Manuscript CollectionsPhotograph Collections
Print resourcesWeb resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Hellenic Studies 

Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/content.php?pid=63391  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Photograph Collections             Print Page
  
 

Collections

Konstantinos Athanasiou Photographs Collection, 1870-1880  

G. Berggren Photographs Collection, circa 1880 (consists of photographs of Turkish sites taken by the Swedish photographer G. Berggren).

Frédéric Boissonnas Photographs Collection, circa 1900-1920  (consists of an open collection of photographs sites in Greece by Swiss photographer Frédéric Boissonnas).

Félix Bonfils Photographs Collection  (there are more Bonfils photographs of Greece, and some personal items among the Rudolf-Ernst Brunnow Papers)

Bartolomeo Borri Photographs Collection, 1890s. (consists of an open collection of photographs of Corfu Island, Greece, by Bartolomeo Borri, including several monuments and castle scenes).

Constantine Cavafy Photograph Collection, 1865-1933 (consists of photographs of the Greek poet Constantine Cavafy and members of his family that were collected by Ben Sonnenberg).

Dimitris Constantine Photographs of Greece

Early Photographs of Greece Collection, circa 1852-1920 (The Early Photographs of Greece Collection is an open collection for general photographs of sites and subjects in Greece. Included are panoramic photographs of the Parthenon, Athens, and Smyrna, along with other photographs of Greece). 

Marion Eppley Collection of World War I Photographs  (many taken at Thessaloniki)

L. Fiorillo Photographs Collection, circa 1870-1875 (consists of an open collection of photographs by the Italian photographer L. Fiorillo.  Included are seven albumen prints of Alexandria scenes, ca. 1870-1875).

Gülmez Frères Photographs Collection, 1880s (consists of an open collection of photographs by the Turkish photographers Gülmez Frères).

Norman Gilbertson Photographs of Greece, 1945-1953 (consists of photographs, with notes, taken by British relief worker Norman Gilbertson of the aftermath of an earthquake on the Ionian island of Cephalonia, mainly at its capital city of Argostolion, in August 1953).

Greek-American Community of New York Photographs, circa 1940s 

Moses Hadas Photographs of Greece, 1939-1946.

Mirhan Iranyan Photographs Collection, circa 1880 (This is an open collection of photographs by Mirhan Iranyan. Currently, there are 73 photographs of Constantinople [Istanbul], Turkey).

Istanbul Photographs Collection, circa 1880 (consists of an open collection of photographs of Istanbul [Constantinople] and surroundings, most of which are by the Istanbul photography firm of Abdullah Frères).

A. A. Kasphilis Photographs Collection, 1890 (consists of an open collection of photographs by Greek photographer A. Kasphikis. Included are portraits of men and women of Corfu, Greece, in traditional dress).

Petros Mōraitēs Photographs Collection, 1880s-1890s 

Ottoman Empire Photographs Collection, 1880s-1910s

Rhomaides Brothers Photographs Collection, 1880s-1890s (9 large (15" x 19.5") and 26 smaller (8 1/2" x 11 1/2") photographs of various sites of classical antiquities in Greece, including Athens, the Acropolis, Parthenon, Temple of Victory, and the Theater of Bacchus, taken by the Rhomaides Brothers. Many of the photographs are numbered, with brief captions in French).

Rubellin et Fils Photographs Collection, circa 1880 (consists of an open collection of photographs of Ottoman scenes by Rubellin et fils, a French photography studio based in Izmir, Turkey).

Sebah & Joaillier Photographs Collection, 1880-1890 (The Sebah & Joaillier Photographs Collection consists entirely of 19th-century photographs of Constantinople and the surrounding area).

George Seferis Photographs of Cyprus, 1953-1971 (bulk 1953-1955)  (consists of 138 photographs of Cyprus taken by Greek poet and Nobel Prize winner George Seferis)

Nelly Sougioutzoglou-Seraidare Photographs Collection, 1930s 

C. & G. Zangaki Photographs Collection, circa 1870-1875

N. Zōgraphos Photographs Collection, 1930

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDave Jenkins
Contact Info:
B-17P-1 Firestone Library
258-5811
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait