Slavery in Manuscript Collections
William E. Potter Diary, 1859-1862: Finding Aid
Creator: Potter, William E., 1905- Abstract: This diary was written by William E. Potter during his years at Harvard (law degree, 1861) and Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Call Number: AC323
|
Samuel Stanhope Smith Collection, 1794-1817: Finding Aid
Creator: Smith, Samuel Stanhope, 1750-1819. Abstract: Consists of works, correspondence, and documents of Samuel Stanhope Smith, covering, for the most part, the years (1795-1812) he served as president of the Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0028
|
Throop and Martin Family Papers, 1693-1951: Finding Aid
Creator: Throop, Enos T. (Enos Thompson), 1784-1874. Abstract: Contains manuscripts, correspondence, documents, and photographs concerning the Throop and Throop Martin families of Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0055
|
Archives of Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1786-2003 (bulk 1880s-1970s): Finding Aid
Creator: Charles Scribner's Sons. Abstract: This collection consists of virtually all of the surviving records of Scribners (1846-1984), the New York City publisher, and reflect aspects of all of its publishing functions (soliciting and acquiring books, editing manuscripts, printing and manufacturing books, advertising and publicizing publications) and business concerns (book and magazine publisher, retail bookstore, subscription books department, educational books department, printing press and bindery, rare books department). Included are files of editorial correspondence with authors, manufacturing records about book production, advertising records, author contracts, a collection of dust jackets, book catalogs, ledgers, and photographs. While there are gaps in most of the series or record groups, there are records representative of all of the firm's former permutations: Baker & Scribner, Charles Scribner & Co., Scribner, Armstrong & Co., Scribner, Armstrong & Welford, Scribner & Co., Charles Scribner's Sons. The bulk of the material (1880s-1970s), however, dates from the period when the publisher bore its most familiar name, “Charles Scribner's Sons.” There is also material related to early publishers' organizations and international copyright. Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0101
|
M. L. Parrish Collection of Victorian Novelists, 1806-1958 (bulk 1830s-1930s): Finding Aid
Collector: Parrish, Morris Longstreth, 1867-1944. Abstract: The Morris L. Parrish Collection of Victorian Novelists, consisting of the library of books, manuscripts, photographs, artwork, and ephemera as collected by Morris Longstreth Parrish, Class of 1888, came to Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0171 |
Winans Collection of New Jersey Documents, 1703-1883: Finding Aid
Collector: Winans, Samuel Ross. Abstract: The Winans Collection of New Jersey Documents consists of almost 200 18th-century documents, mostly deeds to land, relating to several towns in Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0234 |
Thomas Jefferson Wertenbaker Papers, 1910-1959: Finding Aid
Creator: Wertenbaker, Thomas Jefferson, 1879-1966. Abstract: Thomas Jefferson Wertenbaker was an American historian who taught at Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0359 |
Sidney P. Clay Collection, 1783-1846 (bulk 1800-1844): Finding Aid
Creator: Clay, Sidney P. (Sidney Payne), 1800-1834. Abstract: The Sidney P. Clay Collection consists of correspondence, documents, and photographs of Clay (Princeton Class of 1821) and members of his family, and includes some correspondence of the Reed family. Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0404 |
Guild Family Collection, 1787-1823: Finding Aid
Creator: Guild family. Abstract: Consists of correspondence and documents of the Guild family of Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0435 |
Woodruff Family Collection, 1795-1896 (bulk 1803-1850): Finding Aid
Creator: Woodruff, George, 1765-1846. Abstract: Consists of selected papers of George Woodruff (Princeton Class of 1785), a lawyer, and various members of his family of Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0740 |
Lydia Maria Child Collection, 1857-1878: Finding Aid
Creator: Abstract: Consists of selected correspondence, manuscripts, and photographs of the nineteenth-century American author and abolitionist Lydia Maria Francis Child. Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C1032 |
Thomas Nast Manuscript Collection, 1860-1922 (bulk 1860-1896): Finding Aid
Creator: Nast, Thomas, 1840-1902. Abstract: Consists of selected correspondence of American political cartoonist Thomas Nast. Nast's popular artwork influenced presidential elections in the latter half of the nineteenth century, and the letters in this collection reflect both the professional and personal sides of his life. Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C1135 |
William Denton Correspondence, 1633-1893 (bulk 1830-1893): Finding Aid
Creator: Abstract: Consists of about a hundred autograph letters by nineteenth-century British politicians, clergymen, and men of letters to clergyman and reformist William Denton. Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C1185 |
Sergeant Family Collection, 1746-1843: Finding Aid
Creator: Sergeant, Jonathan, 1712-1777. Abstract: Consists of selected correspondence and documents by and about three members of the Sergeant family and their relationship with the Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C1192 |
Robert Anderson Family Papers, 1790-1858 (bulk 1835-1858): Finding Aid
Creator: Anderson, Robert, 1781-1859. Abstract: Consists of correspondence and documents of various members of the Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C1230 |
More information
For assistance contact the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections.
Phone: 609-258-3184
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait