Resources
Most comprehensive
Epigraphik-Datenbank Clauss-Slaby
Provides texts and bibliographic citations for “nearly all Latin inscriptions." Search the CIL here.
Searchable Greek Inscriptions
Significant collection of Greek inscriptions culled from a variety of publications. Maintained by the Packard Humanitites Institute (based on PHI CD-ROM #7). Search the IG here.
Useful
Electronic Archive of Greek and Latin Epigraphy (EAGLE)
Single search interface to four major epigraphical projects, which can also be searched separately at the following links:
- Epigraphic Database Bari (based on the Inscriptiones Christianae Urbis Romae)
- Epigraphic Database Roma (primarily Latin inscriptions from Italy)
- Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg (primarily Latin inscriptions from the rest of the Roman Empire)
- Hispania Epigraphica (HE) (primarily Latin inscriptions from Spain)
Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum
"Allows access to the collection of squeezes, photographs and bibliographical references maintained by the CIL research centre, sorted by inscription-number." In addition, digitizations of the volumes published before 1940 can be viewed at Arachne, the object database of the Deutsches Archäologisches Institut.
Eichstaett Concordance of Greek and Latin inscriptions (ConcEyst)
Contains both Greek and Latin inscriptions; continually updated but requires a local download of the interface and data to a PC.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum
Database of published Greek inscriptions, providing the complete Greek text and critical apparatus of new inscriptions as well as summaries of new readings, interpretations, and studies of those previously known. See here for a concordance of IG inscriptions with SEG entries.
Claros Concordance
Correlates the multiple editions of published Greek inscriptions.
Specific regions
Curse Tablets from Roman Britain
Texts and archaeological context of inscribed lead tablets from Roman Britain.
Epigraphic Database for Ancient Asia Minor
Database currently includes Greek and Latin inscriptions from "several regions from the Roman province Galatia" (with those of Laodiceia being added). Inscriptions are accompanied with detailed commentary in German.
Etruscan Texts Project
Database of Etruscan inscriptions.
Inscriptions of Israel Palestine
US Epigraphy
Database of some 2,500 Greek and Latin inscriptions preserved in the USA.
Vindolanda Tablets Online
Online edition of the Vindolanda writing tablets excavated from the Roman fort at Vindolanda in northern England.
Current awareness
Current Epigraphy
Blog publishing "workshop and conference announcements; notices of discoveries, publications and reviews; project reports; and descriptive links to digital epigraphic projects."
Guide de l'épigraphiste: Supplements
Downloadable supplements to the Guide de l'épigraphiste (3rd ed.), which is shelved at Z7018.I5 G85 2000 in SCP.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides Schedule an Appointment: WASS Calendar |


Loading...
