BibliographiesBiographical WorksDictionariesEncyclopedias
A-BC-FG-MN-RS-Y
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Asian American Studies  Tags: asian_americans  

A guide to print and electronic resources in Princeton University Library.
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/asianamericans  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Biographical Works             Print Page
  
 

Biographical Works

American Men & Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological, and Related Sciences    

Biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available.

 

American National Biography  (17th Century+)  

Authoritative bios of more than 18,000 prominent Americans who are deceased. Updated monthly. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name or various characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates.

 

Asian American autobiographers: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook, edited by Guiyou Huang; foreword by Shirley Geok-lin Lim.  Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 2001.  (F) PS366.A74 A85 2001

 

Biography Index  (1946+)  

Links to 500,000 biographical entries in standard reference sources. Also lists bio coverage in contemporary magazines from 1984 to present. Offers multiple search criteria: name, race, ethnicity, gender, occupation, date, and keyword. Especially strong for US.

 

Biography Reference Bank  (Ancient times to present)  

Combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries).

 

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography  (Classical antiquity to modern times.)  

Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists.

 

Contemporary Authors (Literature Resource Center)    

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

 

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Literature Resource Center)    

Extensive biographic and bibliographic data on authors from around the world. Search by name or ethnicity, genre, date, place, literary movement. Part of Literature Resources Online collection.

 

Distinguished Asian Americans: a biographical dictionary, edited by Hyung-chan Kim. Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 1999.  (F)

 

Grove Art Online (now part of Oxford Art Online)    

Articles on artists in all visual media, worldwide. Also covers noted art historians, patrons, collectors, curators, and arts administrators. Links to illustrations. Updated quarterly.

 

Grove Music Online  (antiquity+)  

Biographical articles for composers, performers, librettists, conductors and others. Includes entries from Grove dictionaries of jazz and opera as well.

 

Zia, Helen and Susan B. Gall. Notable Asian Americans. New York: Gale Research, 1995.   (DR) E184.O6 N67 1995 

 

Who's who among Asian Americans. Detroit: Gale Research Inc., 1994.  (DR) E184.O6 W467 

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait