One-volume encyclopedia to all aspects of classical antiquity. 3rd ed. 1996. Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth. See here for its list of abbreviations of both scholarly journals and classical works.
Annotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative classical scholarship.
Texts of the major Greek authors linked to dictionaries, English translations and commentaries.
L'Année Philologique (1949-2006)
Main index to the scholarship of classical studies published in all languages in both books and journals.
Texts of Latin literature spanning the Classical, Patristic, Medieval, and Neo-Latin periods. A separate database, LLT-Series B, includes primarily additional medieval sources, but some classical and late antique as well (e.g., the Institutiones and Digesta of the Corpus Iuris Civilis). For a database of the classical texts with a simpler interface see Classical Latin Texts, the online version of the PHI CD-ROM.
Texts of Greek literature from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople (1453 CE).
Important Resources
50 high-resolution maps of the ancient world freely available for download. See Pleiades for a database of geographic information related to the Greco-Roman world linked to Google Maps.
Full text--minus forewords, textual apparatus, and indices--of editions of texts from the Latin series of the Bibliotheca scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum.
Online edition of F. Jacoby's monumental Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker Parts I-III, providing Greek text, facing English translation, and new commentary and bibliography.
Cambridge History of Classical Literature: Greek Literature, Appendix of Authors and Works
English version of an important German encyclopedia of the ancient world (also, see the on-going digitization at Wikisource of the original "big" Pauly, the Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft). Topics are from one of two sections: Antiquity, which covers the ancient world of Greece and Rome, and the Classical Tradition, which covers the history of classical scholarship. Also includes the following Supplements:
- Chronologies of the Ancient World
- Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts
- Historical Atlas of the Ancient World
- The Reception of Myth and Mythology
Bryn Mawr Classical Review (1990+)
Full-text book reviews covering all aspects of classical scholarship.
Authoritative history of the ancient world presented in downloadable PDF chapters.
Collections of essays by leading scholars on major topics in Classics presented in downloadable PDF chapters.
Reprinted selections of important literary criticism of the major classical authors.
Full-text access to 10 medieval, early modern and modern Latin dictionaries with search results linked back to the Library of Latin Texts.
Lists “concise information on projects applying computing technologies to Classical/Ancient Historical research.”
Free software that provides access to a locally loaded copy of Liddell & Scott's Greek dictionary and Lewis and Short's Latin dictionary. Also can be used as an interface for the PHI CD-ROMs. NOTE: while the texts of the PHI CD-ROMs are also available online (Classical Latin Texts and Searchable Greek inscriptions) the Packard Humanities Institute still provides the CD-ROMs free of charge.
Links to the most comprehensive and useful databases of epigraphical and papyrological texts related to Classical antiquity.
Gnomon Online (1925+)
Indexes journals in classical philology, ancient history, and archaeology. Based on the journal Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift fur die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft. A good supplement to L'Annee Philologique since it provides more recent citations.
Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online
Lexicon of the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European, including Latin, Greek, Slavic, Proto-Celtic, Old Frisian, Armenian, Hittite, Luvian, the Iranian verb and Proto-Nostratic (Proto-Germanic and Persian are forthcoming).
"Digital archive of Latin poetry from its origins to the Italian Renaissance." Many poems linked to their manuscript apparatus. Search by "metrical typology" as well.
Nestor (1959+)
Online index of the bibliographic entries compiled by Nestor, an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields.
Greek and Latin texts from the Pereus Digital Library are here accessed via the interface Philologic from the University of Chicago, which searches not only words and word lemmas, but parts of speech, verb voice, tense and mood, and noun gender and case.
Database of published Greek inscriptions, providing the complete Greek text and critical apparatus of new inscriptions as well as summaries of new readings, interpretations, and studies of those previously known. Click here for a concordance that identifies the corresponding SEG reference from an IG number (IG inscriptions appearing in fascicles published after 2000 can be found here with facing German translations).
Comprehensive Latin dictionary whose detailed entries cover texts from antiquity to approximately 600 CE and include the etymology and later linguistic development of each word. However, not yet complete, comprising the letters A–M, O, P–pomifer, porta–pulsio.
TOCS-IN (1992+)
Tables of contents of the major journals of classical scholarship. Convenient source for browsing the most current journal literature.
Related Resources
Database to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world. Also, follow developments related to the digital humanities at ABZU's blog, The Ancient World Online (AWOL).
Extensive database maintained by the Faculty of Classics at the University of Oxford.
Cambridge History of Classical Literature: Greek Literature, Appendix of Authors and Works
Detailed bibliographies of editions, translations, commentaries and important secondary literature of the major Greek authors.
Detailed bibliographies of editions, translations, commentaries and important secondary literature of the major Latin authors.
Offers reference to the classical world and its literary heritage. Based on the Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. Edited by Margaret Howatson and Ian Chilvers.
Full-text access to all but the most current editions of this important series of classical medical texts, including prefatory material, apparatus, translations and commentary.
Diotima
Online resources for the study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World.
Online resources for the study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World.
Searches the subject catalogs of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome, the Bibliography of Iberian Archaeology from the German Archaeological Institute in Madrid, and the Archaeology of Roman Provinces from RGK Frankfurt.
Indexes the beginning words or line of Latin texts dating from their origins to the Renaissance. Particularly useful in identifying texts in manuscripts.
Aims to be the internet's most thorough catalogue of online copies of ancient Greek texts, both in Greek and in translation. Handy source for direct links to public domain editions.
Provides a survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth.
Patrologia Latina (200-1216)
Texts of Latin Church Fathers from Tertullian (200 CE) to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. All prefatory material is included as well as the critical apparatus and indexes.
Greek texts relevant to the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
Descriptive database of Greek manuscripts hosted by the Institut de Recherche et d'Histoire des Textes.
Handy and searchable collection of primary Roman law texts.
Ongoing database of Greek inscriptions taken from a wide range of publications.


Loading...
