Manuscript CollectionsPhotograph Collections
Print resourcesWeb resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Hellenic Studies 

Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/content.php?pid=63391  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Byzantine Studies             Print Page
  
 

Headings

General Resources                                      Language & Literature                               
Art & Archeology Law 
Church Numismatics 
Geography Prosopography
History Women's Studies 

 

Location Key:

(Clas): 3-11-F Classics Collection (SCG): 3-11-G Classics Graduate Study Room, Greek
(DR): 1-6-E General and Humanities Reference Collection               (SCL): 3-12-G Classics Graduate Study Room, Latin 
(F): Firestone Stacks (SC): 3-13-G Classics Graduate Study Room, General
(SA): Marquand Library, McCormick Hall (SCP): 3-13-G Classics Graduate Study Room, Paleography
(SHS): A-14-A Hellenic Studies Reading Room
 

General Resources

General Resources

L'Année philologique
Main index to all aspects of classical and Byzantine studies, including language, literature, history, art, archaeology, law, science, philosophy. Indexes monographs, journal articles, Festschriften, conference proceedings, published doctoral theses, book reviews.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Covers many of the world's leading arts and humanities journals in Byzantine and Modern Greek studies and all of the humanities.

Byzantine Studies at Dumbarton Oaks

Byzantinische Zeitschrift. München: C.H. Beck, 1892-.
(F) (SA) (PR) 2500.221
The bibliography from 1991-2000 is available on the Library Web

Byzantium: The Society for the Promotion of Byzantine Studies

Catalogue of the Gennadius Library, American School of Classical Studies at Athens. 7 vols. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1968.
(SHS) Oversize Z2309.G46 1968q

Drandakes, Paulos. Megale hellenike enkyklopaideia. 24 vols. Athens: Phoinix, 1956-1965.
(SHS) Oversize AE29.M4 1957f

Franz Joseph Dölger-Institut zur Erforschung der Spätantike
Contains information about Reallexikon für Antike und Christentum ((DR) BR131 .R4), and Jahrbuch für Antike und Christentum ((SA) N5975 .J19).

Greek Databases from the National Documentation Centre
Includes e.g. the Hellenic Ph.D. Dissertations Database.

Greek National Library. Hellenike ethnike vivliographia. Athens: Hellenike Vivliotheke, 1990-.
(SHS) Z2285.H44
The National Greek Bibliography issued annually by the National Library of Greece.

Gullath, Brigitte, and Heidtmann, Frank. Wie finde ich altertumswissenschaftliche Literatur: Klassische Philologie, Mittel- und Neulatein, Byzantistik, Alte Geschichte und Klassische Archäologie. Berlin: Arno Spitz, 1992.
(SC) Z7016 .G844 1992
This guide covers not only classical studies but also medieval Latin, Neo-Latin, and Byzantine studies.

International Medieval Bibliography, 1967-present
The IMB is the Web version of the semiannual publication of the same title. The print version is located: (F) Z6203.I63. The discipline areas to which the IMB is relevant include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
Indexes articles and other materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700. Includes articles, reviews, bibliographies, catalogs, editions, abstracts, discographies, and notes.

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium. Kazhdan, A.P., and A.-M. Talbot, eds. New York: Oxford University Press, 1991.
(DR) (F) (SCG) (SHS) (SH) (SNE) DF521.O93 1991

Reallexikon für Antike und Christentum. Klauser, Thomas, et al., eds. Stuttgart: Anton Hiersemann, 1950-.
(DR) BR131. R4
18 vols. Coveers litutgical, historical, archaeological, etc. aspects of the transformation of the late antique culture.

Return to Headings

 

Art & Archeology

Art & Archeology

Advanced Papyrological Information System
APIS links together in a single environment various sources of information about texts written on papyrus and the society that produced them. It contains descriptions of the papyri and other written materials in the collections of the participating institutions, digital images of many of these texts, and connections to databases with the texts themselves in their original languages and with bibliography about the texts. Many of the descriptions include full translations into English. The user can move back and forth among text, translation, bibliography, description, and image. With the specially-developed APIS Search System many different types of complex searches can be carried out.

Almagest at Princeton University.
A database of slides used in Princeton courses, mainly Art History.

AMICO: Art Museum Image Consortium
The AMICO Library is an online collection of over 100,000 digitally documented works of art, available to Princeton users through RLG Eureka.

Allison Frantz Papers
Consists of papers of Alison Frantz, a classicist and photographer. She was the photographer and specialist in Early Christian and Byzantine archaeology for the Agora excavations at Athens from 1933 to 1968 for the American School of Classical Studies. In 1967 she received a grant from the American Philosophical Society to study, draw and photograph the temple ruins (ca. 200-300 A.D.) on the island of Sikinos in the Aegean Sea. Frantz also served as Cultural Attache (1946-1949) for the U.S. Embassy in Athens and later was a visiting member at the Institute for Advanced Study. Included in the papers are hundreds of black and white photographs of different sizes of classical and Byzantine architecture, sculpture, monuments, ornamental motifs, inscriptions and artifacts primarily of the Agora excavations in Athens, and Greece, but also documenting her work at various other sites in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. There are also photographs of vernacular architecture, scenes of daily life, and of manuscripts at the Megaspelaion Monastery, which were later destroyed in a fire. Also present are drawings, sketches, notecards, notecards with photographs, photo study cards, notebooks, and negative files relating to her studies of the Agora excavations, sculpture and other sites in Turkey, Greece, the Peloponnese and elsewhere.
The papers also contain student notes, lectures, book reviews, and articles by Frantz, such as "The Crusaders in Greece," "Multum in Parvo, the Aegean Island of Sikinos," many articles and notes concerning the post-classical habitation of the Athenian Agora, and "Geography and Politics in Early Christian Ornament in Greece," written for a festschrift for Kurt Weitzmann. A correspondence file includes personal and professional correspondents such as The American Philosophical Society, The Archaeological Institute of American, Rhys Carpenter, Peter Megaw, Smith College, Homer Thompson, John Travlos, Harper & Row, the Phaidon Press, and letters (1925-1948) to her mother, Mary K. Frantz. In addition there are personal photographs of herself, family, friends and pets, documents, medals, printed matter, and a volume of genealogical information entitled "Our Family."

Curcic, Slobodan and St. Clair, Archer, editors. Byzantium at Princeton: Byzantine art and archeology at Princeton University: catalogue of an exhibition at Firestone Library, Princeton University, August 1 through October 26, 1986.
(SA) N6250.B99 DF521.O93 1991

Index of Christian Art from Princeton University
The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century).

Kleinbauer, W. Eugene. Early Christian and Byzantine architecture : an annotated bibliography and historiography. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1992.
(SA) Reference Z594.3.C56 K55 1992

Lexikon der Christlichen Ikonographie. Kirschbaum, Engelbert, ed. Rome: Herder, 1968-.
(SA) Reference N7645 .L4
1-4. Bd. Allgemeine Ikonographie, Nachträge.--5. Bd. Ikonographie der Heiligen: Aaron bis Crescentianus von Rom.--6. Bd. Ikonographie der Heiligen: Crescentianus von Tunis bis Innocentia.--7. Bd. Ikonographie der Heiligen: Innozenz bis Melchisedech.--8. Bd. Ikonographie der Heiligen: Meletius bis zweiundvierzig Martyrer Register.

Princeton University Art Museum

Princeton University Library Papyrus Home Page
Contains a descriptive inventory of the Princeton Collections of Papyri, along with digital images of select papyri.

Reallexikon zur Byzantinischen Kunst. Wessel, Klaus, ed. Stuttgart: Anton Hiersemann, 1966-.
(SA) Reference N6250 .W5

Schiller, Gertrud. Ikonographie der christlichen Kunst. Gütersloh : Gütersloher Verlagshaus G. Mohn, 1966-1991. 5 vols.
(SA) N7640.S35

Schiller, Gertrud. Translated by Janet Seligman. Iconography of Christian art.Greenwich, Conn., New York Graphic Society 1971. 2 vols.
(SA) N7640 .S35 1971

Return to Headings

 

Church

Church

Acta Sanctorum
The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.

ATLA Religion Database
Provides citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.

Byzantine Saints' Lives in Translation. Talbot, Alice-Mary, ed. Washington, DC, 1996-.
(F) BX395.L39 G7413 2000
Vol. 1 Holy Women of Byzantium (F) BX393.H65 1996; Vol. 2 Byzantine Defender of Images (F) BX393.B97 1998; vol. 3 The Life of Lazaros of Mt. Galesion (F) BX395.L39 G7413 2000.

Christian Hagiography
Website run by Société des Bollandistes.

Dictionnaire d'archéologique chrétienne et de liturgie. Cabrol, Fernand, et al., eds. Paris: Letouzey et Ane, 1907-1953.
(F) N31.C2

Dictionnaire de spiritualité ascetique et mystique, doctrine et histoire. Viller, Marcel, F. Cavallera, and J. de Giubert, et al., eds. Paris: Beauchesne, 1932-1995.
(DR) Oversize BX841.D67q

Dumbarton Oaks Hagiography Database
Includes information from the Greek vitae and martyria of one hundred and nineteen saints of the 8th-10th c., accounts of the translations of their relics, and collections of miracles, as well as notices from the Synaxarion of Constantinople (a 10th-century liturgical collection of brief hagiographical notices).

Ferguson, E. et al. eds. Encyclopedia of early Christianity. 2nd ed. New York : Garland Pub., 1997.
(DR) (SREL) BR162.2 .E53 1997

Liturgical Texts of the Greek Orthodox Church

Patrologiae Graecae Contains Greek material relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. Includes both the Eastern “Fathers” and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century. For example, the early writings of the Apostolic Fathers, such as the Epistles of Clement and the Shepherd of Hermas, the church historian Eusebius, the theologian Origen, and the Cappadocian fathers Basil the Great, Gregory of Nazianzus, and Gregory of Nyssa.

Return to Headings

 

Geography

Geography

Bengtson, Hermann, and Vladimir Milojcic, eds. Grosser historischer Weltatlas. T. 1. Vorgeschichte und Altertum -- T. 2. Mittelalter -- T. 3. Neuzeit -- T. 4. Neueste Zeit. 6. Aufl. München: Bayerischer Schulbuch Verlag, 1978-1995. T.1-T.4
(SC) 2960.411q (1954-84 ed.) (SA) Oversize G1030.G767 1978q

La géographie ecclésiastique de l'Empire byzantin. Paris: Institut francais d’etudes byzantines, 1953-1981.
T.3. Les églises et les monastères (1953) (F) (SA) BX323 .J35
T.2. Les églises et les monastères des grands centres byzantins : Bithynie, Hellespont, Latros, Galèsios, Trébizonde, Athènes, Thessalonique (1975) (SA) BX752.T9 J36
T.1. Notitiae episcopatuum Ecclesiae Constantinopolitanae (1981) (SA) BX410 .N67 1981

Tabula Imperii Byzantini. Denkschriften/Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften. Philosophisch-Historische Klasse.
Please consult the Main Catalog for call number information.

Stamatelatos, Michael. Hellenike geographike enkyklopaideia. 3 vols. [Greece]: Ekdoseis Tegopoulos-Maniateas, [2000?].
(SHS) Oversize DF720.S75 2000q

Return to Headings

 

History

History

Brown, P. The World of Late Antiquity: AD 150-750. 2nd edition (1st: 1971). New York: W.W. Norton, 1989.
(Clas) DG77 .B73 1989

Cambridge Medieval History. 8 vols. New York: Macmillan, 1911-36.
(DR) D117.C3 (F) 1408.234
I. The Christian Roman empire and the foundation of the Teutonic kingdoms. 1911. -- II. The rise of the Saracens and the foundation of the Western empire. 1913. -- III. Germany and the Western empire. 1922. -- IV. The eastern Roman empire (717-1453). 1923. -- V. Contest of empire and papacy. 1926. -- VI. Victory of the papacy. 1929. -- VII. Decline of empire and papacy. 1932. -- VIII. The close of the middle ages. 1936.

Corpus Fontium Historiae Byzantinae (CFHB). Vienna: Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Wien; Washington, DC: Dumbarton Oaks Center for Byzantine Studies: Trustees for Harvard University; Athens: Akademiae Atheniensis; Series Berolinensis (Germany).
Please check Main Catalog for location information.
Important corpus with critical edition partly with translation into modern European languages (Series Washingtonensis and Series Vindobonensis contain translations).

Corpus Scriptorum Historiae Byzantinae (CSHB). Bonn: Weber 1828-1897. 50 vols.
(F) 2550.2312-2550.2372
So called "Bonn edition" or "Bonn Corpus." Edition of Byzantine texts with Latin translation/paraphrases; many have been replaced by modern, critical editions, but not all.  Now digitized in Google Books

Historia tou hellenikou ethnous. 16 vols. Athens: Ekdotike Athenon, 1970-.
(SHS) Oversize DF759.H58 1970q

Savvides, Alexes. Vyzantine prosopographia, topike historia kai vyzantinotourkikes scheseis: Anatypose arthron, 1991-1994. Athens: Ekdoseis Kritike, 1994.
(F) DF506 .S384 1994

Suda On Line
The Suda is a 10th century Byzantine historical encyclopedia in five volumes, derived from the scholia to critical editions of canonical works and from compilations by earlier authors. As the Oxford Classical Dictionary notes, "in spite of its contradictions and other ineptitudes, [the Suda] is of the highest importance, since it preserves (however imperfectly) much that is ultimately derived from the earliest or best authorities in ancient scholarship, and includes material from many departments of Greek learning and civilization." The Suda has never been translated into English, and that is one goal of this project, but there are many other ways in which an electronic version can offer increased accessibility: the collaborators aim to produce a keyword-searchable database with annotations, bibliography, and links to Perseus, the TLG and other important electronic resources.

Veremis, Thanos M., and Dragoumis, Mark. Historical Dictionary of Greece. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1995.
(DR) (Annex) DF802.V47 1995

Return to Headings

 

Language & Literature

Language & Literature

Kriaras, Emmanouel. Lexiko tes mesaionikes Hellenikes demodous grammateias, 1100-1669. Thessaolinke: [Typographeia N. Nikolaide], 1968-1997.
(F) PA1129.K75

Lampe, G. W. H., ed. A Patristic Greek Lexicon. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1961
(SC) 2522.558

Lexikon zur byzantinischen Gräzität: Besonders des 9.-12. Jahrhunderts. Edited by Erich Trapp. Wien: Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, 1994- .
(F) 0912.934.6q

Liddell, H.G., and R. Scott. A Greek-English Lexicon. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1996.
(DR) (F) (SCG) Oversize PA445.E5 L6 1996q 

Patrologiae cursus completus. Series Graeca. Migne, J.P., ed. 161 vols. in 166. Paris: 1857-1889.
Most complete collectrion of Greek texts (with facing Latin translation). Not critical editions. Now available online as the 
Patrologiae Graecae

Sophocles, E.A. Greek Lexicon of the Roman and Byzantine Periods (from B.C. 146 to A.D. 1100). Memorial edition. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, c1887.
(SC) 2522.866

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
Includes most ancient Greek literary texts from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople in 1453 CE. The aim is to include all of Greek literature to the present
 

Return to Headings

 

Law

Law

The Digest of Justinian. 2 volumes. Translation edited by A. Watson. Revised English language edition.Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania, 1998.
(Clas) (F) KJA1112.2 1998
Latin Text and English Translation

The Digest of Justinian. 4 volumes. Latin text edited by Theodor Mommsen with the aid of Paul Krueger. English translation edited by Alan Watson. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania, 1985.
(SCL) KBD.D5313

Corpus iuris civilis. Krueger, P, and Th. Mommsen, eds. Berlin: Weidmann, 1970-1972. 3 vols.
(SCL) (SH) (F) 7633.1900
Edition of the largest pre-modern law collection.  Google Books: v.1 (1872) Institutiones/Digesta; v.2 (1888) Codex; v.3 (1895) Novellae 

The Theodosian Code and Novels, and the Sirmondian Constitutions. Translated with commentary, glossary, and bibliography by Clyde Pharr, in collaboration with Theresa Sherrer Davidson and Mary Brown Pharr; introduction by C. Dickerman Williams. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1952.
(F) (SCL) Oversize 7632.259.1952q

Return to Headings 

 

Numismatics

Numismatics

Carlton, R. Scott. The International Encyclopedic Dictionary of Numismatics. Iola, WI: Krause Publications, 1996.
(F) CJ67.C37 1996

Catalogues of the Greek Coins in the British Museum.
(SCP) 1031.211...
Italy, 1873; Sicily, 1876; Thrace, 1877; Macedonia, 1879; Thessaly-Aetolia, 1883; Central Greece, 1884; Attica-Aegina, 1888; Corinth, 1889; Peloponnese, 1887; Crete, 1886; Pontus-Bithynia, 1889; Mysia, 1892; Troas-Aeolis, 1894; Ionia, 1892; Caria and islands, 1897; Cilicia, 1900; Cyprus, 1904; Galatia-Cappadocia-Syria, 1899; Seleucids, 1878; Phoenicia, 1910; Palestine (Judaea), 1914; Arabia-Persia, 1922; Parthia, 1903; Ptolemies, 1883; Cyrenaica, 1927.

Curcic, S., and A. St. Clair, ed. Byzantium at Princeton. Princeton: Dept. of Art and Archaeology, Princeton University, The Art Museum, Princeton University, Princeton University Library, Dept. of Rare Books and Special Collections, 1986.
(SA) N6250.B99
Pages 97-107 contain a brief account of the Princeton University Library's Byzantine coins.

Goodacre, Hugh George. A Handbook of the Coinage of the Byzantine Empire. London: Spink, 1965 [c1957].
(F) (Annex) 1033.401.11

Waage, D. B. Antioch-on-the-Orontes IV. Princeton: Princeton, Pub. for the Committee by the Department of Art and Archeology; [etc., etc.], 1952
(F) (SA) Oversize Oversize N5460 .A63q.
Contains a catalogue of 2980 coins in Princeton's Byzantine Coinage Collection.

Princeton University Art Museum

The Princeton University Numismatic Collection

Byzantine Manuscripts  (some also in Robert Garrett Collection).

Byzantine coinage collection, 498-1453. Search Main Catalog: title "Byzantine coinage collection."  For specific coins, search MASC by subject: "Coins, Byzantine." Consists of Byzantine coins beginning from 498 A.D. To the current 1710 pieces should be added the approx. 2980 Byzantine copper coins from the excavations at Antioch-on-the-Orontes which are now stored in the University Library. Please search MASC (Princeton University's Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections Database)

Mt. Athos: Richard Halliburton Papers

Ernest Theodore Dewald Papers.

Nicolas Oikonomides and Elizavet Zachariadou Collection. Search Main Catalog: author: "Oikonomides, Nicolas."

Return to Headings

 

Prosopography

Prosopography

Prosopographie der mittelbyzantinischen Zeit. Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, ed. Berlin; New York: de Gruyter, 1998-.  Print edition is complete in 7 v. for its first section (641-867) and is continuing to cover 867-1025 in its second.  An online version of the first section  (641-867) is available but accesses only the indices and a selection of the content. 
(F) DF506 .P767 1998

Prosopographisches Lexikon der Palaiologenzeit. Erich Trapp, unter Mitarb. v. Rainer Walther ... [et al.]. Wien : Verl. d. Òˆsterr. Akad. d. Wiss., 1976-1996. 12 fasc.
(F) Oversize DF506 .T7q

Prosography of the Byzantine World
This online database covers the period 1025-1102 CE, as a continuation of The Prosopography of the Later Roman Empire (covering the period 260-641 C.E) and the Prosopographie der mittelbyzantinischen Zeit Abteilung I (641-867 C.E) and Abteilung II (867-1025 CE).

Prosopography of the Later Roman Empire. Jones, A.H.M., J.R. Martindale, and J. Morris, eds. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1971-1992.
(SCL) 2998.502
Vol. 1. 260-395CE -- Vol. 2 395-527CE -- Vol. 3 527-641 CE (2 vols.).

Savvides, Alexes. Vyzantine prosopographia, topike historia kai vyzantinotourkikes scheseis: Anatypose arthron, 1991-1994. Athens: Ekdoseis Kritike, 1994.
(F) DF506 .S384 1994

 Return to Headings

 

Women's Studies

Women's Studies

Bibliography on Women in Byzantium

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Contains journal articles and essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Garland, Lynda, ed. Byzantine women : varieties of experience 800-1200. Aldershot; Burlington, VT: Ashgate, 2006.
(F) HQ1147.B98 B98 2006 
 

Return to Headings

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDave Jenkins
Contact Info:
B-17P-1 Firestone Library
258-5811
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait