Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

POL JP08: National Security, Intelligence, and Law Enforcement Reform Post 9/11 

Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/nationalsecurity  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles            Print Page
  
 

Getting Started

Here are several general purpose, multi-disciplinary databases for finding articles related to topics in politics:

All of these provide references to scholarly articles from reliable sources.

 

Accessing Full Text

Some of the article databases provide the full text of articles while most do not.

Look out for the orange "Find it @ PUL" button Find it @ PUL image among the search results you get in any of the article databases.

Click on it to see if Princeton provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.

 
 

Big 5 Politics Databases

As a student of politics, you should familiarize yourself with the following databases, all of which appear as CORE resources for Politics if you navigate as follows: Library home page ==> Articles & Databases ==> Select Subject [or See all Subjects] ==> Politics.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975-present)

  • Covers international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews.

International Political Science Abstracts (1989-present)

  • Provides abstracts in English or French to articles selected from international political science journals.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1951-present)

  • Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of journals in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

PAIS International (1915-present)

  • Provides citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issues.
  • Generally considered a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)

  • Multidisciplinary index to journals in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Find references to articles that were cited in a given article, as well as other articles that cite that article.
 

More Specialized Databases

ABI Inform (1971-present)

  • Provides indexing and some full text of articles dealing with business, economics, management techniques, advertising, marketing, human resources, finance and taxation.

Alternative Press Index (1991-present)

  • Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political and social change in the humanities and social sciences from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.

America: History & Life (1954-present)

  • Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
  • This resource can be useful for finding articles that discuss U.S. relations with, and influences on other countries

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (1939-present)

  • Provides access to journal articles, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada that focus on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.

American Periodicals Series Online (1740-early 20th century)

  • Full-text archive of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

Business Full Text (1982-present)

  • Indexes leading business magazines and trade journals.

Central & Eastern European Online Library (dates)

  • Provides access to full text articles from humanities and social science journals and documents pertaining to Central, Eastern, and South-Eastern European topics.

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-present)

  • Provides access to working papers from research institutes, NGO occasional papers, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals, and policy briefs dealing with international relations.

Communications Abstracts (1977-present)

  • This database provides abstracting and indexing of communications-related articles, reports, papers and books.<.li>
  • Covers literature in other film studies, technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinion.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (1915-present)

  • Covers journals in mass communications, mass media and related fields
  • Much of the content is available in full text.

EconLit (1969-present)

  • Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings and book reviews on regional and international economics, urban economics, economic development, fiscal and monetary theory, public finance and business.

European Centre for Minority Issues (via Hein Online) (1997-present)

  • The ECMI advances majority-minority relations in Europe, supports the stabilization of ethnopolitical conflict and promotes civil society.
  • Database contains the full text of working papers and journals.

Foreign Law Guide

  • Bibliography of sources of foreign law organized by country.
  • Each entry contains a brief description of the country's legal system with citations to primary sources of law both in print and electronic versions when available.

FRANCIS (International Humanities & Social Studies) (1984-present)

  • Covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences and economics.
  • Focus is largely on current trends in European and world literature.
  • You can search in both English and French.

GenderWatch (1970-present)

  • Covers a wide range of sources, including both scholarly and popular articles, about women, gender, and GLBT issues.

Historical Abstracts (1450-present)

  • Leading bibliography provides coverage of world history (excluding North America).

Left Index (1982-present)

  • Guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and cultural scholarship from significant but little-known sources of news and ideas.

Periodicals Index Online (late 18th century-present)

  • Index to millions of periodical articles in the humanities and social sciences primarily from the 19th century.

Philosophers' Index (1940-present)

  • Provides indexing and abstracts of books and journals in philosophy and related fields.
  • Covers ethics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, philosophy of law and religion.

Policyfile (1990-present)

  • Provides indexing and abstracts of research publications addressing the complete range of public policy research.

PsychInfo (1990-present)

  • Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
  • Useful for finding articles concerning the intersection between psychology and politics.

Readers Guide to Periodical Literature (1983-present)

  • Provides indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and

Sociological Abstracts (1963-present)

  • Index of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied.

SourceOECD (1998-present)

  • Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
  • Contains all the OECD's monographs, reports, periodicals and statistical databases.
  • The interface can be somewhat difficult to navigate, so if you have trouble consult the staff at the Social Science Reference Center for help.
 
 

Your Librarian

DAVID HOLLANDER
Law and Legal Studies Librarian
Firestone Library - SSRC
A-15-J-2
dholland@princeton.edu

 

CLICK HERE TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT!

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait