African Studies Resources: Country info

• Politcal Handbook of the World
• EIU Country Profiles and Reports (1996+) Background reports covering economic, political, and social conditions of countries.
• EIU Country Forecast  (1996+)   Forecasting reports of the regions of the world.
• Euromonitor Passport Reference.  Provides international demographic, macro-economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries.  Covers economic indicators, population trends, consumer and lifestyle information, country infrastructure, environment and more.
• BBC NEWS | Country Profiles
  guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions
• Europa World: The Europa World Year Book online Provides detailed surveys of over 250 countries.
• Nations of the World Basic information on governments, including the constitution, and different branches of government. from the Law Library of Congress
• State Department Background Notes by the U.S. State Department; contains information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations.
  
  
  
• FACTS.com (1940+) Provides digest of major news stories around the world.
  
• UCDP Database of Conflicts
  
• FIRST (Facts on International Relations and Security Trends)
  A mashup of World Bank data with Google Maps. Has basic data, news, and project information for every country in which the World Bank is involved   
  
• Human Development Reports Country Tables  
  Annual publication of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
• Human Development Reports 
  Full text of UNDP Human Development Reports, from 1990 to the next to most current year, plus national Human Development Reports and an excellent statistics section on industrialized and developing countries.
• INFONATION: Basic UN Country Statistics 
  User friendly, international statistical website, allowing users to access summary statistical data for member states of the United Nations. Data retrieval is limited to seven countries at a time.
• MDG Monitor 
  A one-stop-shop for information on progress towards the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), globally and at the country level. Statistics and project progress information are available by country and by goal.
• UNESCO Institute for Statistics 
  United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) statistical institute website. Includes statistical data sets of world education and literacy indicators, and selected data from the UNESCO Statistical Yearbook.

• African Studies Center
  This is a list of basic information on African countries from Univ. of Pennslyvania
• MBendi Information for Africa extensive business and commerical information on Africa, including African stock exchanges and industries such as Oil, Gas, Chemicals, Mining etc.
• US State Department background Notes: Africa

• African Development Bank Group Statistics
• African Union Statsitical Unit
• UN Economic Commission for Africa (ECA Statistical Yearbook)
• World Bank Africa Statistics
• World Health Organization Regional Office for Africa

Foreign Governments  Directory of foreign government offices (Northwestern University).

Political Science Resources.  Includes area studies & government websites. (Richard Kimber).