Art Index: Indexes and abstracts articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals published throughout the world on all areas in the arts. Be sure to cross search this with Art Index Retrospective. (PU access only)
Design and Applied Arts Index on WWW: Indexes over 500 design and craft journals and newspapers, and includes data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc. Includes many ceased early-20th century titles, with some selective late 19th-century coverage. Also includes the Design ProFILES, profiles of designers and design organizations. (PU access only)
Design PROfiles: Biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects. (PU access only)
Design Library: Online resource from the London Design Museum featuring information about the various architects, designers and technologies featured in the museum.
Encyclopedia Smithsonian: Art & Design: A subject guide compiling all Smithsonian & Cooper Hewitt related art and design online collections in the Smithsonian museums.
Material Connexion: (PU access only) Includes over 1,500 materials and processes. The database allows you to discover the latest and most exciting materials originating from a large spectrum of industries, typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. All the materials are juried into the database by a panel of material specialists and knowledgeable professionals. Covers current industrial manufacturing products, processes, and processed raw materials. Historical products or companies are not covered. As subscribers to Material Connexion, all Princeton affiliates have unlimited access to the Material Library in New York City. For more information about this, please contact Hannah Bennett
