Online resources
Government information currently available on GPO Access is in the process of being migrated to this web site. Migration to this site will be completed in 2009.
Includes bills (full-text 1993 forward), history of bills, calendars, documents & reports (full-text 1995 forward), Congressional Record and its Index, public laws (full-text 1994 forward), the U.S. Code, Congressional Directory, and a history of line item veto notices.
Legislative Sourcebook (Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.)
Includes a weekly list of newly released hearings, newly enacted public laws, a table of Congressional publication volumes and Presidential issuances, and a guide to the U.S. Serial Set.
Lexis-Nexis Congressional (Princeton faculty, students and staff only)
Includes the Congressional Record, bills and bill tracking (full-text 1989 forward), legislative histories, public laws (full-text 1988 forward), hearings (full-text of 30-40% from 1988 forward), documents (full-text 1995 forward), reports (full-text 1990 forward), committee prints (selective full-text 1995 forward), biographical, financial and voting information for members of Congress.
Congressional Hearings
Committees provide intensive consideration to a proposed measure as well as the forum where the public is given their opportunity to be heard. When a public hearing is set in a committee or subcommittee, an official reporter is present to record the testimony on the bill or relevant subject matter.
Paper holdings
- 1st to 95th Congress (1789-1978): located primarily in Firestone stacks, arranged by Library of Congress or Richardson call number (these call numbers can be found by searching the Main and Supplementary catalogs)
-
96th-103rd Congress. (1979-1994): located in Annex A, arranged
by Congress and Superintendent of Documents number (request retrieval through the Main Catalog.
- 104th-105th Congress. (1995-1998): located in Recap. Request retrieval through the Main Catalog.
- 106th Congress to date (1999- ): located in the U.S. Documents Collection (Social Science Reference Center), arranged by Congress and SuDoc number
For microfiche holdings (search using Lexis-Nexis Congressional and the CIS Congressional Index)
- 89th-90th Congress (1965-1969): located in Microforms Service (C Floor, Firestone Library), arranged by year and CIS number
- 91st Congress (1970- ): located on C floor (C-16-F), arranged by year and CIS number
Hearings from the 105th Congress to date are available from GPO Access.
Unpublished Hearings (search using CIS Index to Unpublished Committee Hearings located in the Social Science Reference Center)
-
18th-91st Congress (1824-1971) Senate Hearings: CIS microfiche collection,
Alexander Library at Rutgers University
- 23rd-74th Congress (1834-1936) House hearings: CIS microfiche collection, Alexander Library at Rutgers University
Depository Info

The general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge. For access information and hours, please consult the the online hours (choose "Firestone Library - Depository Access" from the drop down menu), Access Information Page, and the Firestone Access Office.
PLEASE NOTE: While the general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge, many of our U.S. Government resources, including many of the resources listed in this research guide, are not depository materials and may only be used by Princeton University students, faculty, and staff. This includes most of the electronic resources such as Lexis Congressional and Hein Online.
Princeton University Library adheres to the following policies set by the Goverment Printing Office: FDLP Internet Use Policy Guidelines and Depository Library Public Service Guidelines for Government Information in Electronic Formats.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait