Skip to Main Content

Latino/a/x Studies: Arts, Culture, Literature

Selected Introductory and Reference Works

  • The Oxford encyclopedia of Latina and Latino literature. Louis G. Mendoza, ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2020.
    Available online.
     
  • The Routledge companion to Latina/o popular culture. New York; London: Routledge, 2016.
    Available in print and online.
     
  • The Routledge companion to Latino/a literature. New York: Routledge, 2013. 
    Available in print and online.
     
  • The Greenwood encyclopedia of Latino literature.  Nicolás Kanellos, ed.  Westport: Greenwood Press, 2008. 3 vols.
    Available in print and online. 
     
  • Latinos in the Arts.  Otfinoski, Steven.  New York:  Facts on File, 2007. 
    Available in print and online.
     
  • Latino/a popular culture. Michelle Habell-Pallán and Mary Romero, eds. New York; London: New York University Press, 2002.
    Available in print and online.
     
  • Reading U.S. Latina writers: remapping American literature.  Alvina E. Quintana, ed. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2003.
    Available in print and online. 

Useful Databases

  • MLA International Bibliography 
    Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.
     
  • Latino Literature 
    Selection of full text of prose, poetry, plays, and other materials by Latino writers.  
     
  • Art & Architecture Source 
    An important resource containing indexing and/or full-text to hundreds of art, archaeology, architecture, design, media and related journals and books in English and Western European languages, as well as art reproductions and images.
  • Literature Resource Center 
    Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras. 
  • Music Index with Full Text 
    Includes international music periodicals covering classical, popular and world of music. Comprehensively cites articles and news about music, musicians and the music industry as well as book and concert reviews and obituaries.

Important note: The databases listed above are only a selection of the most important databases for Latino/a/x arts, culture, and literature. Additional resources can be identified in Databases by Subject under disciplines such as Art & Archaeology, Dance, Film Studies, Music, Sports, and Theater, among others.