Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

POL JP08: National Security, Intelligence, and Law Enforcement Reform Post 9/11 

Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/nationalsecurity  Print Guide  RSS Updates

News Sources            Print Page
  
 

News Sources

News sources can be very useful for finding primary coverage of specific events, as well as feature articles and editorials related to your topic. For additional resources, be sure to consult the Newspaper Indexes page.

 
 

Contemporary News

Lexis Nexis Academic

  • Provides full text access to news from across the U.S. and around the world.
  • Coverage of most newspapers goes back to the mid 1980s, but varies widely.
  • Click on the News tab at the top to begin your search.

NewsBank Access World News

  • Provides full text of many major national and regional newspapers from the United States and around the world.
  • Use the clickable map to select a country or state to search.

Factiva

  • Database from Dow Jones & Reuters that provides full text access to various newspapers and news wire services.

ProQuest Newspapers

  • Provides full text of the New York Times (1995+), Wall Street Journal (1982+), Los Angeles Times (1985+), and the Chicago Tribune (1985+).

Alt-Press Watch (1973-present)

  • Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.

Ethnic Newswatch (1960-present)

  • Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
  • Bilingual (English and Spanish).

Google News

  • Pulls together related headlines and photos from Internet news sources worldwide.
  • Stories are updated continuously throughout the day- useful for breaking news.
  • Enables you to see how different news organizations around the world report the same events.

National Public Radio

  • Internationally acclaimed producer and distributor of noncommercial news, talk, and entertainment programming.
  • Provides a searchable, full-audio archive of programs back to 1996.

Public Broadcasting System

  • Site highlights PBS news-related programs, including Frontline, POV, NOW, NewsHour and NOVA.
  • Transcripts, audio, and video files of previous broadcasts are available.
  • Podcasts and RSS are available on this site.

Vanderbilt University Television News Archive

  • The most extensive archive of television news dating back to 1968.
  • Evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks.
  • Access to TV-NewsSearch is free, but requires registration.
  • You may request video segments (on loan only) for your research for a fee.
  • The fees (up to a limit) are covered by our Interlibrary Loan Services, so contact a librarian before placing an order.
 

Historical News

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922)

  • Provides full text of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers from all 50 states.

Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1900)

  • Full-text access to The Pennsylvania Gazette, which is considered The New York Times of the 18th century.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers

  • Provides cover-to-cover, full-text access to every article, advertisement and illustration in hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.

19th Century British Library Newspapers

  • Contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th century British society.

The Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)

  • This is a complete digital edition of The Times of London.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides retrospective coverage of several U.S. newspapers going back to the first issue in full text, including:

Reader's Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)

  • Provides comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the U.S.
 

International News

Finding World Newspapers at Princeton

  • Helpful guide compiled by our History Librarian Elizabeth Bennett that offers guidance on locating foreign newspapers.

ABYZ News Links

  • Portal to online news sources from around the world.
  • Links to newspaper sites, broadcast stations, Internet services, magazines and press agencies.
  • Be aware the news sources are often not in English.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index

  • Index to the Daily Reports of the FBIS from 1975-1996.
  • Reports include text translated into English of broadcasts, news agency wires, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from around the world.
  • Reports are mostly available in microfiche with some in paper, ask a librarian for help locating them.
  • For more recent material, see the World News Connection below.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

  • Provides full text of the Daily Reports mentioned above for the years 1974-1996.
  • At present, reports for Africa, Asia, Australia/Oceania and the Middle East/Near East are available.
  • Other regions will be added later. For regions not covered, see the microfiche reports mentioned above.

World News Connection

  • Continues coverage of the FBIS reports mentioned above from 1996 to present with full text.
 
 

Your Librarian

DAVID HOLLANDER
Law and Legal Studies Librarian
Firestone Library - SSRC
A-15-J-2
dholland@princeton.edu

 

CLICK HERE TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT!

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait