This is the "Reference" page of the "Travel: literature and guidebooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Travel: literature and guidebooks  

Last Updated: Aug 7, 2013 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/travel Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian for History & History of Science

Profile Image
Elizabeth Bennett
Contact Info
Firestone Library, B-10-P
609-258-0496
Send Email
Schedule an Appointment:
https://wass.princeton.edu/pages/viewcalendar.page.php?cal_id=84 Note: during the summer, please email me for an appointment
 
 

Reference

Literature of travel and exploration: an encyclopedia. Jennifer Speake, editor. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003.
Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) G465.L565 2003
Useful not only as a source of background information, but also as a way to identify travel narratives about particular places. Also lists editions and translations of travel narratives in the entries for individual writers.

Trade, travel, and exploration in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia. Editors, John Block Friedman, Kristen Mossler Figg; associate editor, Scott D. Westrem; collaborating editor, Gregory G. Guzman. New York : Garland Pub., 2000.
Firestone HF1001 .T7 2000
This encyclopedia has solid coverage of many writers, places and concepts important in medieval travel. Includes suggested further readings, editions and translations of major authors/texts. More up-to-date than the entries in the Dictionary of the Middle Ages.

 

Trying to decide what to read?

A reference guide to the literature of travel, including voyages, geographical descriptions, adventures, shipwrecks and expeditons. Edward Godfrey Cox. Seattle, The University of Washington, 1935-49.
Firestone Library Z6011 .C87 [3 volumes]

When the going was good: a guide to the 99 best narratives of travel, exploration, and adventure. Grove Koger. Lanham, Md. ; Oxford : Scarecrow Press, 2002
Firestone Z6016.T7 K64 2002
Limited to narratives in English or English translation, and almost entirely from after 1800.

Global odyssey: a bibliography of travel literature, 1940 to the present. Compiled for the Center for the Study of Global Change by Dawn Childress. Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana University, 2006.
Firestone Library Z6011 .G563 2006

Global odyssey: a bibliography of travel literature before 1940. Compiled for the Center for the Study of Global Change by Melissa S. Van Vuuren and Angela Courtney. Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana University, 2006.
Firestone Library Z6011 .G56 2006
Bibliography of published travel narratives, in English, arranged geographically. Does not include guidebooks or guides for emigrants.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip