Diaries, Letters, and Personal PapersGLBTOrganizationsPeriodicalsScience and MedicineSexualitySuffrageWomen's History (A-M)Women's History (N-R)Women's History (S-W)Women's History (W cont.)Working Women
GLBTLatin AmericaManuscripts (Abba-Bogan)Manuscripts (Bray-Delarue)Manuscripts (Dodge-Glaser)Manuscripts (Gordon-Kummer)Manuscripts (Lans-Moore)Manuscripts (Morgan-Ostriker)Manuscripts (Pauli-Prin. Misc.)Manuscripts (Prin. Misc.-Prin. Thea)Manuscripts (Prin. Vaud.-Sitwell)Manuscripts (Slater-Troxell)Manuscripts (Tsitsele-Wohlforth)Public PolicyUniversity ArchivesWomen and Princeton UniversityWomen's Studies at Princeton
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Women and Gender Studies  Tags: gender women  

Resources for the study of women and gender at Princeton University.
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/wgs  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Digital Collections             Print Page
  
 

Primary Sources

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries (Princeton only)

Includes more than 1,000 diaries, letters, and memoirs from both  Northern and Southern politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies.


American History & Culture Online  (1500-1926)

Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.


American Memory (Library of Congress)

Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning. 


Austen: Letters (Princeton only)

Searchable electronic edition of Jane Austen's Letters.


Black Women Writers  (Princeton only)

Note: You must install Fash version 8 or higher to use.

Works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry by women from North America, Africa and the Caribbean


Charlotte Bronte: Letters  (Princeton only)

Searchable electronic edition of The Letters of Charlotte Bronte: with a selection of letters by family and friends.


Defining Gender, 1450-1910    

Wide range of original sources including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature.


Eighteenth Century Collections Online  

Partially searchable digital images of about 150,000 books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.


Evans Digital Edition  (1639-1800)

Note: (not yet complete)

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.


Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920    

Comprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.


Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index  (1995+)

Journal articles and essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.


Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online  (1543-1945)  (Princeton only)

Major source for the study of women's history in the world, especially feminism and the movement for women's rights. The collection includes the full text of books, pamphlets and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.


Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period  (1768-1842)

Poetry by Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842.


Latin American Women Writers   (Princeton only)

Contains full text of fiction, poetry, essays, and plays by women writers from Latin America, starting in the colonial period and moving through to the present.


Mary Shelley: Journals (Princeton only)  

Searchable electronic edition of The Journals of Mary Shelley, 1814-1844

 

Mary Shelley: Novels and Selected Works  (Princeton only)

Searchable electronic edition of The Novels and Selected Works of Mary Shelley.


Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries

Previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.


Nineteenth Century Masterfile  (Nineteenth Century+)

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.


Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (ncse)  (19th Century)

Free, online edition of nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers: Monthly Repository (1806-1837); Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833); Northern Star (1838-1852); Leader (1850-1860); English Woman's Journal (1858-1864); Tomahawk (1867-1870); and Publishers' Circular (1880-1890).


North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories , 1800-1950 (Princeton only)

Personal narratives of immigrants to the U.S. and Canada. Covers a wide range of nationalities and ethnic groups.


North American Women's Drama (Princeton only) 

Full text database of over 1000 plays from the 19th and 20th centuries to the present.


North American Women’s Letters and Diaries, Colonial-1950 (Princeton only)

Full text database of women's personal writings.


Oral History Online (Princeton only)

Provides indexing, plus some full text, for English-language oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Primarily covers 20th-century America, but there is some content for other times and places.


Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present


Publications on the Status of Women  (1960+) (Princeton only)

Full text database of reports and publications issued by local and state commissions on the status of women. When complete, these publications will document women's issues in all 50 states and include an array of ephemeral materials, charts, graphs, and tables.


Renaissance Women Online  (Princeton only)

Subset of 100 texts from the Women Writers Online collection.


Twentieth Century Advice Literature    

Digital collection of advice manuals, etiquette books, how-to-guides, professional manuals, textbooks, and government and association publications that provide insight into social and economic issues including race, sex, gender, and family life in 20th century America.


Wollstonecraft: Works   (Princeton only)

Searchable electronic edition of The Works of Mary Wollstonecraft.


Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Princeton only)

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.


Women Working (1800-1930)    

Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.


Women Writers Online,1400-1850 (Princeton only)

Full text collection of early modern women's writing.

 

 

 
 

Access

Access to digital collections is restricted to the Princeton University community.  For a complete list of databases, please visit the Princeton University Library's Articles and Databases page. 

Library Home Page

 

Internet Sites

Academic Info Digital Libraries: Women's Studies

A directory of digital collections, electronic and virtual libraries; online publications, exhibits, documents and journals.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait