Using Princeton's Electronic Resources
Whenever you want to use any of Princeton's electronic resources--databases or full-text periodical or newspaper articles, for instance--and you are not on campus, you must authenticate yourself via your Princeton NetID (your e-mail address) and password. Follow the instructions for setting up a VPN connection or using our proxy server that appear under the Connect from Off Campus link on the library's home page, http://library.princeton.edu/.
Historical Dictionary
| Uniform title: | Oxford English dictionary (Online) |
|---|---|
| Title: | Oxford English dictionary [electronic resource]. |
| Published/Created: | [Oxford ; New York, N.Y.] : Oxford University Press, c2000- |
| Electronic access: | http://dictionary.oed.com/entrance.dtl |
This famous and indispensable reference work also exists in 20 volumes, published in 1989. There are sets in the Trustee Reading Room and in the Scribner Room in Firestone, with the call number PE1625 .O87 1989q both places. However, the online version contains almost twenty years of new words and new senses of "old" words, so you may prefer that. I suggest you bookmark its url for future use in other course and research projects.
Biographies of Famous Victorians
| Uniform title: | Oxford dictionary of national biography (Online) |
|---|---|
| Title: | Oxford dictionary of national biography [electronic resource]. |
| Edition: | Online ed. |
| Published/Created: | Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2004- |
| Electronic access: | http://www.oxforddnb.com/subscribed/ |
This essential work--often referred to as "the DNB" or "the Oxford DNB"--is theplace to look for longish scholarly entries on the life, work, reputation, and influence of anyone who is (a) British, in the largest sense of the term; (b) renowned for any reason; and (c) deceased. Each entry is signed and provides a basic bibliography of writings by and about the biographee. The printed version exists in 60 volumes in the Trustee Reading Room of Firestone, with the call number DA28 .O95 2004.
Note that if you do not find someone in the Oxford DNB, you should confer with your professor or a reference librarian about other places to look, of which there are many, but this should always be your first thought. (The equivalent work for famous dead Americans, by the way, is called the American National Biography, also available electronically and in print.)
Specialized Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era. Danbury, CT: Grolier Academic Reference, 2004. 4 vols.
Location: General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone [Trustee Reading Room]
Call Number: DA550 .E527 2004
=======================================================================
Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia. New York: Garland, 1988.
Location: General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone [Trustee Reading Room]
Call Number: DA550 .V53 1988
=======================================================================
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000. New York: Scribner, 2001. 6 vols.
Location: General and Humanities Reference (DR). Firestone [Trustee Reading Room]
Call Number: HN373 .E63 2001; also electronic, look in the Main Catalog to get the link
Mary George |
Mary George
Senior Reference Librarian
A-12-J-1 Firestone Library
(609) 258-3254
For appointments: http://wass.princeton.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Generalist; Library Science
Willow Dressel
Assistant Engineering Librarian
206 Friend Center
(609) 258-3237
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait