Great for quick, scholarly overviews
Oxford Art Online: Gateway to several art historical resources, most notably, the Grove Dictionary of Art ("Grove Art Online") and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture (Print - 2004)
Companion to contemporary architectural thought (Print - 1993)
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism: Full-text articles on critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
Blackwell Reference Online: Features ~300 humanities and social science reference books published by Blackwell, incl. the Companion to... series.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Similar type of resource to Blackwell Reference. More European topics covered and features the full-text of Modern Architectural Theory: A Historical Survey 1673-1968.
Avery Index to Periodical Literature (1930s+): Indexes journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. All periods covered. A must for any architecture-related thesis topic.
RIBA: Searches articles in over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals details of books and audio visual materials acquired by the RIBA Library, including information on books available for loan to RIBA members.
ARTbibliographies Modern (1974+): Full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries added each year. Covers 19th century through the present.
America History and Life: Primary resource for scholarship on the history of North America. Indexes disserations, book chapters, and is essentialy to any humanities-based literature review. Historical Abstracts is the international counterpart to America History & Life - critical resource for non-North American topics.
Urban Studies Abstracts (1974+): Covers essential areas related to urban studies incl. urban affairs, community development, architecture, urban design and history, and other areas of key relevance. Covers 1950s through the present.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (1913+): General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.
Full List of Architecture Databases ~ Full List of Urban Studies Databases
