Manuscript CollectionsPhotograph Collections
Print resourcesWeb resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Hellenic Studies 

Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/content.php?pid=63391  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Modern Manuscript Collections             Print Page
  
 

Manuscripts

Anthony Antoniades (Stamo Papadaki Papers)

Augerinos Brothers Company (Rare Books: Manuscripts Collection, Oversize C0199, no. 1174)

Konstantine Cavafy (Edmund Keeley Papers)

Nicolas Calas (Stamo Papadaki Papers)

Demetrios Capetanakis (Lehmann Family Papers)

Kay Cicellis Papers (papers of Cicellis, including manuscripts of some of her novels, short stories, radio scripts, translations of Greek works into English, and correspondence with friends and associates. Cicellis was born in France of Greek parents, moving to Greece when she was nine. She spent some time in England, but later settled in Athens where she worked as a translator, writer-adapter for the Greek Broadcasting Institute, and writer, primarily in English, of articles, reviews, stories and novels. Included in these papers are autograph and typed manuscript drafts and notebooks of No Name in the Street (1953), her first novel, Ten Seconds from Now (1957), a novel, The Way to Colonos (1960), three novellas, and many drafts of stories to be included in an unpublished work, The Painter and His Model (ca. 1978). In addition, there are translations from Greek into English by Cicellis of Koula (1991) by Menes Koumantareas and The Wife of Candaulus (1954) by Margarita Lymperake, as well as a libretto for an opera composed by Arghyris Kounadis called "The Return" (1962) based on The Way to Colonos).

Nancy Crawshaw Papers (correspondence, photographs, and writings of Crawshaw,as well as copies of her published work. Her writings include work on her book The Cyprus Revolt (1978), lectures, broadcasts and articles from her career as a journalist, and her notes and other writings).

Adonis Dekavalles Papers (papers of Antones Dekavalles (Anthony Manganaris-Decavalles), a Greek-American poet, professor at Fairleigh Dickinson University, and editor of The Charioteer, A Review of Modern Greek Culture. The collection includes approximately 500 pieces of correspondence (1949-1991) with his friend and fellow poet, translator, and editor, Kimon Friar (1911-1993). There are signed autograph and typed letters by Friar with many drafts and carbons of replies by Dekavalles, and miscellaneous manuscripts of articles and reviews by and about Friar. Also present are a general file of correspondence (1950-1989), mostly in Greek; manuscripts, drafts, notes, and reviews of several of Dekavalles' works of poetry ; miscellaneous verse translated into English by Dekavalles, Kimon Friar and others; files related to his involvement with Books Abroad, The Charioteer, and the Modern Greek Studies Association; and subject files compiled by Dekavalles of manuscripts, letters and related material of a number of Greek writers such as Odysseas Elytes, Kimon Friar, Nikos Kazantzakes, Spyros Plaskovites, Panteles Prevalakes, Antones Samarakes, George Seferis, and Angelos Sikelianos).

Orestes Doumanes (Stamo Papadaki Papers)

Odysseas Elytes (Edmund Keeley Papers, Kimon Friar Papers)

Andreas Empeirikos (Stamo Papadaki Papers)

Alison Frantz Papers (selected papers of Frantz, a classicist, photographer, and research fellow for the American School of Classical Studies at Athens. In 1967 she received a grant from the American Philosophical Society to study, draw, and photograph the temple ruins (ca. 200-300 A.D.) on the island of Sikinos in the Aegean Sea. Included in the papers is her notebook from this trip containing notes, drawings, and 88 (2" x 3") photographs. Also present are three other notebooks of architectural drawings, measurements, and notes on ruins at Thasos, Sikinos, Paros, and Amorgos; an Italian phrase book; and 92 (approx. 7" x 9") photographs, probably taken in the 1960s and mounted on cardboard calendar pages dated 1973-1980, of people, everyday scenes and ruins in various Greek cities, islands, and a few other places, including Thasos, Byblos, Corinth, Parma, Tunis, Maktar, Acropolis, Rome, Crete, Salonica, and Alexandroupolis).

Kimon Friar Papers (Consists of the papers of Friar, a Greek-American poet, translator, and editor. Included are manuscripts of Friar's English translations of The Odyssey: A Modern Sequel by Nikos Kazantzakis; poetry by Odysseus Elytis, Yannis Ritsos, and other modern Greek poets; and articles, reviews, poetry, dramatic productions, and lectures by Friar. There is extensive correspondence with George Seferis, Nikos Kazantzakis, and many other Greek and American writers. Also present are photographs, manuscripts of other writers and poets, and sound recordings of poetry readings).

Carlos Fuentes Papers (Consists of personal and working papers of Carlos Fuentes, Mexican author, editor, and diplomat: notebooks, manuscripts of novels and novellas, short stories, plays, screenplays, nonfiction writings, speeches and interviews, translations of fiction and nonfiction, correspondence, juvenilia, drawings, documents, photographs, audiocassettes, papers of others, scrapbooks, and printed material. Included are manuscripts and some galleys and page proofs with holograph corrections of the novels La cabeza de la hidra, Cambio de piel, La campana, Constancia y otras novelas para virgenes, Cristobal Nonato, Una familia lejana, Gringo viejo, La muerte de Artemio Cruz, El naranjo, o los circulos del tiempo, La region mas transparente, and Terra Nostra; and draft manuscripts and some galleys and page proofs for the English translations of the novels listed above and for the novels Aura and Diana, The Goddess Who Hunts Alone. There are also drafts of short stories collected under the titles Agua quemada, Cantar de ciegos, Chac Mool y otros cuentos, Cuerpos y ofrendas and Los dias enmascarados; drafts of plays Todos los gatos son pardos, El tuerto es rey and Orchids in the Moonlight (English and Spanish versions); drafts of program scripts for the television series The Buried Mirror, and Spanish language version El espejo enterrado; and drafts of the companion books to the TV series).

Andreas Giacumacatos (Stamo Papadaki Papers)

Greek Historical Documents, 1820s-1840s 

Hellenic Studies, Program Records, 1979-2003

T. Karatheodores (Miscellaneous Hellenic Studies Collection, 1677-1965)

Nikos Kavvadias Papers (see also Kimon Friar Papers)

Edmund Keeley Papers (correspondence and works spanning Keeley's (Class of 1948) career, as Princeton University professor of English and creative writing, director of the creative writing program (1971-1981), and chairman of the Hellenic Studies Program (1985), novelist, editor, translator, and administrator of such organizations as the Modern Greek Association (president, 1970-1973; 1980-1981), the Poetry Society of America (vice-president, 1977-1979), P.E.N.(member of the executive board, 1980- ), and trustee of the American Farm School. The papers contain drafts, typescripts, galleys, and proofs for many of Keeley's novels, studies of Greek literature and poetry, and translations or compilations of works by Greek writers, including The Libation (1958), The Gold-Hatted Lover (1961), Modern Greek Poetry (1983), School for Pagan Lovers (1993), C. P. Cavafy's Passions and Ancient Days (1971), and Collected Poems (1975), Ritsos in Parentheses (1979), and Odysseus Elytis' Selected Poems (1981). There is literary, academic, organizational, and personal correspondence of Keeley with authors such as George Seferis, Giannes Ritsos, Angelos Sikelianos, R. P. Blackmur, and others, and with organizations such as the American Farm School, the Modern Greek Studies Association, the Poetry Society of America, and photographs, personal papers, reviews of his works, audiotapes, papers of others, clippings, and student papers).

James H. Keeley Papers (papers of Keeley, particularly material which documents his career in the Foreign Service from 1920 through the 1960s, during which period he served in Greece, Lebanon, Italy, Belgium, and Canada. Included are correspondence, memoranda, official papers, personal papers, and photographs. Highlights of the collection are Keeley's correspondence and official papers related to his postings in Greece (1936-1939, 1945-1948) and as American Minister to Syria (1948-1950).

Richard Korn Papers (the collection represents two disparate but intense interests of Korn: the Orchestra of America and the American Council for Judaism. As the founder, manager, and conductor of the orchestra, Korn helped to promulgate the cause of American music both through concerts and recordings, and the papers include correspondence by many established and fledgling composers of mid-twentieth-century music. The collection provides insight into not only the artistic endeavors of the orchestra but also the problems inherent in keeping an orchestra viable while creating an interest in new music which a concert-going public is cautious to accept. Also included are documents, photographs, miscellaneous material, and printed matter).

John Lehmann Papers (extensive family papers of John Lehmann, an English author, poet, journalist, editor, and publisher. Lehmann was founder and editor (1936-1950) of New Writing, manager (1938-1946) of Hogarth Press, founder and director (1946-1952) of John Lehmann, Ltd. (publishers), founding editor (1953-1961) of London Magazine, and visiting professor at various universities. Lehmann also wrote or edited numerous works, including Forty Poems (1942), The Age of the Dragon: Poems, 1930-1951 (1951), Edith Sitwell (1952), I Am My Brother (1960), Demetrios Capetanakis, A Greek Poet in England (1947), and Shelley in Italy: An Anthology (1947).

Kimon Lolos (P.E.N. American Center Archives)

Stelios Lydakes (Stamo Papadaki Papers)

Lincoln MacVeagh Papers (papers of MacVeagh relating to his diplomatic career as minister to Greece (1933-1942), ambassador to the exiled Greek and Yugoslav governments in Cairo (1943-1944), and returning ambassador to Greece (1944-1947). Included are typed transcripts of portions of diaries covering much of this diplomatic period (1939-1945); dispatches and telegrams to the State Department (1933-1940) concerning primarily political and diplomatic events in Greece, such as General John Metaxas's dictatorship, and Yugoslavia; and copies of his correspondence with President Franklin D. Roosevelt (1933-1945) from the National Archives and the Roosevelt Library).

Stuart Merrill Collection (a collection of letters by Merrill, a poet who was born in America but spent most of his life in France. Merrill's poetry, written in French, was influenced by the Symbolist movement (ca. 1880-1890), but later moved into a socialist phase. Included are 64 letters to Thomas B. Rudmose-Brown (1878-1942), a friend and author of French Literary Studies (1917) which contains a chapter about Merrill, 15 letters to Gabriel Mourey (1865-1943), an art critic, 3 letters to Jean Moreas (1856-1910), a fellow supporter of the Symbolist movement, and 2 letters to Alfred Mortier (1865-1937), a literary critic and author. Also present is an undated autograph manuscript (9 pp.) of a poem by Merrill entitled "Le Vrai Temple)".

Miscellaneous Hellenic Studies Collection, 1677-1965

Dimitri Mitropoulos (Richard Korn Papers)

Modern Greek Studies Association Archives

Jean Moreas (Stuart Merrill Collection)

Harold Nicolson Papers (papers of the English diplomat, journalist, and biographer Harold Nicolson (1886-1968). These papers primarily contain correspondence received by Nicolson, but there is also a large series of letters written by Nicolson to Richard Rumbold, as well as a few to others. Also included in the collection are manuscripts and/or working notes for four of Nicolson's published works. Furthermore, there is a small amount of papers of others, chiefly correspondence by and to Nicolson's wife, "Vita" (Victoria) Sackville-West).

Demetrios Oikonomou (Apomnēmoneumata tou Antinauarchou Dēmētriou Oikonomou : manuscript, 1939, Rare Books: Manuscripts Collection, C0199, no. 772)

E. Panas (Anamnēseis apo tēn Germanikēn aichmalōsian 1942-1945 : typescript . Rare Books: Manuscripts Collection, C0938, no. 406)

Stamo Papadaki Papers (the papers of this Greek-born architect. Included is correspondence (1922-1990) with many architects from the United States, Europe, Greece, and Brazil, such as Jorge Amado, Charles S. Ascher, Leonidas Cheferrino, Serge Chermayeff, Lucio Costa, Marcel Gautherot, Matila Ghyka, Siegfried Giedion, Walter Gropius, Jean Helion, Le Corbusier (Charles Edouard Jeanneret), Lazlo Moholy-Nagy, Oscar Niemeyer, Amedee Ozenfant, Eugene C. Petit, Alberto Sartoris, Jose Sert, and Frank Lloyd Wright. There is also correspondence with organizations, artists, friends, and family, including the Architectural Forum, Alexander Calder, John Dale, Macmillan Company, the Museum of Modern Art (N.Y.), CIAM, Michales Tompros, and Henry Yannilos, and a lengthy correspondence (1939-1979) with his sisters, Maria and Photeine, in Greece. Subject files contain correspondence, photographs, articles, notes, drawings, and printed matter relating to the development of Brasilia, his work on various projects for the CIAM, and plans for a Le Corbusier exhibition; drawings, notes, and manuscripts of his research with Le Corbusier and Le Corbusier's own writings for Le Modulor (1954), a system of harmonious measurement for architects and mechanics (the papers also include an original, hand-drawn, colored, and signed ""modulor"" tape by Le Corbusier); covers and layouts for the magazines Plus and Progressive Architecture; plans and articles on prefabricated houses and mountain shelters; and many plans, blueprints, drawings, elevations, and photographs for other architectural projects, including the New York World's Fair pavilion, the New York International Airport, a seaside villa near Athens, office buildings on Park Avenue, exhibitions for IBEC and UNESCO, designs and photographs (ca. 1981) for the Museum of Modern Art on Andros Island, Greece, and houses and commercial buildings in Greece, Brazil, and the United States).

Kostas Papaioannou (Carlos Fuentes Papers, Elena Garro Papers)

Margarita Papandreou Papers (see also Kimon Friar Papers) (selected papers of Papandreou, an American-born international feminist leader, peace movement activist, informal diplomat, and author who settled in Greece in 1959. There is correspondence (1981-1985), in English and Greek, of Papandreou and her husband, Andreas Papandreou, prime minister of Greece (1981-1989), concerning personal and business matters, and some affairs of state. The bulk of the papers consists of speeches, articles, interviews, and printed matter, by and about Papandreou, relating to her involvement in the G reek Union of Women, a socialist feminist group she founded in 1976 (president, 1980-1989); the First Ladies Conference on Drug Abuse at the United Nations (1985); and the World Conference to Review and Appraise the Achievements of the United Nations Decade for Women: Equality, Development and Peace (1975-1985), held in Nairobi, Kenya (1985). Papandreou was head of the Greek government's delegation to this conference, and the papers include documents from the preparation meetings, statements of the member-states, resolutions, cassette tapes of interviews, speeches, American press releases, mass media, and general publications. Also present are copies of the PAK Newsletter (1972-1974), a publication of the Panhellenic Liberation Movement in North America, many newspaper clippings, and miscellaneous material in Greek).

Nikos Pappas and Rita Boume Papa Papers (correspondence, manuscripts of published and unpublished poetry and articles, clippings, and other printed matter of the Greek poets and writers Nikos Pappas and his wife, Rita Boume Papa. Correspondents include Kimon Friar, Menelaos Lountemes, Andreas Rados, Rae Dalven, Antones Dekavalles, Giannes Skarimpas, Nikos Spanias, Mario Vitti, Nikos Chadzinikolau, Nikephoros Vrettakos, Angelos Sikelianos, Valentina Traikova, and other writers and friends, many from Eastern Europe. Also included are a few manuscripts and letters of other writers, and material related to copyrights and the Union of Greek Writers).

P.E.N. American Center Archives (business records and correspondence between organization members from P.E.N.'s founding (1921) up to 1993. The papers include those pertaining to governance (annual businees meetings, executive board meetings, etc.); membership (dues, lists, resignations, acceptances); programs of P.E.N. American Center, including hospitality, a prison writing program, the Freedom to Write program, the Relief and Refugee Fund (during WW II); material on congresses, including international congresses, as well as those hosted by the American Center; and international committees and branches of the American Center. Also present is material on grants and awards, fundraising, publicity, and general files).

Athanasios Petrides (Miscellaneous Hellenic Studies Collection, 1677-1965)

Manoles Polentas (Edmund Keeley Papers)

Adamantia Pollis Papers (personal and professional papers of Pollis, a professor of political science on the graduate faculty of the New School for Social Research in New York. Included are drafts of various articles, Pollis's school papers, some personal memorabilia, papers of her students, grant proposals, correspondence with Andreas Papandreou, George Blanksten, Spyros Mercouris, several congressmen, professional associates, and political organizations, such as the American Federation for Democracy in Greece. Some of these papers concern resistance organizations and activities against the Greek dictatorship of 1967-1974, as well as articles on the political situations in Cuba and Cyprus. These papers are part of a larger collection of printed ephemera and serials relating to the Greek dictatorship of 1967-1974 formed by Pollis, which is cataloged in the Rare Books Division).

Panteles Prevelakes (Adonis Dekavalles Papers, Mario Vitti Papers)

Angelos Prokopiou (Stamo Papadaki Papers)

Karl L. Rankin Papers (a large file of correspondence (1917-1973) and related articles, reports, and printed matter of Rankin (Class of 1922) referring to his positions as supervisor of construction for Near East Relief (1922-1925) in the U.S.S.R. (Caucasus region), a member of the Foreign Services of the Departments of Commerce and State (1927-1961), including his assignments as a commercial attache in Prague, Athens, Brussels, and Cairo, and ambassador to the Republic of China (1953-1957) and Yugoslavia (1958-1961). A separate file of works (1921-1973) contains articles, speeches, interviews, letters to editors, lectures, and remarks. Also included are diaries written intermittently from 1927 to 1953, manuscripts for his book China Assignment (1964), and photographs and scrapbooks of China, Hong Kong, Greece, and Yugoslavia).

Georgios Regas (Eisagōgē eis tēn Mousikēn kata tēn LesViakēn Methodou : manuscript, 1902, Rare Books: Manuscripts Collection, C0199, no. 891)

Giannes Ritsos (Edmund Keeley Papers)

George Seferis. Selected Papers (also Harold Nicolson Papers, Kimon Friar Papers (extensive correspondence with George Seferis), Lehmann Family Papers, and George Seferis Photographs of Cyprus)

George Seferis' Photographs of Cyprus consists of 138 photographs of Cyprus taken by Seferis, the Greek poet and 1963 winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature. There are 122 (5" x 7") photographs, 1953-1955, of Byzantine and medieval monuments and artworks, and various other buildings, scenes, and people of Cyprus. This group of photographs is entitled, "Cyprus, Memory and Love, Through the Lens of Seferis." A selection of these photographs were published in Kypros: mneme kai agape, me to phako tou Giorgou Sephere (1990). Also present are 16 (9" x 12") prints, 1954-1971, of various scenes in Cyprus, portraits of Seferis, and of the Nobel Prize award ceremony.

Selected Papers of George Seferis consists of selected papers of George Seferis, the Greek diplomat, ambassador, poet, and translator. Seferis held various posts with the Royal Greek Ministry of Foreign Affairs, 1926-1962, serving in England, Albania, Egypt, Italy, and Turkey, and was ambassador to the United Nations, 1956-1957, and to Great Britain, 1957-1962. He was the author of a number of volumes of poetry, translated many works of T. S. Eliot into Greek, won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1963, and was awarded an honorary degree from Princeton University in 1965. Included are three manuscripts by Seferis-- "Diary Kept at Princeton, 1968," his "Declaration of March 28, 1969," against the Greek junta, and "Letter to Rex Warner" (1972)--and correspondence and collected papers of Lawrence Durrell, T. S. Eliot, and Henry Miller. Present are 42 letters (1939-1978) by Henry Miller to George and Maro Seferis, Miller's original manuscript journal, "First Impressions of Greece" (1939), a typescript of "When Do Angels Cease to Resemble Themselves? A Study of Rimbaud" (1946), two extracts from The Colossus of Maroussi (1941), and correspondence and printed matter related to Henry Miller. There are 17 letters (1935-1963) by T. S. Eliot to Seferis, with some related correspondence and printed matter, and several letters, three poetry translations (in English), and a phonograph recording by Lawrence Durrell. There is miscellaneous correspondence with Sophia Antzaka, Cevat Capan, Kyriakos Chrysostomidis, Edmund Keeley, Maro Seferis, and others, as well as correspondence with Princeton University (1965) and about trips to the United States in 1968. Also present are manuscripts by Odysseas Elytes, "Amorgos" by Nikos Gkatsos, and "Akritika, 1941-1942" by Angelos Sikelianos, as well as a translation into English by Edmund Keeley and Philip Sherrard of selections from Seferis' Mythistorema.

Kostas Semites (Collection of ephemera and newspapers on resistance organizations and activities against the Greek dictatorship of 1967-1974, Rare Books Off-Site Storage: Contact rbsc@princeton.edu)

Angelos Sikelianos (Edmund Keeley Papers, Kimon Friar Papers, George Seferis Selected Papers, Archives of STORY Magazine and Story Press)

Antonio Solaro Papers (Collection of ephemera and newspapers on resistance organizations and activities against the Greek dictatorship of 1967-1974, Rare Books Off-Site Storage: Contact rbsc@princeton.edu)

Nelly Sougioutzoglou-Seraidare Photographs Collection 

Kostas Tachtses (Nanos Valaōritēs Papers)

Agras Tellos (Stamo Papadaki Papers)

Emmanuel Theotokes (General Manuscripts)

Michales Tompros (Stamo Papadaki Papers)

Kaie Tsitsele (Edmund Keeley Papers, Kay Cicellis Papers)

Eleni Vakalo Papers (papers of Vakalo, a graduate with a degree in archeology from the University of Athens and founder (1958) of the School of Decorative Arts where she teaches art history. Vakalo is a leading art critic in Greece as well as an author of books of art criticism and eleven books of poetry. Included in these papers are the corrected typescript of her book He ennoia ton morphon [The Meaning of the Forms] (1975), and notebooks and manuscripts (autograph and typed), primarily in Greek, of poetry, lectures, and articles. Also present are correspondence, notes on art, and ephemera).

Nanos Valaōritēs Papers (The Nanos Valaōritēs Papers consists of the writings, notebooks, sketchbooks, correspondence, and papers relating to Pali of the Greek poet, novelist, playwright, and editor Nanos Valaōritēs.)

Vasiles Vasilikos (Carlos Fuentes Papers, Edmund Keeley Papers, Kimon Friar Papers)

Eleutherios Venizelos (Harold Nicolson Papers)

Mario Vitti Papers (papers of Vitti, an Italian author, translator, and educator specializing in modern Greek literature. Included are letters (1947-1992) from Greek, Turkish, Italian, and other poets and authors, and manuscripts of Greek authors collected by Vitti. The correspondence, separated into Greek and non-Greek files, includes among the approximately 80 Greek correspondents such poets and authors as Manoles Anagnostakes, Konstantinos Demares, Odysseas Elytes (about 130 letters), Nikos Kasdagles, Nikos Kazantzakis, Photos Kontoglou, Alexandros and Kostas Kotzias, Ioannes Michael Panagiotopoulos (about 47 letters), T. K. Papatsones, Panteles Prevelakes, George Seferis, and Nasos Vagenas. The non-Greek files consist of about 20 Turkish, Italian, and other poets, writers, and translators including Melih Cevdet Anday, Ilhan Berk, Necati Cumali, Salvatore Quasimoto, Oktay Rifat, and Giuseppe Ungaretti).

Demetrios Zoios Family Papers

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDave Jenkins
Contact Info:
B-17P-1 Firestone Library
258-5811
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait