Headings
Location Key:
| (Clas): 3-11-F Classics Collection | (SCG): 3-11-G Classics Graduate Study Room, Greek |
| (DR): 1-6-E General and Humanities Reference Collection | (SCL): 3-12-G Classics Graduate Study Room, Latin |
| (F): Firestone Stacks | (SC): 3-13-G Classics Graduate Study Room, General |
| (SA): Marquand Library, McCormick Hall | (SCP): 3-13-G Classics Graduate Study Room, Paleography |
| (SHS): A-14-A Hellenic Studies Reading Room |
General Resources
About Greece. Athens: Ministry of Press and Mass Media, Secretariat General of Information, 1999.
(DR) (SHS) DF717.A64 1999
This handbook, in addition to offering a brief history of Greece, contains sections on the foreign policy of Greece, the book trade, environmental protection, mass media, legal system, women and politics, welfare, museums, festivals, etc.
Ambrosia: AMerican BRitish Online Search In Athens.
Union Catalogue of the Blegen and Gennadius Libraries of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens and the Libraries of the British School at Athens.
Archive Finder. Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
Catalogue of the Modern Greek Collection, University of Cincinnati Boston: G.K. Hall, 1978. (SHS) Oversize Z2281.C55 1978q
Catalogue of the Gennadius Library, American School of Classical Studies at Athens. 7 vols. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1968.
(SHS) Oversize Z2309.G46 1968q
Constantinidis, Stratos E., ed. Greece in Modern Times: An Annotated Bibliography of Works Published in English in Twenty-Two Academic Disciplines During the Twentieth Century. Lanham, Md.: London: Scarecrow Press, 2000-.
(DR) (SHS) Z2281.G73 2000
A truly interdisciplinary work as the field of Hellenic Studies itself. The sections include architecture, art, dance, drama and theatre, film (with a synopsis of many individual films), history, literature, music, philosophy, gender studies, law, political science, anthropology, education, sociology, economics, etc. There is an author-title and a subject index. A second volume is currently being worked on.
Drandakes, Paulos. Megale hellenike enkyklopaideia. 24 vols. Athens: Phoinix, 1956-1965.
(SHS) Oversize AE29.M4 1957f
Greek Databases from the National Documentation Centre
Includes e.g. the Hellenic Ph.D. Dissertations Database.
Greek National Library. Hellenike ethnike vivliographia. Athens: Hellenike Vivliotheke, 1990-.
(SHS) Z2285.H44
The National Greek Bibliography issued annually by the Greek National Library.
Hellenic Studies Program Records, 1979-2003
The Program in Hellenic Studies Records document the activities of Princeton University's Program in Hellenic Studies from the establishment of the Samuel J. Seeger Hellenic Fund in 1979 through 2003. The records contain materials relating to fellowships, programs, and curriculum matters; and consist mainly of applications, budgets, correspondence, flyers, reports, and subject files.
Hellenikon Who's Who. Athens: Ekdotikos Organismos Hellenikon Who's Who, [1962?]-c1965. (SHS) DF750.H44
To "Hemerologion tes Megales Hellados" tou G. Drosine: Vivliographike parousiase. Athens: Syll. pros Diadosin Ophelimon Vivli¯on, 1986.
(F) DF701.H4433 D46 1986
Journal of Modern Greek Studies. Baltimore: John Hopkins University Press, 1983-. Semiannual.
(F) DF701.J687 and (SHS) Current issues
The only scholarly periodical to focus exclusively on modern Greece. The Journal publishes critical analyses of Greek social, cultural, and political affairs, covering the period from the late Byzantine Empire to the present.
Mega Hellenikon viographikon lexikon. Athens: Ekdosis "Viomechanikes Epitheoreseos", [1958-1962].
(F) (SHS) DF750 .M4 1958
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
The online catalog contains approximately 500,000 records available in the Research Libraries Information Network (RLIN) bibliographic database for archival and manuscript collections in research libraries, museums, state archives, and historical societies in the U.S.
Veremis, Thanos, & Dragoumis, Mark, eds. Greece. Rev. ed. (World Bibliographical Series, vol. 17.) Oxford; Santa Barbara: Clio Press, 1998.
(DR) (SHS) Z2281.V473 1998
This bibliography offers annotations to titles on flora and fauna, travel, religion, health, constitution, defence, statistics, science and technology, agriculture, food, etc.
Return to Headings
Art & Architecture
Antoniades, Anthony (correspondence in Stamo Papadaki Papers)
Architectural Illustrations of Theaters, 1905-1981. Graphic Arts Collection TC028.
Consists of etchings, photographs, newspaper clippings, and other printed matter relating to exteriors and interiors of theaters worldwide, including the United States, England, Greece, France, Italy, and Germany.
Art Index
Indexes and abstracts articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals published throughout the world on all areas in the arts.
Nicolas Calas (correspondence in Stamo Papadaki Papers)
Lexiko Hellenon kallitechnon: zographoi, glyptes, charaktes, 16os-20os aionas. Athens: Ekdot. Oikos "Melissa", c1997-c2000.
(SHS) Oversize N6902 .L49 1997q
Return to Headings
Church
Threskeutike kai ethike enkyklopaideia. Athens: Ath. Martinos, 1962-1968.
(F) 5440.904
Return to Headings
Cyprus
Nancy Crawshaw Papers (including photographs of Greece)
Also search Main Catalog: author "Crawshaw, Nancy" or title: "Printed matter collected by Nancy Crawshaw, [1930s]-1996."
Norman Gilbertson photographs of Greece, 1945-1953
Van Coufoudakis collection of printed materials relating to Cyprus, 1964-2000. Rare Books Off-Site Storage: Contact rbsc@princeton.edu
Return to Headings
Diaspora Studies
Catsumbis, Michael N. A Bibliographic Guide on Greeks in the United States, 1890-1968. Staten Island, NY: Center for Migration Studies, c1970.
(F) 10982.027
Greek Immigrants to the U.S. Some interviews in the Louis Adamic Papers
Return to Headings
Economics
Augerinos Bros. Company Records, 1905-1939 (Rare Books: Manuscripts Collection, Oversize C0199, no. 1174)
EconLit, 1969-.
Comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature (over 300 major economic journals and collected volumes) compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Over 90% of the articles are in English or include English summaries. Updated quarterly.
Return to Headings
Geography
Bengtson, Hermann, and Vladimir Milojcic, eds. Grosser historischer Weltatlas. T. 1. Vorgeschichte und Altertum -- T. 2. Mittelalter -- T. 3. Neuzeit -- T. 4. Neueste Zeit. 6. Aufl. München: Bayerischer Schulbuch Verlag, 1978-1995. T.1-T.4
(SC) 2960.411q (1954-84 ed.) (SA) Oversize G1030.G767 1978q
Maps of Greece, Cyprus, Eastern Europe, and the Balkans
Stamatelatos, Michael. Hellenike Geographike Enkyklopaideia. 3 vols. [Greece]: Ekdoseis Tegopoulos-Maniateas, [2000?].
(SHS) Oversize DF720.S75 2000q
Return to Headings
History
British Military Mission to Greece Operational Intelligence Files, 1948-1949.
Collection of ephemera, pamphlets, and newsletters on Greece and Southeastern Europe. Rare Books Off-Site Storage: Contact rbsc@princeton.edu
Historia tou hellenikou ethnous. 16 vols. Athens: Ekdotike Athenon, 1970-.
(SHS) Oversize DF759.H58 1970q
Ottoman Turkish Documents from Greece, 1829-1906.
Veremis, Thanos M., and Dragoumis, Mark. Historical Dictionary of Greece. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1995.
(DR) (Annex) DF802.V47 1995
Wagstaff, J.M. Greece: Ethnicity and Sovereignty, 1820-1994: Atlas and Documents. Slough: Archive Editions, 2002.
(SHS) (DR) (F) DF745 .W34 2002
Examines the concept of "the Great Idea" -- the expansion of territorial Greece to embrace ethnic and linguistic communities. Includes detailed narrative of historical events and dates, cross-referenced to the original proving documents (treatises, diplomatic letters).
Return to Headings
Language
Bampiniotes, Georgios. Lexiko tes neas hellenikes glossas. Athens: Kentro Lexokologias, 1998.
(SHS) PA1131.B36 1998
This is a recently published standard dictionary for Modern Greek.
Historikon lexikon tes neas hellenikes tes te koinos homiloumenes kai ton idiomaton. Athens: Typographeion "Hestia" K. Maïsner & N. Kargadoure, 1933-.
(SHS) 2527.116
Konstantinides, Anestes. Mega lexikon tes Hellenikes glosses. Athens: Ek tou Typographeiou ton Katastematon Aneste Konstantinidou, 1901-1906.
(SHS) Oversize PA441 .K6 1901q
Lexiko tes koines neoellenikes. Thessalonike: Aristoteleio Panepistimio Thessalonikes, 1998.
(F) Oversize PA1131.L49 1998q
Mega lexikon holes tes Hellenikes glosses. Athens: Ekdotikos Organismos N. Asemakopoulos, c[1964].
(SHS) PA1131 .M442 1964
MLA International Bibliography Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.
Stavropoulos, D.N. Oxford Greek-English Learner's Dictionary. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1988.
(DR) (SHS) (F) PA1139.E5 S83
A basic Greek-English dictionary.
Return to Headings
Literature
Beaton, Roderick. An Introduction to Modern Greek Literature. 2nd ed., rev. and expanded. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1999.
(F) (SHS) PA5225.B43 1999
This introduction covers literature from 1821 to 1992. There is an elucidating chapter on the "language question."
List of 19th & 20th Century Modern Greek Literary Journals at Princeton University, by Gisela Kam.
Capetanakis, Demetrios (in John Lehmann Papers)
Cavafy, Constantine (some unique holdings in the Edmund Keeley Papers) and the Center for Neo-Hellenic Studies.
To Dentro. Athens. 1978-. Bimonthly.
(F) AP85.D46 and (SHS) Current issues
Diavazo. 1976-. Athens. Monthly.
(F) Z2281.D5 and (SHS) Current issues
Dimaras, Konstantinos. A History of Modern Greek Literature (Historia tes neoellenikes logotechnias, translated by Mary P. Gianos). Albany: State University of New York Press, 1972.
(F) (SHS) PA5210.D513
A now classic in the field addressing Modern Greek Literature before the Turkish Domination; Hellenism from 1453-1669; 1669-1774; 1774-1820; the War of Independence and its consequences for literature; Greek romanticism; the "New School of Athens"; (after Palamas)-1922.
Dimaras, Konstantinos. See the Center for Neo-Hellenic Studies.
Elytes, Odysseas. The Collected Poems of Odysseus Elytis. Translated by Jeffrey Carson and Nikos Sarris; Introduction and Notes by Jeffrey Carson. Rev. and expanded ed. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005.
(F) PA5610.E43 A223 2005
See also: Edmund Keeley Papers.
Emperiokos, Andreas (some correspondence in the Stamo Papadaki Papers)
Greece in Print
Greece in Print from the Hellenic Literature Society in New Jersey lists books, many in English translation.
Nikos Kavvadias Papers. Please search MASC (Princeton University's Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections Database).
He Lexe. Athens: Ekdose Dieuthynse. 1981-. Bimonthly.
(F) PN9.L482 and (SHS) Current issues
Merry, Bruce. Encyclopedia of Modern Greek Literature. Westport, CT.; London: Greenwood Press, 2004.
(SHS) PA5210 .M44 2004
Moreas, Jean (some correspondence in the Stuart Merrill Collection).
Nikos Pappas and Rita Boume Papa Papers.
Philippides, Dia M.L. Census of Modern Greek Literature: Check-List of English-Language Sources Useful in the Study of Modern Greek Literature (1824-1987). New Haven, CT: Modern Greek Studies Association, 1990.
(F) (SHS) Z2294.C8 P46 1990
Excellent resource for anyone wishing to acquaint her/himself with the works by and about modern Greek authors in English.
Poiese. Athens: Ekdoseis Nephele. 1993-. Semiannual.
(F) PN1010.P65 and (SHS) Current issues
Polites, Linos. A History of Modern Greek Literature. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1973.
(F) (SHS) PA5210. P6
Should be used in tandem with Dimaras' work. The focus of Polites' work is somewhat different. He divides his history up in the literature before the Fall of Constantinople (11th-15th centuries); after the Fall (15th-17th centuries); the "Great Age of Cretan Literature (1570-1669); Modern Greek Enlightenment (18th century); the "Demotic Song"; te 19th-20th centuries (Solomos, Kalvos, Palamas (the "New Athenian School"); prose after 1880--the 'Genre" Story, the Language Question, Psycharis; Kavafis, Sikelianos (poetry up to 1930); The generation of 1930 in poetry and prose. There is an appendix with texts of poems quoted, chronological tables, and a select bibliography.
Ritsos, Giannes. See Edmund Keeley Papers.
Savvides, Georgios P. See the Center for Neo-Hellenic Studies
Seferis, George. Selected papers.
Sikelianos, Angelos Photographs of the 1930 Delphic Festival. Contains 25 postcard photographs depicting the Delphic Festival of 1930 in Delphi, Greece, taken by Nelly's Sougioutzoglou-Seraidare. The festivals of 1927 and 1930 were organized by Sikelianos. Please search MASC (Princeton University's Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections Database).
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
Includes most ancient Greek literary texts from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople in 1453 CE. The aim is to include all of Greek literature to the present.
Return to Headings
Media
ATLANTIS Collection
Consists of business records of Atlantis, a Greek language American newspaper published in New York City.
Herbert Adams Gibbons Papers
Herbert Adams Gibbons was a journalist and foreign correspondent. Consists of papers of Gibbons from the periods when he was a foreign correspondent (1909-1916) in Greece, Spain, Turkey and other Near Eastern countries, a serviceman with the American Expeditionary Forces in France (1917-1918), and a correspondent (1920-1931) for various American magazines in Europe, the Orient, and Africa.
Return to Headings
Music
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
1996 - Present (citations only); 1969 - 1995 (complete records with abstracts)
Return to Headings
Philosophy & Science
Philosopher's Index
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Return to Headings
Photography
The Getty: Early Photography in Greeceand the Mediterranean.
Photograph album of Greece, [ca. 1907].
Rare Books: Manuscripts Collection (MSS) C0938 (no. 27)
Photograph album of Greece and Turkey, [188-] and more.
(F) (SHS) Rare Books: Manuscripts Collection (MSS) C0199
Hellenic Studies Photograph Collections in Princeton University Library's Manuscript Division
Return to Headings
Society & Politics
European Union Documents
Web page with links to the European Union Documents in the Princeton University Library.
Greek Immigrants to the U.S. Some interviews in the Louis Adamic Papers.
Newspapers, digitized by the National Library of Greece
Adamantia Pollis Collection, (Collection of ephemera and serials on resistance organizations and activities against the Greek dictatorship of 1967-1974, Rare Books Off-Site Storage: Contact rbsc@princeton.edu). See also Adamantia Pollis Papers
Greek Posters and Prints Collection. Graphic Arts Collection GC096
Consists of approximately 65 prints and posters by contemporary Greek artists, including a portfolio of reproductions (1932) by Panagiotis Zographos about the Greek War of Independence and a portfolio (1990) of six colored lithographs by Manoles Charos. Other artists represented include Eudoxia Carayanni, Droungas, Moralis, and Jannis Tsarouchis. There are also six cartoons and posters of anti-American propaganda issued in England in 1970 by the National Union of Greek Students.
Semites, Kostas. Collection of ephemera and newspapers on resistance organizations and activities against the Greek dictatorship of 1967-1974. Rare Books Off-Site Storage: Contact rbsc@princeton.edu
Antonio Solaro Collection The Junta, 1967-1974. (Collection of ephemera and newspapers on resistance organizations and activities against the Greek dictatorship of 1967-1974, Rare Books Off-Site Storage: Contact rbsc@princeton.edu)
Return to Headings
Theater
Photographs of the 1930 Delphic Festival.
Theater playbill collections: Motter, Burgi, Princeton collection
Modern Greek Theatre Playbill Collection
Return to Headings
Travelers to Greece and the Levant
Travelers to Greece and the Levant
W.H. Bartlett Watercolors
Campagne du Levant: Travels to Greece, Turkey, Syria, Palestine, Israel, and Egypt. Includes 21 pencil and crayon drawings and one photograph.
Album of Mediterranean travels by an English family, 1926-1927. Rare Books: Manuscripts Collection C0938, no. 24.
Richard Hanmer Bunbury Letters to his Father, sent from the Mediterranean near Greece
John Dunn Gardner Papers, including notes re: the Ionian Islands.
Return to Headings
Women's Studies
Ephemeris ton kyrion. Athens: Grapheion tes Ephemeridos ton kyrion, 1887-1896.
(Annex A) Oversize HQ1725.5 .A17aq and (Rare Books) Oversize 2004-0868Q
Return to Headings
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait