Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Library Resources for Classics 

Last update: Oct 20, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/content.php?pid=62599  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Web resources             Print Page
  
 

Links

Core Resources

 

One-volume encyclopedia to all aspects of classical antiquity. 3rd ed. 1996. Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth.
 
Texts of the major Greek and Latin authors linked to dictionaries, English translations and commentaries.
 
L'Annee Philologique  (1949-2006)
Main index to the scholarship of classical studies published in all languages in both books and journals.
 
Texts of Latin literature spanning the Classical, Patristic, Medieval, and Neo-Latin periods.
 
Texts of Greek literature from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople (1453 CE).

Important Resources

 

Full text--minus forewords, textual apparatus, and indices--of editions of texts from the Latin series of the Bibliotheca scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum.
 
Online edition of F. Jacoby's monumental Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker Parts I-III, providing Greek text, facing English translation, and new commentary and bibliography.  
 
English version of an important German encyclopedia of the ancient world. Divided into two sections: Antiquity, which covers the ancient world of Greece and Rome, and the Classical Tradition, which covers the history of classical scholarship. Not yet complete, but the German version, Der Neue Pauly, is.
 
Full-text book reviews covering all aspects of classical scholarship.
 
Authoritative history of the ancient world presented in downloadable PDF chapters.
 
Detailed bibliographies of editions, translations, commentaries and important secondary literature of the major Greek authors.
 
Detailed bibliographies of editions, translations, commentaries and important secondary literature of the major Latin authors.
 
Reprinted selections of important literary criticism of the major classical authors.
 
Diogenes    
Free software that provides access to a locally loaded copy of Liddell & Scott's Greek dictionary and Lewis and Short's Latin dictionary. Also can be used as an interface for the PHI CD-ROMs.
 
Indexes journals in classical philology, ancient history, and archaeology. Based on the journal Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift fur die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft and includes all of its bibliographic entries after 1997 but only 15% of those from 1925-1996. A good supplement to L'Annee Philologique since it provides more recent citations.
 
Database of published Greek inscriptions, providing the complete Greek text and critical apparatus of new inscriptions as well as summaries of new readings, interpretations, and studies of those previously known.
 
Comprehensive Latin dictionary whose detailed entries cover texts from antiquity to approximately 600 CE and include the etymology and later linguistic development of each word.  However, not yet complete, comprising the letters A–M, O, P–pomifer, porta–pulsio.
 
TOCS-IN  (1992+)  
Tables of contents of the major journals of classical scholarship. Convenient source for browsing the most current journal literature.

Related Resources

 

Offers reference to the classical world and its literary heritage. Based on the Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. Edited by Margaret Howatson and Ian Chilvers.

Diotima 
Online resources for the study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World.
 
Dyabola    
Searches the subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt.
 
Ongoing database of Greek inscriptions taken from a wide range of publications.
 
In Principio    
Indexes the beginning words or line of Latin texts dating from their origins to the Renaissance. Particularly useful in identifying texts in manuscripts.
 
MASC    
Index of more than 1200 archival collections of Princeton University Library's Department of Rare Books and Special Collections. The holdings include Islamic, Byzantine, medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, cuneiform tablets from the Near East, Akkadian and Sumerian seals, papyri from the Pharaonic, Ptolemaic, Roman, Byzantine, and Islamic periods in Egypt, and c. 3000 Greek and 6000 Roman coins.
 
Provides a survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth.
 
Patrologia Latina  (200-1216)  
Texts of Latin Church Fathers from Tertullian (200 CE) to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. All prefatory material is included as well as the critical apparatus and indexes.
 
Greek texts relevant to the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
 
Pinakes    
Descriptive database of Greek manuscripts hosted by the Institut de Recherche et d'Histoire des Textes.
 
Elementary English-Latin dictionary.
 
Elementary Latin-English dictionary.
 
Includes the full-text of more than 100 dictionaries and reference books published by Oxford University Press.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDave Jenkins
Contact Info:
B-17P-1 Firestone Library
258-5811
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait