Headings
| General Works, Encyclopedias, and Atlases | Subject-specific resources | |||
| Bibliographies & Research Guides | Art and Archeology | Numismatics | ||
| Dictionaries & Encyclopedias | Epigraphy | Paleography | ||
| Biographical Sources | History | Philosophy | ||
| Geographic Sources and Atlases | History of Scholarship | Religion and Mythology | ||
| Language Dictionaries | Law, Roman | Textual Criticism and Intertextuality | ||
| Literature | Women in Antiquity | |||
| Meter |
Location Key:
| (Clas): 3-11-F Classics Collection | (SCG): 3-11-G Classics Graduate Study Room, Greek |
| (DR): 1-6-E General and Humanities Reference Collection | (SCL): 3-12-G Classics Graduate Study Room, Latin |
| (F): Firestone Stacks | (SC): 3-13-G Classics Graduate Study Room, General |
| (SA): Marquand Library, McCormick Hall | (SCP): 3-13-G Classics Graduate Study Room, Paleography |
Bibliographies and Research Guides
Bibliographies and Research Guides
Jenkins, Fred W. Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature. Westport, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 2006.
(DR) Z7016. J4 2006
A bibliographic guide to all aspects of Classical Studies with critical annotations.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Bowersock, G.W., Peter Brown, and Oleg Grabar, eds. Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University,1999.
(Clas) (F) (SH) DE5 .L29 1999
Cancik,Hubert, and Helmut Schneider, eds. Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World. Der Neue Pauly (see below). English edition, Christine F. Salazar, managing editor. Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2002-.
(SC) (DR) DE5 .N4813 2002
English edition of Der Neue Pauly, an updated and abridged version of the monumental Pauly-Wissowa. It consists of two parts: 1) Antiquity; 2) Classical Tradition. Covers sections on the Near East and Egypt as precursors to Greece and Rome, the influence exerted on the Celts, Germans, and Arabs as well as Byzantine Studies.
Cancik, Hubert, and Helmuth Schneider, eds. Der neue Pauly: Enzyklopädie der Antike: Altertum. Stuttgart, Germany: J. B. Metzler, 1996-. (SC) (SA) DE5 .P33 1996
A multivolume work in two sections; one dealing with antiquity (A-Z), the other with reception and classical scholarship (A-Z). This work is an updated version of Paulys Realenzyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft, but also contains much newly written material, and promises to be easier to use.
Cotterell, Arthur, ed. The Penguin Encyclopedia of Classical Civilizations. New York: Viking, 1993.
(F) CB9.P46.P463 1993
Hornblower, Simon, and Antony Spawforth, eds. Oxford Classical Dictionary. 3rd. rev. ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
(DR) (SC) (SHS) (SA) DE5 .O9 2003
The OCD is the standard single-volume English-language reference work on the classical world.
Lexikon der alten Welt. Zürich: Artemis Verlag, 1965.
(SC) 2508.583
The so called Artemis lexikon covers the Ancient Near East as well as the classical world. It offers guidance in identifying and locating manuscripts from the Latin names applied to them, lists of important sites and their excavators, weights and measures, and sayings
Pauly, August Friedrich von. Paulys Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. Neue Bearbeitung unter Mitwirkung zahlreicher Fachgenossen herausgegeben von Georg Wissowa. Stuttgart, Germany: J. B. Metzler, 1894-1972. Reihe I, 47 vols. in 48; Reihe II, 19 vols.
(SC) 2508.703
This is a fundamental work for every area of classical studies. A valuable feature is the exhaustive listing of ancient sources for each subject.
Speake, Graham. A Dictionary of Ancient History. Oxford: Blackwell, 1994.
(Clas) DE5.D53 1994
Ziegler, Konrat, and Walther Sontheimer. Der Kleine Pauly: Lexikon der Antike auf der Grundlage von Pauly's Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. Stuttgart, Germany: Alfred Druckenmüller, 1964-1975. 5 vols.
(DR) (SC) (SA) 2508.703 1964
Biographical Sources
Bowder, Diana, ed. Who Was Who in the Greek World, 776 B.C.-30 B.C. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1982.
(Clas) (SA) DF208 .W48 1982
Briggs, Ward W., Jr., ed. Biographical Dictionary of North American Classicists. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
(Clas) PA83 .B53 1994
Briggs, Ward W., Jr., and William M. Calder III, eds. Classical Scholarship: A Biographical Encyclopedia. New York: Garland, 1990.
(Clas) (SA) PA83 .C58 1990
Kroh, Paul, Lexikon der antiken Autoren. Kröners Taschenausgabe 366. Stuttgart: Alfred Kröner, 1972.
(F) 2950.0054
Luce, T. James, ed. Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome. New York: Scribner's, 1982. 2 vols.
(DR) (SC) (SE) 2950.124
Geographic Sources and Atlases
Geographic Sources and Atlases Bengtson, Hermann, and Vladimir Milojcic, eds. Grosser historischer Weltatlas. Teil 1. Vorgeschichte und Altertum. 6. Aufl. München: Bayerischer Schulbuch Verlag, 1978-1995. T.1-T.4
Cary, M. The Geographic Background of Greek & Roman History. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1949; (repr., Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1981).
(SC) 2960.411q (1954-84 ed.) (SA) Oversize G1030.G767 1978q
(F) 2959.241
Grant, Michael. A Guide to the Ancient World: A Dictionary of Classical Place Names. Bronx, NY: H.W. Wilson, 1986.
(Clas) DE25.G72 1986
Grant, Michael. Atlas of Classical History. 5th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1994
(Clas) G1033 .G65 1994
Hammond, Nicholas G.L., ed. Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity. Park Ridge, NJ: Noyes Press, 1981.
(DR) (SA) G1033 .A84 1981f and (SC) Oversize 2960.137f
Morkot, Robert. The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece. London; New York: Penguin, 1996.
(Clas) (SA) DF30.M674 1996
Talbert, Richard J. A., ed. Atlas of Classical History . New York: Macmillan, 1985; repr., London: Routledge, 1988.
(SA) G1033 .A833 1985
Talbert, Richard J.A., ed. Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2000.
(DR) (SC) (SHS) (SA) (SG) Oversize G1033.B3 2000f
Return to Headings
Language Dictionaries
Bauer, Walter. A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature. 3rd ed. Rev. and ed. Frederick W. Danker. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2000.
(Clas) PA881 .B38 2000
Lampe, G. W. H., ed. A Patristic Greek Lexicon. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1961
(SCG) 2522.558
Liddell, Henry George, and Robert Scott. A Greek-English Lexicon. 9th ed. Revised by Henry Stuart Jones with Roderick McKenzie and others. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1996.
(SCG) (DR) Oversize PA445 .E5 L6 1996q
Louw, Johannes P., & Eugene A. Nida, eds. Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament Based on Semantic Domains. Atlanta: Scholars Press, c1992.
(Clas) PA875.L59 1992
Sophocles, E.A. Greek Lexicon of the Roman and Byzantine Periods (from B.C. 146 to A.D. 1100). Memorial edition. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, c1887. (SCG) 2522.866
Woodhouse, S.C. English-Greek Dictionary: A Vocabulary of the Attic Language. 2d ed. with suppl. London: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1954.
(SCG) 2523.984.11
Return to Headings
Art and Archeology
Pedley, John Griffiths. Greek Art and Archaeology. New York : Harry N. Abrams, 1993; 1998 (2nd ed.).
(SA) DF130 .P44 1993 and 1998
Covers art and architecture from the Bronze Age through the Hellenistic period.
Richter, Gisela M.A. A Handbook of Greek Art. 9th ed. New York : Da Capo, 1987.
(SA) N5630 .R49 1987
Richter covers all aspects of Greek art from 1100 B.C.E. to 100 C.E.
Sherrat, Andrew, ed. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology. New York: Crown Publishers/Cambridge University Press, 1980.
(DR) CC165.C3 1980
Thomson, Nancy de Grummond. An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1995. 2 vols.
(SA) Reference (F) DE5 .E5 1995
Whitley, James. Archaeology of Ancient Greece. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2001.
(Clas) and (SA) DF77 .W537 2001
Return to Headings
Epigraphy
Bodel, John, ed. Epigraphic Evidence: Ancient History from Inscriptions. London; New York: Routledge, 2001.
(Clas) CN350.E77 2001
This work includes a useful appendix with guides to standard epigraphic collections, such as the Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum, Inscriptiones Graecae, Sylloge Inscriptionum Graecarum, and Inscriptiones Latinae Christianiae Veteres.
Inscriptiones Graecae. Berolini: G. Reimer, 1873-.
(SCP) Oversize 10212.49f
Brief Finding Aid
Woodhead, A. Geoffrey. The Study of Greek Inscriptions. 2nd ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1981.
(SCP) CN510 .K46 1981
This is the standard introduction to the field for readers in English. Provides a guide to the major corpora of published Greek inscriptions.
Return to Headings
History
Boardman, John, Jasper Griffin, and Oswyn Murray, eds. The Oxford History of the Classical World. New York: Oxford University Press, 1986; 1991.
(Clas) (DR) (SE) (SA) DE59 .O94 1986 (Clas) DG231.94 1991
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World, edited by Hubert Cancik and Helmut Schneider. Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2002-.
(Clas) (SC) DE5.N4813 2002
English edition of Der Neue Pauly, an updated and abridged version of the monumental Pauly-Wissowa. It consists of two parts: 1) Antiquity; 2) Classical Tradition. Covers sections on the Near East and Egypt as precursors to Greece and Rome, the influence exerted on the Celts, Germans, and Arabs as well as Byzantine Studies.
Cambridge Ancient History. 1st-3rd eds. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1924-.
(SC) (F) (SNE) 29551.234 (DR) (SA) D57.C25
CAH is the most comprehensive survey of ancient history available. It covers the prehistoric Mediterranean era (Mesopotamia, Egypt, the Minoan and Mycenaean periods to 324 C.E. when Constantine the Great became sole ruler of the Roman empire). CAH counts among its contributors the leading British classical and Near Eastern scholars of several generations, along with a number of notable American and European scholars. Political, social, economic, cultural history. Maps and genealogical table. Extensive bibliographies. Plates appear in separate volumes. It is somewhat difficult to use because of numerous revisions. As a result its parts are now in various editions. Please see the table of contents of most recent editions:
Lexikon der alten Welt. Zürich: Artemis Verlag, 1965.
(SC) 2508.583
The so called Artemis lexicon offers guidance in identifying and locating manuscripts from the Latin names applied to them, lists of important sites and their excavators, weights and measures, and sayings.
Oxford Classical Dictionary. Hornblower, Simon and Antony Spawforth, eds. 3rd. rev. ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003 (1996).
(DR) DE5 .P332 1980 (SC) (SCG) (SCL) 2508.703.22 1980
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization. edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
(Clas) DE5.O92 1998
Abridged version of the 3rd edition of the OCD.
Speake, Graham. A Dictionary of Ancient History. Oxford: Blackwell, 1994.
(Clas) DE5.D53 1994
Return to Headings
History of Scholarship
Briggs, Ward W., Jr., ed. Biographical Dictionary of North American Classicists. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
(Clas) PA83 .B53 1994
Briggs, Ward W., Jr.,and William M. Calder, III, eds. Classical scholarship : a biographical encyclopedia . New York : Garland Pub., 1990.
(Clas) (SA) PA83 .C58 1990
Calder, William M., III, and Daniel J. Kramer. An Introductory Bibliography to the History of Classical Scholarship Chiefly in the XIXth and XXth Centuries. Hildesheim, Germany: Georg Olms, 1992.
(SC) (SA) Z7016 .C34 1992
Calder, William M., III, and Daniel J. Kramer. Supplementary Bibliography to the History of Classical Scholarship Chiefly in the XIXth and XXth Centuries. Bari: Dedalo, 2000.
(Clas) (SC) Z7016 .C355 2000
Pfeiffer, Rudolf. History of Classical Scholarship from the Beginnings to the End of the Hellenistic Age. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1968.
(F) 2979.715
Pfeiffer, Rudolf. History of Classical Scholarship from 1300 to 1850. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1976.
(F) 2979.715.2
Sandys, John Edwin. A History of Classical Scholarship . Cambridge, England: University Press, 1908-1921; repr., New York: Hafner, 1958. 3 vols.
(SC) 2504.802.11
The standard work on the history of classical scholarship covering the field from the sixth century B.C.E. to the end of the nineteenth century.
Return to Headings
Law, Roman
Barry, Nicholas. An introduction to Roman law. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1962.
(F) 7639.675
Berger, A. Encyclopedic Dictionary of Roman Law. Union, NJ: Lawbook Exchange, 2002.
(Clas) KJA56.B47 2002
Offers a guide to the technical terminology of Roman law.
Bruns, C.G., ed. Fontes Iuris Romani Antiqui. Freiburg: I.C.B. Mohr, 1887.
(SCP) 7630.21.14
Pars 1: Leges; Pars 2: Negotia; Pars 3: Scriptores.
Corpus iuris civilis. Krueger, P, and Th. Mommsen, eds. Berlin: Weidmann, 1970-1972. 3 vols.
(SCL) (SH) (F) 7633.1900
Edition of the largest pre-modern law collection. Google Books: v.1 (1872) Institutiones/Digesta; v.2 (1888) Codex; v.3 (1895) Novellae
De Zulueta, Francis. The Institutes of Gaius. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1946-1953.
(F) 7632. 1946
2 vols. Pt. 1: Text with critical notes and translation. Pt. 2: Commentary.
De Zulueta, Francis. Supplement to the Institutes of Gaius. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1935.
(F) 7632. 1935
Digest of Justinian. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania, 1998. 2 vols. Rev. English translation edited by Alan Watson.
(Clas) KJA1112.2 1998
Digest of Justinian. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1985. 4 vols. Latin text edited by Theodor Mommsen. English translation edited by Alan Watson.
(SCL) KBD.D5313
The translation contains a number of errors; some of which have been corrected in the revised edition (see above).
Gordon, W. M. and O. F. Robinson (translators). The Institutes of Gaius. London: Duckworth, 1988.
(Clas) KJA882. A34 A4 1988b
Riccobono, S., Baviera, J. [et al.], eds. Fontes iuris Romani antejustiniani. Florence: Barbera, 1940-43. 3 vols. 2nd rev. and expanded edition.
(SCL) 7630.353.11
The Theodosian Code and Novels, and the Sirmondian Constitutions. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1952.
(SCL) (F) Oversize 7632.259.1952q
Includes commentary, glossary, and bibliography.
Return to Headings
Literature
Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome, edited by T. James Luce. New York: Scribner, 1982.
(SC) 2950.124 (DR) PA3002.A5 1982:
Essays by specialists from the U.S., U.K., Canada, and Israel. The essays are 10-50 pages in length. The work lists major editions, commentaries, and translations. Offers a good introduction to major authors.
Berkowitz, Luci, and Karl A. Squitier. Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Canon of Greek Authors and Works. 3d ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1990.
(SCG) Z7021 .B47 1990 (DR) (SCG) Z7021.B47 1986 (2nd ed.)
This work lists the source editions for authors and works included in the TLG database. The Canon covers more than 3,000 Greek authors and more than 9,000 individual works. In most cases, what is considered the best available critical edition is cited.
Cambridge History of Classical Literature. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1982, 1985. V. 1 Greek Literature (DR) (SCG) (SE) PA3052 .G73 1985
V. 2 Latin Literature (DR) (SE) PA6003 .L3 (SCL) 2952.566
Literary emphasis rather than historical or biographical. Begins with a chapter on the reception of Latin and Greek literature ("Readers and Critics"). Lists major editions, commentaries, and translations.
Dihle, Albrecht. Greek and Latin Literature of the Roman Empire: From Augustus to Justinian. Translated by Manfred Malzahn. London; New York: Routledge, 1994.
(Clas) PA3001 .D5413 1994
Also includes late antiquity.
Dihle, Albrecht. A History of Greek Literature: From Homer to the Hellenistic Period. Translated by Clare Krojzl. London; New York: Routledge, 1994.
(Clas) PA3057 .D5313 1994
Howatson, M.C. The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1991.
(DR) (Clas) (SPC) (RS) (SE) PA31 .H69 1991
Entries cover persons (authors and historical figures), literary and mythological characters and individual literary works.
Lesky, Albin. A History of Greek Literature. Translated [from the 2nd German ed.] by James Willis and Cornelis de Heer. London: Methuen, 1966.
(SCG) (F) 2951.581.1966
Nickel, Rainer. Lexikon der antiken Literatur. Düsseldorf: Artemis & Winkler, 1999.
(SC) PA31 .N53 1999
Rutherford, Richard. Classical Literature : A Concise History. Malden, MA : Blackwell, 2005.
(Clas) PA3001 .R88 2005
Schmid, Wilhelm and Otto Stählin. Geschichte der griechischen Literatur. München : Beck, 1929- 1948.
(F) (SCG) 2507.43.7.16
The most complete and and detailed history of Greek literature.
Return to Headings
Meter
Halporn, James W. The Meters of Greek and Latin Poetry. Indianapolis: Hackett, 1994.
(Clas) PA186.H25 1994
Includes a table of meters and a glossary of technical terms.
Return to Headings
Numismatics
Byzantine Coinage Collection, 498-1453.
Special Collections. Manuscript Division in Firestone.
700 coins. Organized by emperor. Consists of Byzantine coins beginning from 498 A.D. to the fall of Constantinople (1453). To the current 1710 pieces should be added the approx. 2980 Byzantine copper coins from the excavations at Antioch-on-the-Orontes (Antakya) which are now stored in the University Library. For a brief account of the Library's Byzantine coins see Byzantium at Princeton. Princeton: Dept. of Art and Archaeology, Princeton University, The Art Museum, Princeton University, Princeton University Library, Dept. of Rare Books and Special Collections, 1986, edited by S. Curcic and A. St. Clair, 97-107 (SA) N6250.B99. The Antioch coins have been cataloged by D. B. Waage in Antioch-on-the-Orontes IV. Princeton: Princeton, Pub. for the Committee by the Department of Art and Archeology; [etc., etc.], 1952
(F) (SA) Oversize Oversize N5460 .A63q.
Catalogues of the Greek Coins in the British Museum.
(SCP) 1031.211...
Italy, 1873; Sicily, 1876; Thrace, 1877; Macedonia, 1879; Thessaly-Aetolia, 1883; Central Greece, 1884; Attica-Aegina, 1888; Corinth, 1889; Peloponnese, 1887; Crete, 1886; Pontus-Bithynia, 1889; Mysia, 1892; Troas-Aeolis, 1894; Ionia, 1892; Caria and islands, 1897; Cilicia, 1900; Cyprus, 1904; Galatia-Cappadocia-Syria, 1899; Seleucids, 1878; Phoenicia, 1910; Palestine (Judaea), 1914; Arabia-Persia, 1922; Parthia, 1903; Ptolemies, 1883; Cyrenaica, 1927.
Carlton, R. Scott. The International Encyclopedic Dictionary of Numismatics. Iola, WI: Krause Publications, 1996.
(F) CJ67.C37 1996
Clain-Stefanelli, Elvira E. Numismatic Bibliography. München : Battenberg, 1985.
Rare Books: Numismatics Collection: Reference Z6866 .C44 1985
Doty, Richard G. The Macmillan Encyclopedic Dictionary of Numismatics. New York: Macmillan, 1982.
(F) CJ69.D67 1982
Goodacre, Hugh George. A Handbook of the Coinage of the Byzantine Empire. London: Spink, 1965 [c1957].
(F) (Annex) 1033.401.11
Howgego, C. J. Ancient History from Coins. London; New York: Routledge, 1995.
(F) CJ335.H7 1995 and Electronic Access
The Princeton University Numismatic Collection
The Roman Imperial Coinage. 9 v. in 12. Edited by Harold Mattingly ... [et al.]. London: Spink & Son, c1923-1981.
(F) (SCP) (Annex) 1032.623
v. 1. Augustus to Vitellius -- v. 2. Vespasian to Hadrian -- v. 3. Antoninus Pius to Commodus -- v. 4, pt. 1. Pertinax to Geta -- v. 4, pt. 2. Macrinus to Pupienus -- v. 4, pt. 3. Gordian III-Uranius Antoninus -- v. 5, pt. 1. [Valerian I to the Interregnum] -- v. 5, pt. 2. [Probus to Amandus] -- v. 6. From Diocletian's reform to the death of Maximinus -- v. 7. Constantine and Licinius A.D. 313-337 -- v. 8. The family of Constantine I, A.D. 337-364 -- v. 9. Valentinian I-Theodosius I.
Sylloge nummorum Graecorum.
(SCP) CJ314...
These are complete photographic records of large or medium-sized public (a few private) collections in different countries.
Return to Headings
Paleography
Richard, Marcel. Répertoire des bibliothèques et des catalogues de manuscrits grecs par Marcel Richard. 3rd ed. Turnhout: Brepols, 1995.
(F) Z6601.A1 R39 1995
Thompson, Edward Maunde. An Introduction to Greek and Latin Palaeography. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1912.
(F) (SCP) 1025.903.14
Still the standard manual in English on Greek palaeography.
Return to Headings
Philosophy
Bell, Albert A., Jr., and James B. Allis. Resources in Ancient Philosophy: An Annotated Bibliography of Scholarship in English, 1965-1989. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1991.
(DR) Z7125 .B39 1991
Brunschwig, Jacques and Geoffrey E. R. Lloyd. Greek Thought: A Guide to Classical Knowledge. Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2000.
(Clas) DF78 .S2813 2000
Cambridge Companion to Greek and Roman Philosophy. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2003.
(Clas) B111.C36 2003
Contains a glossary of philosophical terms. Covers the pre-Socratics to Late Antiquity.
Goulet, Richard, ed. Dictionnaire des philosophes antiques. Paris: CNRS, 1989-.
(SC) B112 .D54
Even minor or obscure figures are included. Selective bibliography of modern editions and studies. Not complete.
Guthrie, W.K.C. A History of Greek Philosophy. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1962-1981. 6 vols.
(F) (SCG) 6033.421.4
Still the standard work in English on Greek philosophy from the Pre-Socratics to Aristotle.
Inwood, Brad, ed. The Cambridge Companion to the Stoics. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2003.
(Clas) B528 .C26 2003
Peters, F. E. Greek Philosophical Terms: A Historical Lexicon. New York: New York University Press, 1967.
(F) (SCG) 6007.711
Zeyl, Donald J. ed. Daniel T. Devereux and Phillip T. Mitsis, assoc. eds. Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997. (SC) (DR) B163.E53 1997
Return to Headings
Religion and Mythology
Grant, Michael, and John Hazel. Who's Who in Classical Mythology. London: Weidenfeld and Nicholson, 1973; 1996.
(Clas) BL715 .G68 1996 (SA) BL715.G68 Reference
Grimal, Pierre. Dictionnaire de la mythologie grecque et romaine. The Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Translated by A. R. Maxwell-Hyslop. Oxford; New York: Blackwell, 1986.
(DR) (Clas) (RS) BL715 .G713 1986
40 genealogical tables, maps, index.
Gruppe, O. Geschichte der klassischen Mythologie und Religionsgeschichte während des Mittelalters im Abendland und während der Neuzeit. Leipzig: Teubner, 1921.
(F) (SA) 2953.783.03
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC). Zürich: Artemis, 1981-. 7 vols.; 14 parts.
(SC) (SA Reference) N7760 .L49 1981
This multivolume set "is designed to give account of the present state of knowledge about the iconography of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman mythology from after the Mycenaean period to the beginning of the early Christian." Each volume is issued in two parts, one of text, the other of plates. It is the most comprehensive source of information about the depiction of classical myths in ancient art.
Reid, Jane Davidson. The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990's. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993. 2 vols.
(SA Reference) (SE) NX650 .M9 R45 1993
Rochelle, Mercedes. Mythological and Classical World Art Index: A Locator of Paintings, Sculptures, Frescoes, Manuscript Illuminations, Sketches, Woodcuts, and Engravings Executed 1200 B.C. to A.D. 1900 with a Directory of the Institutions Holding Them. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1991.
(F) (DR) (SA Reference) N7760.R63 1991
Roscher, Wilhem Heinrich. Ausfuhrliches Lexikon der griechischen und romischen Mythologie. Leipzig: B.G. Teubner, 1884-1937.
(SC) 2953.783 (F) BL715.R7
More comprehensive in scope than Grimal.
Thesaurus cultus et rituum antiquorum (ThesCRA) Basel: Fondation pour le lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae; Los Angeles: Getty Publications, 2004-.
(SC) (SA) BL727.T44 2004
V. 1. Processions, sacrifices, libations, fumigations, dedications -- v. 2. Purification, initiation, heroization, apotheosis, banquet dance, music, cult images -- v. 3. Divination, prayer, veneration, hikesia, asylia, oath, malediction, profanation, magic rituals, and addendum to vol. 2 Consecration -- v. 4. Cult places, representations of cult places-- v. 5. Personnel of cult, cult instruments-- [Suppl.1.] Abbreviations -- [Suppl.2.] Abbreviations. Index.
Return to Headings
Textual Criticism and Intertexuality
Garner, Richard. From Homer to Tragedy: The Art of Allusion in Greek Poetry. London; New York: Routledge, 1990.
(Clas) PA3136.G37 1990
Intertextuality: Greek and Roman Textual Relations, edited by Alison Sharrock and Helen Morales. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
(Clas) PA3521.I55 2000
West, M.L. Textual Criticism and Editorial Technique Applicable to Greek and Latin Text. Stuttgart: B.G. Teubner, 1973.
(SC) 2950.966
Offers a guide to common types of errors found in ancient and medival manuscripts. Also discusses the construction of the preface and critical apparatus and how relationships among manuscripts are established.
Return to Headings
Women in Antiquity
Blundell, Sue. Women in Ancient Greece. London : British Museum Press, 1995.
(Clas) HQ1134 .B58 1995
Clark, Gillian. Women in the Ancient World. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1989. (Clas) HQ1134 .C52
Fantham, Elaine, et al. Women in the Classical World: Image and Text. New York : Oxford University Press, 1994.
(Clas) HQ1127 .W652 1994
Kraemer, Ross S. Maenads, Martyrs, Matrons, Monastics: A Sourcebook on Women's Religions in the Graeco-Roman World. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1988.
(F) BL625.7.M34 1988
Return to Headings
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait