BillsCommittee PrintsCongressional RecordHearingsHouse and Senate JournalsLawsSerial Set
Census DataCensus MapsCensus SurveysNew Jersey & International Census DataQuestions Asked on the U. S. Decennial Census QuestionnaireU. S. Special CensusesU. S. State & Municipal Census Data
BBC Monitoring ServiceForeign Broadcast Information ServiceJoint Publications Research ServiceWorld News Connect
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

U.S. Government Documents 

Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/usgovdocs  Print Guide  RSS Updates

The U. S. Congress             Print Page
  
 

Databases & Online Indexes for Congressional Materials

CQ Congress Collection (Princeton faculty, students and staff only)

Includes bill text (full-text 1995 forward), floor votes, bill comparison, and various customizable bill and vote reports.

FDsys

Government information currently available on GPO Access is in the process of being migrated to this web site. Migration to this site will be completed in 2009.

GPO Access

Includes bills (full-text 1993 forward), history of bills, calendars, documents & reports (full-text 1995 forward), Congressional Record and its Index, public laws (full-text 1994 forward), the U.S. Code, Congressional Directory, and a history of line item veto notices.

Hein Online U. S. Congressional Documents (Princeton faculty, students and staff only)

Provides online access to the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) and Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and the Congressional Record (1973-current). In addition, the American State Papers and the Journals of the Continental Congress are available.

House of Representatives Website

Includes legislative activity, roll call votes, calendars, schedules, committees, and the U.S. Code.

Legislative Sourcebook (Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.)

Includes a weekly list of newly released hearings, newly enacted public laws, a table of Congressional publication volumes and Presidential issuances, and a guide to the U.S. Serial Set.

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (Princeton faculty, students and staff only)

Includes the Congressional Record, bills and bill tracking (full-text 1989 forward), legislative histories, public laws (full-text 1988 forward), hearings (full-text of 30-40% from 1988 forward), documents (full-text 1995 forward), reports (full-text 1990 forward), committee prints (selective full-text 1995 forward), biographical, financial and voting information for members of Congress.

Project Vote Smart

Includes a wealth of facts on candidates and elected officials, voting records, campaign finances, major bills, voting records and the text of bill.

Senate Website

Includes legislative activity, roll call votes, calendars, schedules, committees, the Congressional Record, and status information on treaties.

THOMAS

Find bill texts and legislative histories from 1973 to the present.


 
 

General Information

Princeton University Library is a rich source of U.S. historical legislative information that can be located through the Main and Supplementary catalogs, and through specialized indexes, under their individual titles or gathered in sets of research materials. In addition, useful Congressional material has become available on the Internet. 

Lexis-Nexis Congressional provides electronic access to the full text and indexing for most Congressional hearings, the Serial Set (House and Senate Reports and Documents), Committee Prints, the Congressional Record and Congressional Bills. GPO Access, THOMAS (from the Library of Congress), and CQ Congress Collection provide electronic access to the full text of Congressional materials for the most recent Congresses.

This guide shows several useful paths for research on the U.S. Congress here at Princeton in all formats.  Also included are references to some of the special resources of the Library at Rutgers University

 
 

Depository Info

The general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge. For access information and hours, please consult the the online hours (choose "Firestone Library - Depository Access" from the drop down menu), Access Information Page, and the Firestone Access Office

PLEASE NOTE:  While the general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge, many of our U.S. Government resources, including many of the resources listed in this research guide, are not depository materials and may only be used by Princeton University students, faculty, and staff.  This includes most of the electronic resources such as Lexis Congressional and Hein Online.

Princeton University Library adheres to the following policies set by the Goverment Printing Office: FDLP Internet Use Policy Guidelines and Depository Library Public Service Guidelines for Government Information in Electronic Formats.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait