Databases
- Index to Articles on Jewish Studies (Rambi) New Web Version
comprehensive index to articles on Jewish Studies in Hebrew and western and languages, produced by the Jewish National & University Library. Electronic access available from 1985+ - Index to Articles on Jewish Studies (Rambi) Telnet Version
For articles in western languages use telnet software.
Logon procedures for Telnet and Hebrew Kermit users:
username: aleph terminal type: 11 for western languages 17 or 27 for Hebrew - Institute of Contemporary Jewry (A Harman) (Hebrew University) studies the historical, social, economic, educational, religious and cultural aspects of contemporary Jewish life. Databases include:
- Institute of Microfilmed Hebrew Manuscripts (Jewish National & University Library) The Institute (IMHM) is collecting microfilm copies of all Hebrew manuscripts extant in public and private collections. Over 60,000 reels, representing more than 90% of known Hebrew manuscripts are available.
- Moshe Dayan Center for Middle Eastern & African Studies Bibliographic Database
Index of articles, pamphlets and occasional publications on the Middle East published in English, French, and Arabic. Over 100,000 entries, searchable by title, author, keyword, or journal name. Results may be e-mailed. Select Library from list of links. - Truman Research Institute for the Advancement of Peace/Library & Documentation
Center indexes books & articles on the Middle East, the Arab-Israeli Conflict, and Africa. The collection includes more than 1,500 periodical publications, such as journals,newspapers, yearbooks, and statistical data in European languages, Hebrew, Arabic, Chinese & Japanese. - ULI--The Israel Union Catalog
lists over 96,000 different serial titles held by over 170 Israeli academic, special and public libraries.
To access : telnet login as Aleph, and enter lb/uls. - Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism (Hebrew University) Web access to the Online Bibliography on Antisemitism
Additional Databases
- Databases at Princeton
- Databases for Judaic Studies
- Bar Ilan's Judaic library. Global Jewish Database; Responsa Database (Bible, Talmud,
Responsa Literature in Hebrew.) (located in Trustee Reading Room, main floor of Firestone Library) - The Bibliography of the Hebrew Book 1473-1960: A Bibliography of all Printed Hebrew Language Books before 1960 (located in Trustee Reading Room, main floor of Firestone Library)
- Encyclopedia Judaica (located in Trustee Reading Room, main floor of Firestone Library)
- The Henkind Talmud Text Databank (Full-text CD-ROM of the Babylonian Talmud)
latest version on order for Trustee Reading Room, main floor of Firestone Library)
- Index to Hebrew Periodicals information from Haifa University
Database Access & Search Tips
Login Procedures (Telnet and Hebrew Kermit users)
- username: aleph
- terminal type: 11 for western languages only; 17 or 27 for Hebrew
Aleph Searching tips
Western language searching
- Try Telnet Software to connect to the catalogs that are not web-based, or
- Software.com Enter 'telnet' in search box to access free software
Hebrew language searching
- Reflection for ReGIS Graphics enables the computer to display Hebrew characters; version 6.0 is
currently in use at Princeton University Library and Jewish Theological Seminary. There is a charge
for this software, but a free trial is available.
Other Hebrew Software Information
- Hebrew on the Net (Textual/Terminal Emulation)
- Hebrew University Computer Authority Mount Scopus Branch/ information and help
- Judaica Libraries: On-Line Catalogues and Hebrew Access from Columbia University
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait