ArchaeologyBibliographiesBiographyCultural AnthropologyEncyclopediasGuidesLinguisticsPhysical Anthropology
AnthropologyArchaeologyMuseums
AAA Style GuideSociety for American Archaeology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Anthropology 

Guide to anthropology resources.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/anthropology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Guides             Print Page
  
 

Overview

Guides to research list the most important sources in a discipline.  Generally, guides to research list core reference sources, bibliographies, important books, scholarly journals, and indexes and abstracts for a particular field of study

 

Locations

Guides are shelved in the following library:

(DR) The Trustee Reading Room, Firestone Library

(F) Firestone Library stacks

(SSRC) Social Science Reference Center, A-floor, Firestone Library

 
 

Guides

Anthropology journals and serials: an analytical guide, by John T. Williams. NY: Greenwood, 1986.  (DR) Z5112 .W54 1986
This is a guide to serial literature in archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics and physical anthropology.

 

Cultural anthropology: a guide to reference and information sources, by JoAnn Jacoby and Josephine Z. Kibbee. 2nd. Ed. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2007. (DR) Z5111 .J33 2007
Although the primary emphasis is on cultural anthropology, there are also citations to general anthropology and the subfields of anthropology including physical, cognitive, urban anthropology, archaeology, and visual anthropology, to name a few.  This annotated bibliography directs users to handbooks, bibliographies, indexes, databases, literature reviews, conference proceedings, and much more.

 

Fieldwork in the library: a guide to research in anthropology and related area studies, by Robert C. Westerman. Chicago: American Library Association, 1994.  (DR) Z5111 .W47 1994

 

Finding the source in sociology and anthropology: a thesaurus-index to the reference collection, by Samuel R. Brown. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987. (F) Z7164.S68 B75 1987 

 

G.K. Hall bibliographic guide to anthropology and archaeology.  Boston, MA: G.K. Hall & Co., 1988-.  (DR) Z5111 .B47
Includes publications cataloged by Harvard University's Tozzer Library, one of the foremost anthropology collections in the world.  Users will find bibliographic entries for books, serials, microforms, manuscripts, maps, and videos.

 

Introduction to library research in anthropology, by John M Weeks. 2nd ed. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1998. (F) (SSRC) Z5111 .W44 1998

 

Key guide to information sources in archaeology, by Peter Woodhead. London. New York: Mansell Pub, 1985. (DR) CC120 .W66 1985 

 

Linguistics: a guide to the reference literature, by Anna L. DeMiller.  2nd ed. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 2000. (DR) Z7001 .D45 2000

 

Smithsonian Institution.  Bureau of American Ethnology.  Bulletin 200 (End of Series).  List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology With Index to Authors and Titles.
A complete guide to all BAE publications from 1877-1971.  The inclusive dates in the print edition are 1894-1971, and is shelved in (ReCap) under the call number 0436.92.  Beginning in 1965, the numbered series, Smithsonian Contributions to Anthropology replaced the BAE series.

 

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait