Archives. Arranged by government agency, this guide provides exceptionally good information about the context in which the records were produced and the agencies themselves. Also indicates which records are available in microform or print.

American Indian Histories and Cultures
Wide variety of materials relating to American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico, from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection. Covers pre-contact through the mid-20th century.

Librarian for (United States) History & African American Studies

Steven Knowlton