Skip to main content

Energy - Supply, Demand, and Pricing

Electricity


United States. Energy Information Administration.  Electricty
Official energy statistics from the United States government on electricity sales, revenue, prices, electric power plants, generation, fuel used, costs, trade and reliability, demand, and environmental impact. Includes some international data. Includes data from 1990+ on information such as peak load, generation, electric purchases, sales, revenues, customer counts and demand-side management programs, green pricing and net metering programs, and distributed generation capacity down to the utility company.  Data can also be found in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets including the State Energy Data System.

International Energy Agency.
Detailed international data on
electricity, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development,world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies. For forecasts also see World Energy Outlook.

SNL EnergyCovers more than 9,000 power plants; 3,000 North American energy companies; 1,700 active coal mines and 120 gas pipelines.  Provides detail on financials, supply and demand fundamentals, hourly market pricing and rate cases. Best source for pricing data. Registration from a Princeton domain is required.  Existing users login. A plugin is needed to download data.

Databases related to the power industry (electricity and alternative energy), the latest news and deals, company profiles and opinions and research reports. Includes power plants, transmission and distribution, deals and project finance. Includes data on the global smart grid industry (market value, volume, average price and market share, while projects analysis covers the strategies and technologies implemented in historic, active and upcoming projects).

Electricity Pricing Sources:

United Nations.
(United Nations Collection) XVII.series W - No. 1 (1976/81)-no. 17 (2008)
Energy balances ... and electricity profiles ... for selected developing countries and areas.
Provides production of primary energy, balances, energy converted, transfers, consumption for coal, briquettes and cokes, other solid energy, petroleum, and natural gas, derived gases, and electricity. 2008+ online.
 
United Nations.
(United Nations Collection) XVII.series J - (1952-1978)
World energy supplies.
First volume has select statistics for 1929-1950.  Provides production and distribution of solid fuels, liquid fuels, gas, and electricity.   Continued by Yearbook of world energy statistics and Energy Statistics Yearbook.
 

World Development Indicators
In addition to supplying economic and social data, environmental data including land use and agricultural production, energy production and use, and emissions. Data as early as 1960.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Includes statistics from various agencies on electricity pricing, production, and consumption. 

World Bank. Data and Statistics. Environment.
Various international, regional, and country data on various aspects of the environment including various factors on electric power.

Environmental Data Explorer (United Nations Environment Programme Data portal)
Portal to a wealth of international and regional data on many aspects of the energy including electric power.

World Resources Institute (environmental think tank)
The World Resources Institute's mission is "to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth's environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations".
Includes datasets on energy and resources including electricity. 


One-Minute Resolution Domestic Electricity Use Data, 2008-2009
Includes electricity data measured at 1-minute resolution. Each dwelling was fitted with a single meter covering electricity use of the whole dwelling, however, the 1-minute resolution allows the switching of individual domestic appliances to be observed. Also includes the results of a dwelling characteristics survey which was completed for each dwelling detailing its characteristics and the types of appliances & lighting installed. To obtain a free account please register with the UKDA.
Sample Size: 22 Private dwellings in the East Midlands of England.