General
Collections
The Princeton University Library collects extensively in the area of Jewish studies. The collection's strengths in western languages lie in the areas of history, religion, literature, politics, and philosophy. The Library coordinates its acquisitions in the areas of the ancient Near East and Bible with the Princeton Theological Seminary Library.
In addition to the collection of monographs and serials in western languages, the Library also acquires Hebrew language material comprehensively. At present, the Library houses over 38,805 Hebrew monographs, and over 400 serials. Hebrew works published in Israel and the U.S. in the following areas are collected: Rabbinics, responsa, liturgy, Jewish history, Biblical archaeology, Hebrew language & literature, Bible, Talmud, Israeli and Middle East politics, Jewish philosophy, and other scholarly titles in the humanities and the social sciences relating to Jewish life and culture.
Location of Collections
The Hebrew language holdings have recently been moved to the C Floor of Firestone Library. Western language material in Jewish studies is also in Firestone Library; access is restricted. Please consult Firestone Library's Access policy.
Jewish Studies at Princeton University
The Library's Jewish studies collection supports the research of students and faculty in the Near Eastern Studies Department, and the Program in Judaic Studies, as well as the following departments or programs: Classics, English, Anthropology, Comparative Literature, History, Medieval Studies, Sociology, Religion, Germanic languages and literatures, Woodrow Wilson School, and Women's Studies.
Students who enroll in the Judaic Studies Program explore aspects of Jewish history, religion, literature, thought, society, politics and culture from an inter-disciplinary perspective. The program sponsors both a core course and an upper-level seminar and draws the rest of its offerings from various departments.
Jewish Studies Library Staff: SEE Staff Information (right side box)
Princeton Catalogs
- Main Catalog (includes journal titles)
- Supplementary Catalog (pre-1980)
- Hebrew Cataloging PUL's cataloging documentation, including: Chapters of the Talmud, Hebrew Abbreviations, Hebrew Transliteration Table, Hebrew Diacritics
Electronic Databases
- Bar Ilan's Judaic library. Global Jewish Database; Responsa Database (Bible, Talmud,
Responsa Literature in Hebrew.) (located in Trustee Reading Room, main floor of Firestone Library) - The Bibliography of the Hebrew Book 1473-1960: A Bibliography of all Printed Hebrew Language Books before 1960 (located in Trustee Reading Room, main floor of Firestone Library)
- Encyclopedia Judaica (located in Trustee Reading Room, main floor of Firestone Library)
- The Henkind Talmud Text Databank (Full-text CD-ROM of the Babylonian Talmud)
latest version on order for Trustee Reading Room, main floor of Firestone Library) - Electronic Journals (including full-text of American Jewish History and Modern Judaism, 1996+)
Staff Information
Near East Curator
James Weinberger
jwwein@princeton.edu
Curator of the Near East Collections
B-15-P Firestone Library
(609) 258-3279
Hebrew and Near Eastern Language Cataloger
Rachel Simon
rsimon@princeton.edu
Cataloger, 2-6-H Firestone Library
(609) 258-3208
Special Collections Assistant
Azar Ashraf
Special Collections Assistant
(609) 258-3266
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait