ArchaeologyBibliographiesBiographyCultural AnthropologyEncyclopediasGuidesLinguisticsPhysical Anthropology
AnthropologyArchaeologyMuseums
AAA Style GuideSociety for American Archaeology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Anthropology 

Guide to anthropology resources.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/anthropology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citing Sources             Print Page
  
 

Citing Sources

Refworks:   http://www.refworks.com  Logon to Refworks and create an account to manage your citations

Use Refworks with Library databases to organize your research, include citations in papers, and create bibliographies.

 
 

Endnote and RefWorks


Managing your bibliographic references with EndNote or RefWorks 

Endnote and RefWorks are bibliographic managers which enable you to create a searchable databases, or "libraries," from references you find in online catalogs, indexes, etc. These programs also interact with your Microsoft Word documents to automatically format your references and create a footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies in any citation style you choose.


How do I obtain EndNote or RefWorks?


Princeton supports EndNote and Refworks. Endnote is available for purchase at an educational rate from the Princeton Software Repository (and also on most cluster computers); all Princeton users are eligible to sign up for a refworks account at http://www.refworks.com/.


Which bibliographic manager is right for me?


There are a few differences between the two programs: Refworks is easier to use than EndNote, and is rendered via the internet (rather than needing to be installed), making it fully "portable." Updates to the program are served to the user automatically, since it is web-based. It is also good for group work since members of the group can have access to the same account/files. Endnote is a well-established and very robust program, and ideal for a dissertation or book- level document. Endnote must be installed on your computer, and updates (and patches) must be obtained from the company. (Here is a detailed comparison.)


Searching Princeton's databases via EndNote and RefWorks:


Can records from EndNote be converted to RefWorks and vice-versa?


Yes, very easily; please see these instructions.


How can I get started using EndNote or Reforks?


How can I get additional help/training in one of these software packages?

  1. Attend one of the "EndNote and RefWorks Education Series" sessions.
  2. Email coach@princeton.edu
 

General & Humanities Reference Librarian

Profile ImageEmily M. Belcher
Contact Info:
Firestone Library, B-12-P
609-258-2964
Send Email

Subjects:
African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian American Studies, Women's Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait