Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Politics JP: Politics of China & Southeast Asia 

Research guide for Prof. White's JP Workshop, Fall 2009
Last update: Oct 14th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/china  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles            Print Page
  
 

Getting Started

Here are several general purpose, multi-disciplinary databases for finding articles related to topics in politics:

All of these provide references to scholarly articles from reliable sources.

 

Accessing Full Text

Some of the article databases provide the full text of articles while most do not.

Look for the orange   button among the search results you get in any of the article databases.

Click on it to see if Princeton provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.

 
 

Big 5 Politics Databases

As a student of politics, you should familiarize yourself with the following databases, all of which appear as CORE resources for Politics if you navigate as follows: Library home page ==> Articles & Databases ==> Select Subject [or See all Subjects] ==> Politics.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975-present)

  • Covers international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews.

International Political Science Abstracts (1989-present)

  • Provides abstracts in English or French to articles selected from international political science journals.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1951-present)

  • Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of journals in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

PAIS International (1915-present)

  • Provides citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issues.
  • Generally considered a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)

  • Multidisciplinary index to journals in the social and behavioral sciences.
  • Find references to articles that were cited in a given article, as well as other articles that cite that article.
 

More Specialized Databases

ABI Inform (1971-present)

  • Provides indexing and some full text of articles dealing with business, economics, management techniques, advertising, marketing, human resources, finance and taxation.

ATLA Religion Database & ATLA Serials (1949-present)

  • Premier index to journal articles, book reviews and essays in religion and theology.
  • Some full text available.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971-present)

  • References principally western-language articles and book chapters pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia in the humanities and the social sciences.

Business Full Text (1982-present)

  • Indexes leading business magazines and trade journals.

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-present)

  • Provides access to working papers from research institutes, NGO occasional papers, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals, and policy briefs dealing with international relations.

EconLit (1969-present)

  • Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings and book reviews on regional and international economics, urban economics, economic development, fiscal and monetary theory, public finance and business.

Education Full Text (1929-present)

  • Index to literature in education covering topics such as comparative education, competency-based education, higher education, literacy standards, prayer in public schools, student counseling, teaching methods, evaluation and more.
  • Indexing goes back to 1929, full text back to 1996.

ERIC (1966-present)

  • Bibliography of education materials featuring published and unpublished sources of thousands of educational topics.
  • Links to many full text documents are available.

Foreign Law Guide

  • Bibliography of sources of foreign law organized by country.
  • Each entry contains a brief description of the country's legal system with citations to primary sources of law both in print and electronic versions when available.

Historical Abstracts (1450-present)

  • Leading bibliography provides coverage of world history (excluding North America).

JOLIS LIbrary Catalog

  • Joint library network catalog of the 13 World Bank and International Monetary Fund libraries in Washington, DC.
  • Provides detailed coverage of literature in the fields of international economics, development, and finance.
  • Includes references to books, journal titles, journal articles, working papers, conference proceedings, and technical reports, with links to full-text items when available.

Policyfile (1990-present)

  • Provides indexing and abstracts of research publications addressing the complete range of public policy research.

PopIndex (1986-2000)

  • Annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.

PopLine (1970-present)

  • Index to worldwide information about migration, contraceptive methods, demography, family planning, maternal and child health, human fertility, population law and policy, sexually transmitted diseases, vital statistics, etc.

Sociological Abstracts (1963-present)

  • Index of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied.
 

Mary George

Mary George
Contact Info:
Interim Politics Librarian
A-12-J-1 Firestone Library
Princeton University

mwgeorge@princeton.edu

(609) 258-3254

For appointments: http://wass.princeton.edu

Subjects:
Generalist, Politics, European Union, Library Science

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait