International
Databook of International Labour Statistics [2009]
Comprehensive statistical annual from a variety of sources in different countries: 145 tables on 1) economy and business; 2) population and labour force; 3) employment structure; 4) unemployment, unemployment insurance and employment adjustment; 5) wages and labour costs; 6) hours of work and working-time arrangements; 7) labour union, industrial relations and occupational accidents; 8) education and human resources development; 9) worklife and welfare.
Eurobarometer
The European Continuous Tracking Survey (CTS) has been carried out since January 1996. It consists of some 200 telephone interviews done in each member state, each week, 44 weeks a year. Regular releases of these results are published in Europinion reports. The Keyword link leads to the summaries of the surveys arranged alphabetically by subject. A survey on whether it is good or bad for the European Union to be involved in policies to reduce the level of unemployment is listed first under the French "chomage" with "unemployment" listed below. From the summary, one has the choice to link to the question asked with a table of responses, or to a graph of the responses to the question.
Eurostat
There is a direct link to Online Indicators from the home page of the Statistical Office of the European Communities. At the moment the Euro-Indicators link contains monthly and quarterly data from the mid-1990's available online. Labor-related indicators include compensation of employees, gross wages and salaries, total employment (in the total economy and in industry, manufacturing, and construction), wage and salary earners (national accounts concepts), and unemployment (ILO definition). The page also links to a release calendar for Euro indicators. The page for main EU statistical indicators organizes its links by themes. Under General Statistics is a link for harmonized unemployment rates.
International Labour Office. Yearbook of labour statistics
Geneva : The Office, 1935/36+
(F) HD7801.I6 A36
(SSRC) current volume only
For 108 countries presents statistics on labor force, employment, unemployment, ages, hours of work, prices, productivity, industrial disputes, industrial accidents, etc. Kept up-to-date by the International Labour Office's Quarterly Bulletin of Labour Statistics.
International Labour Office. Key Indicators of the Labour Market
Geneva: The Office: 1999+
(IR) HD5701 .K49q (1st-3rd editions)
Firestone Microforms Services COMPUTER FILE 505 (4th edition) 5th edition is web only. Makes labour market information and analysis easily accessible and facilitates the comparison of key elements of national labour markets. It contains a core set of 20 labour market indicators that cover various facets of decent work deficits around the world. Published every other year.
International Labour Organization (ILO)
There is no direct link from the ILO homepage to statistical sources. Most of the familiar ILO statistical sources are not yet available on the web. Statistics on a specific subject can be found using the ILO search engine, pairing the word "statistics" or "table" with the subject of interest. (A word of warning: "table of contents" with the subject also results from this search.) One useful and easy-to-use page is the Cost of Social Security - Basic Tables 1990-1996. The links to social security costs and expenditures worldwide, for at least one of the inclusive years, are listed alphabetically by country.
Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
OECD in Figures, which offers a snapshot of OECD economies through various subject categories, including employment, can be found through the Free Documents link on the OECD main page, as well as through the Statistics link. The other links under Statistics may more often refer only to publication information for the print or electronic product and not actually provide actual text or data. Also, the currency of the data varies depending on the link chosen. For example, the Standardized Unemployment Rates graph and table listed as the newest update under the Labour Force Statistics link dates to April 1997. Under the Frequently Requested Statistics link, one can find an archive of these figures dating back to the March 1996 news release and as current as December 1998. The country graphs found on the Main Economic Indicators page include a graph for Labour Market showing the unemployment rate for the selected country over four years. The figures and some of the text are available in PDF format.
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. OECD employment outlook
(F) HD5701 .E446 (1983+)
(SSRC) current volume only
Provides annual assessment of labor market developments and prospects in member countries.
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. Labor force statistics
(F) HD5764.O67 (1950/62+)
(SSRC) current volume only
Though the volume's focus is primarily on Europe, data about Australia, Canada, the United States, Japan, Iceland and Turkey are also included. Each volume is cumulative from 1968. Updated by Quarterly Labor Force Statistics.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Foreign labor statistics
This program publishes comparative information on labor statistics and developments abroad.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Handbook of U.S. labor statistics.
Lanham, Md., USA : Bernan Press, 1975+
(IR) HD8051 .A63
Contains tables of foreign labor statistics including labor force and unemployment, earnings and hours, prices and work stoppages.
Data
Which in turns gives the user six different choices:
- Economy at a Glance
- Most Requested Series, a simple checklist for selecting time series, should satisfy the majority of user requests and is more appropriate for browsing;
- Selective Access, which is best used for specific requests, provides step-by-step assistance in formulating and submitting queries to the BLS LABSTAT database in order to extract time series data based on selected demographic variables;
- Series Report, which allows experienced users to input BLS time series identifiers and data ranges for the quickest form of access to BLS time series data;
- News Releases, which contain pre-formatted data tables along with text explanations and are grouped according to major BLS statistical categories; and the
- FTP link to the BLS server is for users who need to transfer a large volume of time series data.
Surveys and Programs
Which display data by topic, including such important series as consumer and producer price indexes, major work stoppages, occupational injury and illness rates, and foreign comparative data. The following print series and URLs also provide a broad range of data.
BLS handbook of methods
Irregular
(SXF) HD8064.2 .U54
Outlines data collection procedures for various studies conducted and aids in the interpretation of BLS charts, diagrams, and tables.
Compensation and working conditions
Includes articles on occupational pay, employee benefits, employer costs for employee compensation, occupational injuries and illnesses, and other workplace issues. It also presents a statistical section from the Bureau's compensation and working conditions program.
Consumer price indexes
The Consumer Price Index (CPI) measures the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a fixed market basket of consumer goods and services. User fees (such as for water) and sales and excise taxes paid by the consumer are included; however, income taxes and investments (like stocks and life insurance) are not included.
Covered employment and wages
Commonly referred to as ES-202, this program produces a comprehensive series of employment and wage data for workers covered by State unemployment insurance laws and is a virtual census of payroll employment.
Current Population Survey
Conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics for more tham 50 years, the CPS is the primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S. population. Estimates obtained from the CPS include employment, unemployment, earnings, hours of work, and other indicators and are available by a variety of demographic and other characteristics.
Employee benefits survey
Provides comprehensive data on the incidence and detailed provisions of selected employee benefit plans in small private establishments, medium and large private establishments, and State and local governments.
Employer-provided formal training
A comprehensive base of information on the nature and incidence of employer-provided training, derived from a survey of over 12,000 establishments.
Employment and earnings: United States
Annual
(DOCS) L2.3:1312-11
Each volume is cumulative presenting data from 1909 to the present. Number of people employed and wages by industry, by SIC number.
Employment and earnings: states and areas
Annual
(DOCS) L2.3:2320
Same coverage as above for smaller regions and shorter time periods.
Employment and earnings
Monthly.
(F) HD5723.A122
Current data on employment and unemployment by sex, race, age, occupation. Wages and hours of work by occupation, regional breakdowns, labor turnover, job vacancy rates, and uninsured employment.
Employment cost trends
This program produces two ongoing surveys: the Employment Cost Index (ECI) and Employers' Costs for Employee Compensation (cost levels).
Employment, hours, and earnings by industry
The survey of payroll records covers over 390,000 businesses on a monthly basis and provides detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on nonfarm payrolls for the Nation, all States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and over 270 metropolitan areas.
Employment projections
The Office of Employment Projections develops and publishes estimates on the economy and labor market 10 to 15 years into the future. Included are projections of the labor force, potential gross domestic product, industrial output, and employment by industry and occupation.
Industry productivity
This program generates measures of labor and multifactor productivity for selected industries.
Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS)
This program provides monthly labor force, employment, and unemployment data for some 6,950 areas, including all States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico, metropolitan areas, counties, cities of 25,000 population or more, and all cities and towns in New England. Annual averages of employment status for regions, states and metropolitan areas are available by demographic groups, occupation, industry, and full- or part-time status.
Mass layoff statistics
Reports on mass layoffs, actions that result in workers separation from their jobs.
Monthly labor review.
Monthly
(F) HD8051.A5
(SSRC) current issues only
Contains current employment, price, hours and earnings, productivity and strike data.
National compensation survey - Wages
Provides a survey of employee salaries, wages, and benefits. The survey is designed to produce data at local levels, within broad regions, and nationwide.
National labor force statistics
Provides a comprehensive body of data on the labor force, employment, unemployment, and persons not in the labor force.
National Longitudinal Surveys
A set of surveys each of which has gathered information at multiple points in time on the labor market experiences of five groups of American men and women. Each group was selected to be representative of all Americans born during a given time period such that conclusions drawn about the sample group would be generalizable, when weighted, to the experiences of the larger population of like Americans.
Occupational employment statistics
This survey collects data on occupational employment of wage and salary workers by industry in nonfarm establishments.
Occupational Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF)
Summary data on the number and rate of injuries and illnesses by industry, as well as case and demographic data with additional details on the worker injured, the nature of the disabling condition, and the event and source producing that condition for those cases that involve one or more days away from work.
Quarterly labor productivity
This program develops productivity measures for the business, nonfarm business, and manufacturing sectors of the economy as well as for nonfinancial corporations.
Salary budget survey
Salary Budget Survey details budgeted salary increase data covering a broad spectrum of organizations.
(IR) HD4975 .A45 (1979+ )
Salary survey
Salary Survey, a quarterly report of starting salary offers, delivers that information—by curriculum, type of employer, and job function, to graduates with bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees.
(IR) HD4973.xC6a (1995+ )
U.S. Census Bureau
The Labor Force Statistics page includes texts of P70 reports, Dynamics of Economic Well-Being, available either in text or PDF format. There is also a link to the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP), the longitudinal survey of adults in households designed to improve the measurement of the economic situation of persons, families, and households in the United States, and the effects of Federal and state programs on the well-being of families and individuals. While the data extraction system is designed for the proficient data user, the link to Publications and Analyses contains statistical briefs, SIPP P-70 Reports, SIPP Working Papers and other publications available in either PDF or text format.
U.S. Employment and Training Administration. Employment and training report of the Secretary of Labor
Irregular
(DOCS) L37.23:(yr)
Contains extensive statistical section. Presents the "official line" on recent developments in the labor market and manpower policy.
U.S. Employment and Training Administration. Unemployment insurance financial data
Washington, D.C.: The Administration, 1983.
(SXF) HD5712.U5 U56 1983
U.S. Employment and Training Administration. Unemployment insurance statistics. (ceased)
[Washington] U.S. Dept. of Labor, Manpower Administration, 1967-1980.
(F) HD7096.U5 A21
(DOCS) L37.12
U.S. Social Security Administration. Social Security bulletin
Monthly
(F) HD7123 .A39 (1938+ )
Social Security (OASI), public assistance, unemployment insurance.
U.S. Social Security Administration. Annual statistical supplement to the Social Security bulletin
Annual
(DOCS) HE 3.3/3:
Contains more than 200 detailed statistical tables with information about Social Security beneficiaries and SSI recipients, Medicare and Medicaid, and other programs relevant to Social Security.
U.S. Social Security Administration. Fast facts & figures about Social Security
Annual.
(DOCS) HE 3.94: & SSA 1.26:
This chartbook provides answers to the most frequently asked questions about Social Security beneficiaries and SSI recipients.
United States
ACCRA Cost of living index
(Continues: Cost of living index)
Quarterly. Indianapolis, IN.: American Chamber of Commerce,
Researchers Association.
(F) HD6983.I57 (1992+)
(PF) HD6983 .I57 (current issues)
Provides cost of living data for 248 U.S. cities.
American almanac of jobs and salaries
by John W. Wright
New York : Avon Books, c2000
(IR) HD8038.U5 W74
Commentary and tables about all types of jobs from celebrities to contingent workers.
American salaries and wages survey
edited by Helen S. Fisher
Detroit : Gale Group, 8th ed.
(IR) HD4975.A763 2005
A compilation of occupations and salaries reported on national, state, MSA and city levels. Employment projections for the year 2005 are also included.
America's Career InfoNet
This site provides recent data about occupations, their wages (medians and midranges) for states and the country as a whole, and trends in employment and job growth. It also contains a profile for each state giving recent demographic, income and unemployment statistics, rankings of occupations by largest employment, fastest growing, highest paying, and most openings. The sources for the information include the Bureau of Labor Statistics and state departments and agencies.
Analysis of workers' compensation laws
Annual
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Chamber of Commerce.
(IR) KF3615.Z95 C43q (1956-1985)
1986-1997 in SRI microfiche A3840-2. (ceased)
Annual report of the National Labor Relations Board
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office.
(F) HD5503.A3265 (1936-1990)
(DOCS) LR1.1 (1984-2003) available in microfiche ASI 9584-1.
Also available online starting 2003+
Statistical appendix includes data on union elections and unfair labor practice cases.
Cost of living index
(Continued by: ACCRA cost of living index)
Quarterly
Indianapolis, IN.: American Chamber of Commerce, Researchers Association.
(F) HD6983.I57 (1988-1992)
Provides cost of living data for 248 U.S. cities.
LRA's Economic notes. (title ceased)
Bimonthly. NY: Labor Research Association.
(ReCAP) HC101 .E4 (1943-2000)
section includes figures on employment, wages, hours and conditions, corporate profits, plus tables of specialized data.
Employee benefits
Annual
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Chamber of Commerce.
(Annex A) HD4932.N6 C49 (1967-1984)
in SRI microfiche A3840-1 (1985+ )
Geographic reference report
Annual
Newport Beach, CA.: BTA Economic Research Institute.
7th edition (1993+ )
(IR) HD6983.G38
This report illustrates wage and salary differentials between 298 North American cities; reports cost-of-living differentials (for renters) summary data, demographic data, and competitive median wage & salary levels for eighty-eight benchmark positions.
Workers' compensation monitor
(Continues: John Burton's workers' compensation monitor)
Bimonthly. Horsham, PA: LRP Publications, 1988+
(IR) HD7103.65.U6 J63
Each issue includes tables of statistics for a variety of topics.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Educational Statistics' mission fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education. In addition numerous reports available in PDF format, the site provides access to seven statistical compendia:
1. Condition of Education which focuses on 60 key indicators of the condition and progress of education;
2. Projections of Education Statistics to ... a collection of projections including enrollment, graduates, classroom teachers, and expenditures;
3 & 4. The Digest of Education Statistics which includes more than 400 tables on a wide variety of education topics from a wide variety of sources and the Mini-Digest of Education Statistics, which gives a statistical portrait of education in the United States;
5. Youth Indicators a statistical compilation of data on family structure, jobs, education, and other elements;
6 & 7. Education Indicators: An International Perspective and Education in States and Nations, that focus primarily on comparisons between the United States and other industrialized nations with large economies.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
The Statistics & Data page for OSHA can be found through its subject index. Of particular note is the page on workplace injury and illness statistics that links to tables for incidence rates and fatalities. Some tables are text files that display immediately, while some are PDF files requiring Acrobat Reader.
Union membership and earnings data book:
compilations from the current population survey
Edited by Barry T. Hirsch and David A. Macpherson.
Annual
Washington, D.C.: Bureau of National Affairs, 1993+
(IR) HD6508.U546
Compilation of data on unionization and earnings within states and metropolitan areas, and for workers in narrowly defined industries and occupations. Figures include statistics on wage and salary employment, union membership and contract coverage, union density, weekly earnings, and average hourly earnings. There are breakdowns by private and public sector, manufacturing and non-manufacturing, and by detailed industry and occupation.
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is perhaps the richest source of domestic labor statistical data. As the Federal Government's principal data gathering agency in the field of labor economics with publications relating to employment and unemployment, productivity, prices, family expenditures, wages, industrial relations, and industrial safety, the BLS home page provides numerous links for obtaining data in a variety of ways. In some instances, the link leads to a table. In other cases, users must complete a form for the system to extract and produce a table of the desired data. Some of the useful links from the BLS home page are:
Economy at a Glance
Quick access to tables or graphs of current monthly economic indicators such as labor market, hours, earnings, productivity and prices on a monthly basis;
Publications and Research Papers
Which links to the Monthly Labor Review onlin from 1990, the Occupational Outlook Handbook, and Compensation and Working Conditions online from 2001.
Subject Guide |
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait