ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVW
Abolition and ColonizationCivil Rights and Black PowerEducationFBI FilesFree African Americans in the 19th CenturyHistory 1700 to the presentOrganizationsPersonal PapersPlantation LifeSelected Web SitesSlavery and the Slave TradeThe ConfederacyWomen
19th Century Newspapers20th Century NewspapersNewspaper Web Sites
Books about Newspapers and PublishersNewspaper Indexes
Graphic ArtsManuscriptsSlavery Part 1Slavery Part 2
African Americans and PrincetonArchival CollectionsPublic Policy PapersSlavery at Princeton
A.M.E.A.M.E. Indiana - A.M.E. VirginiaA.M.E. Virginia - ChestnutCheyney - IndustrialInformat - North-westernPhiladelphia - Young
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

African American Studies  Tags: primary_sources newspapers  

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.
Last update: Nov 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/aas  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Newspapers on Microfilm (A-Z)             Print Page
  
 

About African American Newspapers on Microfilm

 

African American newspapers on microfilm are located in Microforms Services on C-floor in Firestone Library.  Users may wish to consult the following indexes to newspapers:

Index to Black newspapers
Wooster, Ohio: Indexing Center, Micro Photo Division, Bell & Howell Co., 1977-1986.
(FilmB) AI3.I46
Library has: 1977-1986

Black newspapers index.
Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms International, 1987-.
(FilmB) AI3 .I46
Library has: Vol. 11 (1987)-

 
 

African American Newspapers 1829 to the present

This compilation contains over two hundred newspapers published in thirty-one cities, from 1829 to the present.  The largest segment of papers, cataloged under the generic entry Miscellaneous Negro Newspapers, were issued under the auspices of the Committee on Negro Studies of the American Council of Learned Societies.  The Library of Congress agreed to microfilm original newspapers housed in various state historical societies for the American Council.  This project was designated Negro Newspapers on Microfilm, and covers the period from 1829 to 1923.   

The remaining newspapers were acquired as part of Princeton's American Negro Project during the late 1960's, or appear as part of The Underground Newspaper Collection.  Coverage of many titles, but certainly not all, span from 1923 to the present.  Individual title entries are also cataloged in the main catalog.     

The following comprehensive listing of African-American newspapers was compiled to assist researchers in identifying newspapers on microfilm of historical interest, as well as papers currently received in the Library.  In addition to identifying issue dates, this list provides corrections to the indexes contained in the reels to Miscellaneous Negro Newspapers. Title changes are noted, inclusive dates of publication are provided, as well as call number and reel number.  Care has been taken to provide as much information as possible about each newspaper held in Firestone Library.

The following abbreviations are used:

d daily
m monthly
sm   semi-monthly
sw   semi-weekly
n.d.   no date
n.p.   no place
t.w.   tri-weekly

Please select the listing you would like to browse from the dropdown menu above.
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait