This is the "Encyclopedias and Dictionaries" page of the "Linguistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Linguistics  

Last Updated: Jun 27, 2012 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/content.php?pid=81030 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Titles

Bussmann, Hadumod. Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics. London; New York: Routledge, 1996.
(DR) P29.B8713 1996

Byram, Michael. The Routledge Encyclopedia of Language Teaching and Learning. London; New York: Routledge, 2000.
(F) P51 .R66 2000

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages. Woodard, Roger D., ed. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
(SC) (F) P140 .C36 2004

Collinge, N. E., ed. An Encyclopaedia of Language. London; New York: Routledge, 1990.
(F) P106.A46 1990

Crystal, David. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language. 2nd ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2003.
(F) PE1072.C68 2003

Crystal, David. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language. 2nd ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1997.
(F) P29.C64 1997

Crystal, David. A Dictionary of Language. 2nd ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2001.
(F) P29.C68 2001

Dalby, Andrew. Dictionary of Languages: The Definitive Reference to More than 400 Languages. London: Bloomsbury, 1998.
(DR) P29.D342 1998

Encyclopedia of language & linguistics. 2nd ed. Brown, Keith, ed.-in-chief. 14 vols. Amsterdam; London : Elsevier, 2006.
(F) P29 .E529 2006

The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics. Asher, R.E., ed.-in-chief. 10 vols. Oxford: Pergamon, 1994.
(DR) Oversize P29.E48 1994q
Illustrated articles, with bibliographies, on linguistics, languages and the history of the study of language.

Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online. Lubotsky, Alexander, ed.
Lexicon of the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European, including Latin, Greek, Slavic, Proto-Celtic, Old Frisian, Armenian, Hittite, Luvian, the Iranian verb and Proto-Nostratic (Proto-Germanic and Persian are forthcoming).

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. Bright, William, ed.-in-chief. 4 vols. 2nd ed. New York; Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.
(DR) P29.I58 2003
Articles, with bibliographies, on topics in linguistics and on language families.

Malmkjaer, Kirsten, ed. The Linguistics Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. London; New York: Routledge, 2002.
(F) P29.L52 2002

Note: (Updated quarterly.)
Considered the most authoritative and comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, and the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries.

Trask, R. L. A Dictionary of Grammatical Terms in Linguistics. London; New York: Routledge, 1993.
(F) P152.T7 1993
Covers terms from traditional grammar and the major modern theories.

Vachek, Josef. Dictionary of the Prague School of Linguistics. Amsterdam; Philadelphia: John Benjamin, 2003.
(F) P147 .V313 2003

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Dave Jenkins
    Contact Info
    B-17P-1 Firestone Library
    258-5811
    Office hours: Tuesday 2:00-4:00 pm
    Send Email
    Schedule an Appointment:
    WASS Calendar
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip