Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Art FAQ  Tags: marquand art architecture archaeology library_faq  

Answers to Basic Information Questions at Marquand Library
Last update: Sep 24th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/artfaq  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal articles             Print Page
  
 
 

7. I need to find journal articles.

The main periodical indices for art, art history, architecture, and design are mostly available online.

  • Art Index (back to 1929; all arts; some full-text)
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (architecture and design; citations only)
  • ArtBibliographies Modern (modern and contemporary art; photography; indexes books also)
  • Bibliography of the History of Art (history of Western art to modern; scholarly; includes all Western European languages; citations only, for journal articles and books)
  • Design & Applied Arts Index/Design Abstracts Retrospective (design and decorative arts; European focus)
  • Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (1910-89) indexes art monographs, journals, sales catalogs, and festschriften; 1910-72 is not currently available electronically. See Marquand stacks Z5937.R4.

Once you have a citation for an article (e.g. author, title, name of journal, volume, year, page numbers):

  • Click on the orange Find it @ PUL (SFX) button next to the citation, if there is one. That will tell you if we have the article in an online format, and, if not, will link you into the library catalog to locate the print version in the stacks. [NOTE: this SFX link is not perfect, if no results are found, double-check by cutting and pasting the name of the journal and doing a title search in the catalog.] Make sure to check Princeton’s holdings to determine: 1. what years we have online, or 2. what years we have in the stacks (issues we are lacking should be noted), OR
  • Do a journal title search in the online catalog to find out the location of the journal in the stacks (and online).

There are many more databases available to you at Princeton. See the Articles & Databases page, and select the Subject Lists at the top to direct you to additional databases by subject.

 

Asst. Art Librarian

Profile ImageRebecca K. Friedman
Contact Info:
Marquand Library
609-258-3163 or -3783
Send Email

Subjects:
art history, architecture, archaeology

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait