Slavery in Manuscript Collections
Samuel L. Southard Papers, 1783-1893 (bulk 1802-1846): Finding Aid
Creator: Southard, Samuel L. (Samuel Lewis), 1787-1842. Abstract: This collection consists of papers of Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0250
|
The Rochester Courier Collection, 1850-1903: Finding Aid
Creator: Folsom, C. W. (Charles William), 1826-1904. Abstract: The Rochester Courier was a weekly, local newspaper published on Friday nights in Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C1100
|
Edward Coles Papers, 1797-1881: Finding Aid
Creator: Coles, Edward, 1786-1868. Abstract: Edward Coles was a prominent anti-slavery political figure, who most notably served as governor of Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0037
|
Samuel Miller Papers, 1754-1898 (bulk 1800-1849): Finding Aid
Creator: Miller, Samuel, 1769-1850. Abstract: Contains writings and correspondence of and relating to Samuel Miller, a nineteenth-century American Presbyterian clergyman and author. Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0277
|
Miscellaneous Slavery Collection, 1700-1885: Finding Aid
Collector: Abstract: Consists of an open collection of correspondence and documents relating to slavery in Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C1210
|
Louisiana Slavery and Civil War Collection, 1722-1872: Finding Aid
Collector: Abstract: The Louisiana Slavery and Civil War Collection consists of documents concerning the estate of the manumitted slave Marie Claire, a selection of Benjamin F. Butler correspondence, correspondence and documents concerning claims against the Union Army, and miscellaneous materials relating to Louisiana history. Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0033
|
Rae Family Estate Collection, 1800-1857: Finding Aid
Creator: Rae, James, d. 1815. Abstract: Consists of nineteenth-century legal and financial records relating to the estates of Scotchmen James Rae and his brothers, John and William, in Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C1222
|
Andre De Coppet Collection, 1566-1936 (bulk 1770-1865): Finding Aid
Collector: De Coppet, Andre, 1892-1953. Abstract: The Andre De Coppet Collection represents the American history-related collecting activities of American broker and collector Andre De Coppet (Princeton Class of 1915). There are numerous manuscripts, personal letters, documents, and printed material from three main periods: the Revolutionary War, the Federal Period, and the Civil War. Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0063
|
Francis C. Brown Collection on Slavery in America, 1779-1868 (bulk 1820-1865): Finding Aid
Collector: Brown, Francis C. (Francis Cabell), 1936- Abstract: The Francis C. Brown Collection on Slavery in Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0605
|
New Granada Slavery Collection, 1757-1812: Finding Aid
Creator: Abstract: Consists of 58 manuscript leaves, comprising 27 Spanish documents, relating to the buying and selling of slaves in the Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C1052
|
Rush Family Papers, 1675-1885 (bulk 1817-1849): Finding Aid
Creator: Rush, Richard, 1780-1859. Abstract: The collection documents the career of Richard Rush (Princeton Class of 1797) as lawyer, statesman, and diplomat, emphasizing diplomatic negotiations between the United States and Great Britain while he was minister to Great Britain (1817-1825) and between the United States and France when he was minister to France (1847-1849), as well as his successful efforts (1836-1838) in securing the Smithsonian bequest, which was used to establish the Smithsonian Institution. The papers of Richard Rush constitute the larger part of the collection; letters of his father, Benjamin Rush, M.D. (Princeton Class of 1760), and papers of his son, Benjamin Rush (Princeton Class of 1829, constitute the other major groups of papers in this family archive. Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0079
|
Edwin A. Parrott Collection, 1837-1912 (bulk 1859-1896): Finding Aid
Creator: Parrott, Edwin A., 1830-1931. Abstract: Consists of correspondence, manuscripts, and documents by and about Edwin A. Parrott, who represented Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C1154
|
John Bright Letters, 1845-1908: Finding Aid
Creator: Bright, John, 1811-1889. Abstract: Consists of over forty letters by John Bright written while he was a member of Parliament and addressed to various individuals. Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0203
|
Princeton University Press Records, 1905-2008 (bulk 1940s-1990s): Finding Aid
Creator: Abstract: Consists of the records and working papers of the Princeton University Press (1905- ). The collection includes correspondence between the Press and retailers, printers and other presses; minutes from the Editorial Board and Board of Trustees; catalogs, trade lists, book listings; pamphlets describing the history of the press and miscellaneous printed material. Furthermore, there are extensive author files that document the correspondence between the Press and various authors, as well as other materials associated with each author's work. Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C0728
|
Beecher Family Collection, 1845-1886: Finding Aid
Creator: Stowe, Harriet Beecher, 1811-1896. Abstract: Consists of selected manuscript material of three members of the Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C1217
|
Boarded Hall Estate (Barbados) Plantation Records, 1676-1887 (bulk 1712-1845): Finding Aid
Creator: Harnage, George, compiler. Abstract: Consists of eighteenth and nineteeth-century records of Boarded Hall Estate, a slave plantation in Location: Manuscripts Division. Call Number: C1227 |
More information
For assistance contact the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections.
Phone: 609-258-3184
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait