Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Politics JP: Politics & the Media 

Research guide for Prof. Gilens's JP Workshop, Fall 2009
Last update: Oct 14th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/media  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Works            Print Page
  
 

Selected Reference Works

Bowker's News Media Directory.
Publisher: New Providence, NJ: R.R. Bowker. Annual.
Location: Annex A, Forrestal
Call Number: Z6951 .xW62
Library Has: 1945-present
Current Volume: General & Humanities Reference (DR)
This 3-volume set is a comprehensive resource for information on U.S. news media outlets, including newspapers, magazines, newsletters, television, and radio.

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook.
Publisher: New Providence, NJ: R.R. Bowker. Annual.
Location: Firestone Library (F)
Call Number: HE8689 .B77
Library Has: 1993-present
Current Volume: Social Science Reference Center (SSRC)
The Yearbook provides comprehensive data on radio stations (AM and FM) and television stations (broadcast and cable) in the United States. Information provided includes the station's call letters, frequency or channel, address, telephone, fax, e-mail, Internet address, ownership, and programming format. Over 1,000 Canadian radio and television stations are also profiled, along with more than 5,000 industry law firms, engineers, and associations.

CQ's Washington Information Directory.
Publisher: Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, Inc. Annual.
Location: Firestone (F)
Call Number: F192.3 .W33
Library Has: 1975/76-present
Current Volume: SSRC Ready Reference
Online: via the CQ Electronic Library
The directory is a comprehensive source of descriptions and contact information for governmental and non-governmental organizations in Washington, DC.

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies.
Publisher: New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Location: Social Science Reference Center (SSRC)
Call Number: P87.5 .W38 2003

Encyclopedia of Political Communication.
Publisher: Los Angeles: Sage Publications, 2008.
Location: Social Science Reference Center (SSRC)
Call Number: JA85 .E64 2008

Historical Dictionary of Political Communication in the United States.
Publisher: Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.
Location: Social Science Reference Center (SSRC)
Call Number: JA85.2 .U6 H57 1999

Gale Ready Reference Shelf
The Ready Reference Shelf is an online version of several Gale directories in one package, including the Directory of Publications & Broadcast Media. You can use this service to locate basic information on newspapers, as well as television, radio, and cable stations throughout the U.S. and Canada. Entries include corporate ownership, broadcast frequency or channel, station format, network affiliation, addresses, feature editors, circulation, and advertising rates as appropriate.

Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature.
Publisher: Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2004.
Location: Firestone (F)
Call Number: Z6940 .C38 2004

Journalism Ethics: A Reference Handbook.
Publisher: Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997.
Location: Firestone (F)
Call Number: PN4756 .J67 1997

Key Concepts in Political Communication.
Publisher: London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2006.
Location: Social Science Reference Center (SSRC)
Call Number: JA85 .L55 2006

Mass Communication Law in a Nutshell. 5th ed.
Publisher: St. Paul, MN: West Group, 2000.
Location: Social Science Reference Center (SSRC)
Call Number: PKF2750.Z9 M37 2000

Public Interest Group Profiles.
Publisher: Washington, DC: CQ Press. Annual.
Location: Firestone (F)
Location Has: 2004-present
Current Volume: Social Science Reference Center (SSRC)
Serves as a one-stop resource for information on the most influential public advocacy groups in the U.S. Each group profile provides contact information, statement of purpose, method of operation, leadership, staff and membership size, tax status, recent annual revenue, funding sources, employment and internships, publications, and conferences.

Understanding Journalism: A Guide to Issues.
Publisher: New York: Routledge, 1996.
Location: Firestone (F)
Call Number: PN4728 .W55 1996

 

Mary George

Profile ImageMary George
Contact Info:
Interim Politics Librarian
A-12-J-1 Firestone Library
Princeton University

mwgeorge@princeton.edu

(609) 258-3254

For appointments: http://wass.princeton.edu

Subjects:
Generalist, Politics, European Union, Library Science

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait