ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVW
Abolition and ColonizationCivil Rights and Black PowerEducationFBI FilesFree African Americans in the 19th CenturyHistory 1700 to the presentOrganizationsPersonal PapersPlantation LifeSelected Web SitesSlavery and the Slave TradeThe ConfederacyWomen
19th Century Newspapers20th Century NewspapersNewspaper Web Sites
Books about Newspapers and PublishersNewspaper Indexes
Graphic ArtsManuscriptsSlavery Part 1Slavery Part 2
African Americans and PrincetonArchival CollectionsPublic Policy PapersSlavery at Princeton
A.M.E.A.M.E. Indiana - A.M.E. VirginiaA.M.E. Virginia - ChestnutCheyney - IndustrialInformat - North-westernPhiladelphia - Young
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

African American Studies  Tags: primary_sources newspapers  

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.
Last update: Nov 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/aas  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Graphic Arts             Print Page
  
 

Finding Aids

The Graphic Arts Collection includes artists' and private press books, as well as materials for the study of paper and papermaking, printing, calligraphy, printmaking, fine binding, typography, and book design. Of special interest are the Sinclair Hamilton Collection of American Illustrated Books; 18th- and 19th-century British artists and illustrators (particularly George and Robert Cruikshank, Thomas Rowlandson, and William Hogarth), and the Charles Rahn Fry Pochoir Collection.

 

The collection includes more than 22,000 examples of fine letterpress printing, bookbinding, papermaking, modern calligraphy, and artists' books, as well as reference works on the history of the book and printing. Among the primary source materials are over 20,000 drawings, prints, paintings, and photographs related to the history of book illustration, vintage printing presses and type, approximately 350 blocks and plates for printmaking, and 100 linear feet of printed ephemera such as bookplates, trade cards, and postcards.

 

Source: http://www.princeton.edu/rbsc/department/graphicarts/


 

Ulli Steltzer Photographs of African Americans

 

Contains black-and-white photographs of African Americans in rural and urban areas. The photographs appear to be mid-20th century, and are mounted on board. Proper titles for the photographs were not available; the titles below are descriptive.

 

Location: Graphic Arts

 

Call number: GC 116


Vechten, Carl Van, 1880-1964

 

Bill Robinson, April 18, 1941, photograph.

 

GC 123 Carl Van Vechten Photographs Collection

 

Location: C-floor vault, GC 123

 

Record no. 4543


Vechten, Carl Van, 1880-1964

 

Bricktop: Paris, June 22, 1934, photograph.

 

GC 123 Carl Van Vechten Photographs Collection

 

Location: C-floor vault, GC 123

 

Record no. 4466


Vechten, Carl Van, 1880-1964

 

Cab Calloway, Jan. 12, 1933

 

GC 123 Carl Van Vechten Photographs Collection

 

Location: C-flor vault, GC 123

 

Record no. 4439


Vechten, Carl Van, 1880-1964

 

Earle Jones in Langston Hughes's play, Don't you want to be free?

 

GC 123 Carl Van Vechten Photographs Collection

 

Location: C-floor vault, GC 123

 

Record no. 4454


Vechten, Carl Van, 1880-1964

 

Ethel Waters in Manbals Daughter, Feb. 19, 1939, photograph.

 

GC 123 Carl Van Vechten Photographs Collection

 

Location: C-floor vault, GC 123

 

Record no. 4478


Vechten, Carl Van, 1880-1964

 

Katherine Durham, May 10, 1940, photograph.

 

GC 123 Carl Van Vechten Photographs Collection

 

Location: C-floor vault, GC 123

 

Record no. 4533


Vechten, Carl Van, 1880-1964

 

Langston Hughes photograph.

 

Sylvia Beach Collection

 

Location: RBSC, Sylvia Beach Collection, Box 278

 

Notes: Dedication, verso: 'To Sylvia Beach Sincerely Langston Hughes Paris, July 37.'

Physical description: Good condition. Soiled and turning brittle. Filed with enlarged copy print. Signed with blind stamp: 'Photograph by Carl Van Vechten.'

 

Record no. 7072


Vechten, Carl Van, 1880-1964

 

Marian Anderson, Ave Maria, July 17, 1947, photograph.

 

GC 123 Carl Van Vechten Photographs Collection

 

Location: C-floor vault, GC 123

 

Record no. 4436


Vechten, Carl Van, 1880-1964

 

Pearl Bailey: St. Louis Woman, July 5, 1946

 

GC 123 Carl Van Vechten Photographs Collection

 

Location: C-floor vault, GC 123

 

Record no. 4438


Vechten, Carl Van, 1880-1964

 

Richard Wright, photograph.

 

Sylvia Beach Collection

 

Location: RBSC, Sylvia Beach Collection, Box 278

 

Record no. 7071


For assistance contact the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections, Graphic Arts Collection

Julie Mellby, Graphic Arts Librarian

EM: jmellby@princeton.edu

Tel: 609-258-3197

 
 

More information

For assistance contact the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections, Graphic Arts Collection

Julie Mellby, Graphic Arts Librarian

EM: jmellby@princeton.edu

Tel: 609-258-3197

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait