Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

African Studies Resources 

This guide describes some useful resources for research in African American Studies. It is not intended to be a complete guide to what is available in the Library but rather provides a place begin research in the field.
Last update: Feb 24th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/African_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  
 

Electronic Indexes

  • Africabib.org Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database; indexes over 27,000 articles from over 246 English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or  cover the African continent.
  • Africabib.org (Women) African Women's bibliographic Database;  contains over 20,000 English language citations from 1986 to current; indexes books, government documents; articles  in edited books; periodical and  journal articles; masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations  as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes. 
  • Biblioline  (19th Century - Present) a combination of databases providing access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa. Search information sources from Africa, Europe, and the USA, together.  Published by NISC South Africa.  (Princeton only) 
  • Population Index on the Web  annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.  (From Princeton University) 
  • Quarterly of African Periodical Literature. (Online) from the Nairobi,  Library of Congress office.  A searchable online index to materials acquired by The Library of Congress since 1991. 
 

Electronic Journals

  • African Journals Online a project managed by INASP  to promote the awareness and use of African-published journals in the sciences.   AJOL 2000  offers the tables of contents and abstracts of articles from up to 50 journals in agricultural sciences, science and  technology, health and social sciences, published in Africa.
  • Digital Imaging Project of South Africa (University of Natal) the DISA project aims "to makeaccessible to scholars and researchers world-wide, South African material of high socio-political interest which would otherwise bedifficult to locate and use." As part of that effort, DISA hasrecently announced the online availability of three South Africanjournals: Clarion Call (1982-91), Pro Veritae (1962-77), and Sas (1956-90).  A large number of additional titles will be made available in the future.
  • Electronic Journals and Newspapers on Africa annotated list of newspapers and journals online (from Columbia University).
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait