ArchaeologyBibliographiesBiographyCultural AnthropologyEncyclopediasGuidesLinguisticsPhysical Anthropology
AnthropologyArchaeologyMuseums
AAA Style GuideSociety for American Archaeology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Anthropology 

Guide to anthropology resources.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/anthropology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Books             Print Page
  
 

Keywords

Subject Heading searches: Use Library of Congress headings such as:

Ethnology

Ethnology--Afghanistan

Forensic anthropology

Medical anthropology

Physical anthropology


Use  GUIDED Keyword searching in order to combine two or more concepts, to help identify Library of Congress Subject Headings, or to search using terms that are not LC Subject headings. Try searches like:

motion pictures AND anthropology

ritual AND religion

tattooing AND scarification

 
 

Searching the Main Catalog

The Main Catalog is your primary tool for finding books in the Princeton University Library. You can also use the catalog to find other materials, including videos, sound recordings, Internet sites, and journals (the journals themselves- not individual articles).

To find an item when you know the title or author, use the Basic Search. Use the Guided Search to search by subject; forumulate terms based on your intuition, then look at the Long View feature to see the full record display. You'll see the offical Library of Congress subject headings that have been designated to describe the item.

When you find an item you'd like to see, make a note of the location, call number, and status as indicated in the catalog record. See the list of location codes for help determining in which library collection the item is held. The call number shows where in the collection the item should be, and the status tells you whether the book is available or not. For more information on the call numbers used at Princeton and for help with locating a book in Firestone, see the Library Call Numbers & Locations page.

 

DAI

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts. 
 
 

Borrow Direct

Use Borrow Direct below to order books not currently available at the Princeton Library.

 

Google Books

Google Book Search
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait