ArchaeologyBibliographiesBiographyCultural AnthropologyEncyclopediasGuidesLinguisticsPhysical Anthropology
AnthropologyArchaeologyMuseums
AAA Style GuideSociety for American Archaeology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Anthropology 

Guide to anthropology resources.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/anthropology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias             Print Page
  
 

Overview

Encyclopedias present information on a wide range of topics or provide general overviews of a field, specific facts, dates, and basic bibliographic references. There are dictionary type encyclopedias in which subjects are arranged alphabetically under specific headings.  Monographic encyclopedias list subjects under broad headings with many subdivisions, and the entries are usually longer than those in dictionaries. Both types may include bibliographies and detailed indexes with cross references to related topics within longer articles, and in some cases articles are signed or initialed by contributors.

 
 

Encyclopedias

The Cambridge encyclopedia of archaeology, edited by Andrew Sherratt. New York: Crown Publishers/Cambridge University Press, 1980.  (DR) CC165 .C3 1980

 

The Cambridge encyclopedia of hunters and gatherers, edited by Richard B. Lee and Richard Daly.  Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2004.  (F) GN388 .C35 2004

 

Cambridge History of the Pacific Islanders

 

Encyclopedia of anthropology.  Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage, 2006. (DR) GN11 .E63 2006

 

Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology, edited by David Levinson.  New York: Henry Holt and Co., 1996.  (DR) GN307 .E52 1996
This encyclopedia work covers methods, concepts, and topics central to cultural anthropology.  Articles are signed by contributors, and provide sources for further study.

 

The encyclopedia of language and linguistics, edited by R.E. Asher. Oxford: Pergamon Press, 1994.  (DR)  Oversize P29 .E48 1994q 

 

Encyclopedia of world cultures, edited by David Levinson. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1991. (DR) GN307 .E53 1991
There are ten volumes which are organized by geographical area.  The first nine volumes contain detailed summaries about cultural groups, cultural relations, settlements, economy, kinship, marriage and family, religion, and sociopolitical organizations. There are also maps, glossaries, and indexes.  Volume ten plus a supplement provide cumulative lists of cultures and a bibliography. 

 

The facts on file dictionary of archaeology, edited by Ruth D.Whitehouse. New York: Facts on File, 1983. (F) (SA) CC70 .F32 1983 

 

Historical dictionary of North American archaeology edited by Edward B. Jelks and Juliet C. Jelks. New York: Greenwood, 1988.  (DR) E77.9 .H57 1988 

 

International encyclopedia of the social and behavioral sciences.  Amsterdam; New York: Elsevier, 2001. (SSRC) H41 .I58 2001 

 

The Oxford illustrated prehistory of Europe, edited by Barry Cunliffe. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1994. (F) GN803 .O94 1994 

 

 
 

Locations

Encyclopedias are shelved in the following libraries on campus:

(DR) The Trustee Reading Room, Firestone Library

(F) Firestone Library stacks

(SA) Marquand Art Library

(SSRC) Social Science Reference Center, A-floor, Firestone Library

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait