ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVW
Abolition and ColonizationCivil Rights and Black PowerEducationFBI FilesFree African Americans in the 19th CenturyHistory 1700 to the presentOrganizationsPersonal PapersPlantation LifeSelected Web SitesSlavery and the Slave TradeThe ConfederacyWomen
19th Century Newspapers20th Century NewspapersNewspaper Web Sites
Books about Newspapers and PublishersNewspaper Indexes
Graphic ArtsManuscriptsSlavery Part 1Slavery Part 2
African Americans and PrincetonArchival CollectionsPublic Policy PapersSlavery at Princeton
A.M.E.A.M.E. Indiana - A.M.E. VirginiaA.M.E. Virginia - ChestnutCheyney - IndustrialInformat - North-westernPhiladelphia - Young
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

African American Studies  Tags: primary_sources newspapers  

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.
Last update: Nov 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/aas  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Music             Print Page
  
 

Music

African American Music Reference    

Brings together text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database will expand to include coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

 

African American Song  

Documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. Contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.

 

American Song    

History database that contains 50,000 tracks that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. Will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

 

Contemporary Musicians  

Biographical information on important figures in today's musical arena, covering artists working in all genres of modern music, including rock, jazz, pop, rap, rhythm and blues, folk, New Age, country, gospel and reggae.

 

Music Index Online  (1973+)  

Note: Print volumes covering 1949-1972 are available in Mendel Music Library: Reference (SV) ML 118 M84.

 

Smithsonian Global Sound  

Smithsonian Global Sound is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.

 

 

Center for Black Music Research

"The Center for Black Music Research documents and preserves information and materials related to the black music experience throughout the world."  The CBMR is located on the campus of Columbia College in Chicago, Ill.

 

Institute of Jazz Studies

"The Institute of Jazz Studies is the world's foremost jazz archive and research facility.  The IJS is part of Rutgers University Libraries, and is located in the John Cotton Dana Library on the Newark Campus."

 
 

Black Studies Center

Black Studies Center    

Scholarly essays and access to articles in Black Studies journals. Combines the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and the full-text of The Chicago Defender, an important Black newspaper, from 1935-1975.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait