Online resources
Government information currently available on GPO Access is in the process of being migrated to this web site. Migration to this site will be completed in 2009.
Includes bills (full-text 1993 forward), history of bills, calendars, documents & reports (full-text 1995 forward), Congressional Record and its Index, public laws (full-text 1994 forward), the U.S. Code, Congressional Directory, and a history of line item veto notices.
Hein Online U. S. Congressional Documents (Princeton faculty, students and staff only)
Provides online access to the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) and Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and the Congressional Record (1973-current). In addition, the American State Papers and the Journals of the Continental Congress are available.
Lexis-Nexis Congressional (Princeton faculty, students and staff only)
Includes the Congressional Record, bills and bill tracking (full-text 1989 forward), legislative histories, public laws (full-text 1988 forward), hearings (full-text of 30-40% from 1988 forward), documents (full-text 1995 forward), reports (full-text 1990 forward), committee prints (selective full-text 1995 forward), biographical, financial and voting information for members of Congress.
Congressional Record
The United States Congressional Record and its predecessor titles comprise the published account of the debates, proceedings, and activities of the United States Congress. Since 1947 each day's Record also contains the Daily Digest, which recounts by chamber the day's activities, including the number of bills introduced, the floor actions taken that day, a summary of meetings held that day by committees and for what purpose, and a list of committee meetings scheduled for the next day and on what topics (at the end of each week a list of committee meetings scheduled for the following week, and their topics, is printed).
- Annals of Congress, 1st-18th Congress, 1st Session (1789-1824): the print volumes are shelved at 0800.021.11 in Firestone stacks
- Register of Debates, 18th Congress, 2nd Session 25th Congress (1824-1837): the print volumes are shelved at 0800.022 in Firestone stacks
- Congressional Globe, 23rd-42nd Congress (1833-1873): the print volumes are shelved at 0800.023 in Firestone stacks and Annex A (request retrieval from the Main Catalog)
- Congressional Record, 43rd Congress to present (1873- ): in paper, unbound issues located in U.S. Documents Collection shelved at X 1.1/A (Social Science Reference Center), bound volumes shelved at 0800.024 in Firestone stacks
- Congressional Record, 76th Congress, 3rd session (1940) v. 86, 78th-90th Congress, 1st session (1943-1967) v. 89-113, 93rd- 96th Congress, 1st session (1973-1979), v. 119-125: on microfilm shelved at MICROFILM S00344, located in Microforms Service (C Floor, Firestone Library)
- A Century of Lawmaking from the Library of Congress provides browseable access to the Annals of Congress, the Register of Debates, and the Congressional Globe.
- Full text of the Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, and Congressional Record is searchable via U. S. Congressional Documents, Hein Online
- Full text of the Congressional Record from the 85th Congress, 2nd session to date (1958- ) is searchable via Lexis-Nexis Congressional.
Note: Appendix material from the Congressional Record was not included in the bound volumes from Congress 83-2 (1954), v. 99, to Congress 90-1 (1967) v. 113; microfilm must be used for these dates.
Depository Info

The general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge. For access information and hours, please consult the the online hours (choose "Firestone Library - Depository Access" from the drop down menu), Access Information Page, and the Firestone Access Office.
PLEASE NOTE: While the general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge, many of our U.S. Government resources, including many of the resources listed in this research guide, are not depository materials and may only be used by Princeton University students, faculty, and staff. This includes most of the electronic resources such as Lexis Congressional and Hein Online.
Princeton University Library adheres to the following policies set by the Goverment Printing Office: FDLP Internet Use Policy Guidelines and Depository Library Public Service Guidelines for Government Information in Electronic Formats.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait